We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Canalta Oyen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Canalta Oyen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Canalta Oyen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 64: English reviews
Edmonton
Reviewed 21 March 2015

The hotel staff is super friendly and helpful with dinning and travel tips, including finding someone who I could rent horses from. The rooms are clean and quiet, but the hotel's internet is painfully slow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pukewild
CanaltaOyen, Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. At the Oyen Canalta we work very hard to go above and beyond for every guest and all feedback helps us grow and learn from our guest's experiences. Again thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Craven, Saskatchewan
Reviewed 8 March 2015

I have stayed here a few times and every time its a great experience. The staff are very friendly and when they remember you when you walk up to the check in counter is makes a tired traveler feel welcome. Thanks again, and see you soon! Garnet W.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garnet W
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Hotel and your stay with us. We at the Oyen Canalta want to make each guest feel like they are special and you are at 'home away from home' when you stay with us. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 24 February 2015

I really enjoyed my brief stay on Feb 21 2015. The front desk lady was efficient, friendly, and really funny. Loved her! Just the sound of her voice on the phone in the morning brought a smile to my face. She is really up on the customer service! The beds were a soft billowy dream to sleep in. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingFishPants
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your recent stay with us. We appreciate each and every comment from our guests. IWe are so glad to hear that you like the beds. They are especially made for us and they are called the Canalta Dream beds. Thank you for your kind comments on the staff and property, we...

Reviewed 10 February 2015

After running into some terrible weather last night, we ended up calling it quits and getting a room. Everything was great, clean, comfortable beds and bedding, quiet. Only complaint was that the price for a standard room seemed crazy expensive! But as weather wouldnt allow us to go further, our hands were tied and safety over expense won. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conpred33
CanaltaOyen, Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. At the Oyen Canalta we work very hard to go above and beyond for every guest and all feedback helps us grow and learn from our guest's experiences. Again thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 28 January 2015

Very nice accomodations, loved my room. I love having the outside and inside access. Staff was very helpful and lent me an extension cord to plug in the bus I was using for training purposes. I also love the breakfast area and the choices they gave you including Gluten Free. Only thing I would improve would be to put in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raine D
CanaltaOyen, Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review

Thank you for your most review of your stay at the Canalta Hotel in Oyen. Your comments are valued and very much appreciated. We hope that if your travels bring you back to our area, we are able to welcome you back!

Kitscoty
Reviewed 17 January 2015

A relatively new property with friendly efficient staff. The room I had was large and well appointed with 2 queen beds, 2 small tables with chairs, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and a bar sink. Very comfortable beds with soft, clean sheets and great pillows. The in room wifi was strong. Breakfast is included in the rate and had three hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
CanaltaOyen, Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a few moments to share of your recent stay and appreciate your comments. It is our aim to ensure every experience is a great one. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Have a pleasant day.

Reviewed 6 December 2014

Overall I was very satisfied and was very happy with the breakfast. Great job.The only suggestion I have is that you have a policy not allowing the semi's to park against the hotel as not only it takes up extra space but it was very loud.while there another guest made a complaint about this so theyove the semi which got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kawasaki1500
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a few moments to share of your recent stay and appreciate your comments. It is our aim to ensure every experience is a great one. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Have a pleasant day.

Wainwright
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Brand new hotel but prices are way to high. They are doing this because of oilfield. Hotel is nice, good people. no restaurant, but plenty nearby within walking distance. Call ahead, usually no rooms except rooms over $200. Very sad to charge this, but they can.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a few moments to share of your recent stay and appreciate your comments. It is our aim to ensure every experience is a great one. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Have a pleasant day.

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 1 December 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for numerous nights and each time the room has been clean and quiet. The beds are comfy, the rooms are large, and there are some rooms with outside access (motel style) as well. The internet is very good for a hotel in Alberta. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pusheen19
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the lovely review of the your stay at the Canalta Hotel in Oyen. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our facility and found our staff to be friendly. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Reviewed 24 November 2014

Spent a week here at the oyen canalta. Very impressed. The rooms were very clean and well soundproofed. Washroom was new and also very clean, tv was new, the staff was friendly and helpful. Slightly overpriced due to o&g location. All in all, excellent experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirkgriffiths
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the lovely review of the your stay at the Canalta Hotel in Oyen. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and found our staff to be friendly . I will be sure to share your comments with the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back!

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Canalta Oyen

Address: Junction Hwy 9 & 41 | Box 120, Oyen, Alberta T0J 2J0, Canada (Formerly Oyen Super 8)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Oyen
Price Range: $163 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalta Oyen 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Canalta Oyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canalta Oyen Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Canalta Oyen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower floor for access to parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles 791danellew, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Call early as they book up fast”
 of 5 bubbles PhilLethbridge, 17 Jun 2015 | Read review
“The rooms above the Hotel's Industrial Sized Washer and Drier keep you awake all night while the night staff is washing towels and sheets.”
 of 5 bubbles CarlT154, 25 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Try for cheaper rooms. have some bigger rooms for families”
 of 5 bubbles KenM880, 3 Dec 2014 | Read review
“The ground floor has direct acess to outside”
 of 5 bubbles eugeneb287, 21 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay