We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Domaine de Valmont

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Domaine de Valmont
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 30: English reviews
Start your review of Domaine de Valmont
 Click to rate
São Paulo, SP
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Spent 1 night at Domaine Valmont and wish I could have stayed more. The place is a beautiful property with an ancient building that opens to an terrasse with fountain and garden. It has 20 rooms, a restaurant and they also host weddings. We've chosen to stay at the handycap room because the price was very close to the regular...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne L
DeValmont33, Responsable relations clients at Domaine de Valmont, responded to this review

Dear Jeanne L, Thanks for letting us know about how good your stay was at the Domaine de Valmont. We're doing our best everyday to improve our customer service. We hope we will be able to see you again over here. Kind regards, Marie Aubard Guest relations Manager

Reviewed 5 August 2016

This place hangs a lot of wedding pictures. I guess this might be a popular place for weddings, or they post ad in the wedding magazines. Anyway, the courtyard is pretty nice. We had breakfast there in the morning, included with the stay. The room is clean and spacious with a little bit of classic French look. Kinda nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clemson C
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

Very nice and pleasant stay. Great value for the money. Located in silent area and nature. Room in enough big and well equiped also with a kitchenette, beds are comfortable, free parking, breakfast included. Just perfect for shorter stays.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin G
Reviewed 11 September 2015

I was there twice beginning of August and beginning of September of this year. The atmosphere is relaxing ,the rooms comfortable and the place quite nice and peaceful.We enjoyed the staying as for the food the first time correct the second time was not the same. Prices are correct and would go back for a short stay but the chef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gilberto B
Hirschau, Germany
Reviewed 18 June 2015

Beautiful grounds but entire estate requires maintenance! Rooms had mold in shower, extremely filthy rugs, lights that didnt work, faucets that were missing filters...absolutely no pride of ownership evident. Wifi was pitiful, kept bouncing off and couldn't even down load small files without issues. Perhaps the most disappponting aspect was even those things that dont require money were neglected, like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimmieChuck
DeValmont33, Manager at Domaine de Valmont, responded to this review

Hello Mr L. we regret that your stay did not satisfy you. The linen and towels are changed daily . There is no pool but a pond with fountains, perfectly transparent , how did you find dirty? and the second pool is for frogs and fish ... we let nature to keep wildlife. Regarding mold we're changing it regularly, but...

Reviewed 28 August 2014

We just spend 2 nights here on our way back home. Due to our late arrival from Portugal we didn't want to go shopping for food so had diner at the Domain. The food was amazingly good. The kids meal wasn't enough. Just kipnuggets and icecream for 12 euro!! The family room was very big. 2 bedrooms (one underneath the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christiaan v
DeValmont33, employé at Domaine de Valmont, responded to this review

We thank you for your criticisms so positive as negative and are happy that our domain pleased you. The team of Valmont

Lyon, France
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We just spent 2 nights in frame of a wedding, and we enjoyed the Domaine for this short stay. The Domaine is very pleasant to walk in, not big, and the room we had was very spacious. We missed any specific leisure accomodation, such as swimming pool. The dinner outdoor was very romantic. We do not recommend for a long...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MyNameIsChoucroute
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2014

If you want a break from travelling those french motorways or if you are interested in wine, take a well earned stop here. The hotel is set in its own gardens adjacent to the village of Barsac and the railway. We had an intriguing room under the bell tower, with adjacent living room and bathroom. Lots of space, very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AntoniaTrip
Management response:
Google Translation

Merci de faire part de votre satisfaction. Un client satisfait étant notre meilleure publicité, sachez que nous continuons à mettre...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed four nights in this hotel as part of a weeks visit to France. The hotel is situated in a quiet town 30 minutes drive from Bordeaux and we found the owners and staff very welcoming and friendly. We have stayed in many of the big chain hotels in North America and the UK and we prefer the type...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ronald T
Valmont33, Propriétaire at Domaine de Valmont, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment. It's with big pleasure that we shall receive you again in the Domain of Valmont. The September and October are very apreciated for the harvests. See you very soon. Nathalie

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Was worried after reading the reviews about noise from the railway and, yes, the domain is VERY close to the tracks... BUT, honestly you barely hear the trains so not a problem at all for us (perhaps more of a problem in the summer when you spend more time outside or with the windows open). Loved the big room -...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SpiderOnTheRoad
Management response:
Google Translation

Nous espérons que ces remarques, que nous notons, ont été faites à la réception le matin de votre départ et...

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
1:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (112)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barsac
19.4 km away
Domaine de Larchey
Domaine de Larchey
#1 of 1 in Saint-Medard-d'Eyrans
163 reviews
21.8 km away
Domaine de Fompeyre
Domaine de Fompeyre
#1 of 2 in Bazas
303 reviews
8.3 km away
Hotel Claude Darroze
Hotel Claude Darroze
#1 of 3 in Langon
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Hostellerie Geraud de Graves
35.3 km away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
697 reviews
33.5 km away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Domain of Valmont is the former(old) property of the XVIIIth century, transformed into Charming hotel situated at the heart of prestigious vineyards of Barsac-Sauternes. We propose oenological visits with our partner castles within the framework of weekend tasting. Our table d'hote proposes a gastronomy of the Southwest:foie fat house, steaklet of duck, Sauternes... Ideal place for your private receptions or professional meetings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Domaine de Valmont

Address: 22 Rue de la Gare | Sauternes, Barsac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Barsac
Price Range: $121 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de Valmont 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Domaine de Valmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Domaine de Valmont staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Domaine de Valmont staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“double room with kitchenet”
 of 5 bubbles GilbertoB762, 11 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Pick another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles JimmieChuck, 18 Jun 2015 | Read review
“The 1 is ideal, ground floor and very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles MyNameIsChoucroute, 11 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Ask to have a room that does not have windows to the rear of the hotel (where the railway is).”
  • sit on the terrace avec une verre de vin
 of 5 bubbles AntoniaTrip, 6 Apr 2014 | Read review
“look into the room at first if possible”
 of 5 bubbles pjfromuk, 31 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5