We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waikava Harbour View

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waikava Harbour View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Waikava Harbour View
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
Red Bank, New Jersey
Reviewed 29 December 2015

room was fine - clean, spacious and well equipped. We also experienced difficulty with the TV and communication as others have reported. May just be too remote. My main beef was the very high booking fee tacked on by the Global Availability booking service. I booked through my phone and did not read all the fine print. This is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David_Laurie6
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I stopped in at the Information Centre in the tiny Waikawa hamlet after 5pm and wasn't expecting them to be open. Lovely people. The folder of photos (no computers - love it!!) didn't show up how wonderful these cottages are. I booked into the Toi Tois cottage; a one bedroom ensuite with lounge/dining and kitchen with deck, laundry and parking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank explorer1002015
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2015

The one bedroom lodge was well set up and met our needs very well. It felt quite remote but was very peaceful and we had good access to the penguins. It won't suit those who have to be connected at all times but it is good to sometimes be far away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusieS994
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Waikava Harbour View deserves an excellent rating except for non functional TV (not correctly tuned) and no wifi - both advertised as available. Spacious rooms, exceptional cleanliness, well stocked with basic food supplies, toiletries, extra blankets, laundry powder, DVD's, compendium of travel literature and pamphlets of local interest. The almost instant responsiveness of the central heating was appreciated when returning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 October 2015

The Self contained unit was overlooking the harbour close to the local information center and Local museum. It was clean and comfortable, with good beds, the TV reception was a bit erratic but ok, interesting old movies on DVD. I would recommend it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
Shanghai, China
Reviewed 4 October 2015

The property is located in a small quiet town with great harbor view. I'm quite enjoy the stay. The local people are friendly, the room is clean, cozy. best to sit on the lodge and watch the sunset. Just magnificent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 June 2015

This was the perfect location to stay during a photography field trip for our group. We stayed in the Lodge and had plenty of space for the group. We also had a cottage and it was great too. I will be back for a weekend getaway with my partner! The only downside was the the free WiFi was pretty poor,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marnie_NZ
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

I want to be able to give more stars but it is completely unacceptable that it took us an hour and a half and driving to another town to gain access to our room. As others have noted, there is no cell service in the area and there is no person on site for the separate units. The owners live...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cori H
Waikava, Owner at Waikava Harbour View, responded to this review

To clarify some misunderstandings, the owner lives just 2km away but at the time of this booking was out of the country and behind NZ time by 2 hours. Due to the unavailability of internet data outside of the hotel where I was staying (not known until I arrived in the country) I did not receive notice of the booking...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 April 2015

We were trying to find a stay for the night and had checked the camp ground in Curio bay and the DOC campsite in Waikava when we walked in to the information center at the Waikava museum. The lady at the counter suggested that we had a look at the Toi toi cottage. We were so lucky. The cottage had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsFalk
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 28 March 2015

This is what you dream about when you live in a big city! We got a stutio (Toi Tois) with fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom (fantastic bed) and en-suite bathroom. All very new and very tidy and cosy. From our terrace we had the most fantastic view of Waikava Harbour and its wild environment. The quietness, the remoteness and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guid0vanleuven
Waikava, Owner at Waikava Harbour View, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Waikava Harbour View Toi Tois cottage. The autumn and winter months showcase the beauty of the Waikawa harbour on still calm days and the air is crisp and clear - a photographers paradise!

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikawa
17.3 km away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
0.0 km away
Lazy Dolphin Lodge
Lazy Dolphin Lodge
#15 of 75 in Southland Region
57 reviews
35.1 km away
Catlins Mohua Park
Catlins Mohua Park
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 km away
Catlins River Ridge Retreat
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Waikava Harbour View

Address: 14 Larne Street, Waikawa, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Waikawa
Price Range: $93 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waikava Harbour View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waikava Harbour View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the disabled chalet. Both seemed to have good views.”
GillianC693, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are great, they only have 3 seperate cabins and all have a good view.”
lucasaT6199UN, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a cabin facing the Bay. The area is very quiet and peaceful.”
Takuri, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Best access, views, local knowledge”
BLieven, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Of the two single cottages, the Toi Tois has the better view.”
  • evening view
  • Toi Tois ensuite
  • Toi Tois bedroom
  • deck view
  • little church across the field
explorer1002015, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5