Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort

Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort

1985 Tiny Beaches Rd S Woodland Beach, Tiny, Ontario L0L 1P1 Canada
Traveller (4)
Parents room 1 Double
Room & Suite (5)
The Family Beach
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 2 cottages in Tiny
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
We provide fully furnished family accommodations in a friendly cottage court of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages. The cottages are nestled amongst the trees with play areas for the children. Beautiful Woodland Beach is a 2 minute walk down the lane on Georgian Bay also known as "The Family Beach", part of the longest fresh water sand beach in the world with picturesque sunsets. Also enjoy the nightly campfires in the cottage court. Each Cottage is fully equipped and come with a propane BBQ and picnic table outdoors.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beach
Table tennis
Children's playground
Children's television networks
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun umbrellas
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
18Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kathy P wrote a review Jul 2021
Dundas, Ontario
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We rented 3 cottages for a week for our group of 10 family members, all adults. Deepa and family take great care of the property and they were very attentive to our needs. They checked on us several times throughout our stay to ensure we had everything we needed. The cottages were clean and well-maintained. The 3-bedroom cottage has its own fire pit and we enjoyed campfires with our whole group in the private yard.
It’s a great location close to the beach, and just a short drive to the towns of Wasaga Beach and Elmvale. Midland is also fairly close and has shopping and waterfront dining.
We really enjoyed our stay and would visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thomas wrote a review Jul 2021
Oakville, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
2 adults 2 kids. Clean 2 bedroom with cabins circling a shared fire pit. Made some friends around the fire at night. Great 3 night stay! A great assortment of beaches minutes, km, and miles away. Wasaga beach only 15 minute scenic drive away… great and friendly accommodating owners.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PHinNOVA wrote a review Jul 2011
Northern Virginia, Virginia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in cottage #1 which backs to the playground. When we arrived, the playground was full of children; so much so that we thought maybe they were running a daycare center. The children were playing as children do, so it was loud and there was no way to rest before our evening activities. Also, the cabin faced the mid-late afternoon sun and was very warm late in the day. With no air conditioning, we were forced to keep the windows open so we couldn't block the sound of the children by closing the window. Lastly, the cabin was tiny, the windows were small so there was no way to get a breeze through the place - very warm and stuffy.

Otherwise, it was clean. The owners are very, very nice and accomodating. They try hard to make everyone feel welcome. They are also very pet friendly. The beach is two blocks away and is beautiful. The entire area of Tiny Marsh, Georgian Bay is a great place to vacation,.

If you have young children, these cottages may be OK - I would recommend you avoid cottage #1, though, as some of the other cottages are more shaded and further from the playground so you may not have as many problems as we did. But, consider the size of the cottages before you book here - the cottages are VERY small - one of the bedrooms fit one full bed wall to wall. There's just one tiny bathroom with a narrow shower stall and a mirror over the sink that only shows your head. It's rustic, but clean, and this may be all you need. Just don't expect any frills. There is also a nice ice cream and sandwiches cafe two-doors down on the corner of the street with very friendly owners. All in all, a very friendly area overall.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for a cottage further from the road, and more in the shade.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathzy wrote a review Aug 2020
Toronto, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I noticed last review from this property was in 2016 so I’d like to contribute a recent review. I want to warn everyone who is reading this that don’t be fool about the good reviews.
We booked this cottage because of a good rating but I realized after our stay that it is now under new management. The cottages were poorly maintained and very dirty. It’s not worth the price you are paying for. Find another place somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CraigW72 wrote a review Feb 2011
Burlington, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I've stayed at Woodland Cedars the past two years in a row, with both my children and friends and the cottage complex is a great value for any cottager.

Hosts Grant and Karen go to great lengths to make all guests feel welcome and right at home, working hard to offer clean rustic cottages and provide the little extras for everyone like the nightly fire pit gatherings in the middle of the cottage circle.

The kids love staying at the complex and playing with other kids in the play area and in and around the cottages and there is a much quieter beach area within walking distance from the cottages.

We enjoy spending time up at Woodland Cedars and look forward to it again. Look around the area and at price, there is no better value.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2010
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KellyandJamie wrote a review Feb 2011
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Woodland Cedars has been near and dear to my heart since my husband and I stayed there for a few days before we got married. We love Wasaga Beach, but the cottages there are run down, dirty, and full of partying teens.
Woodland Cedars is quaint. Our cottage was equipped with things we forgot to bring - like coffee filters! (thanks Karen and Grant!)
The cottages are tucked away enough for some serious R&R, but just a quick drive into Wasaga if you need walmart.
We were surprised to have a TV, and DVD player (thank you again), the kitchen was stocked with extras (coffee maker!!!!).
We found everything to be neat
and tidy, and our pre-wedding getaway became a wonderful memory.
We have gone back every year as a little gift to ourselves and it has always been enjoyable.
Karen and Grant (the owners) have treated us with total respect, they are always accommodating, and always welcome us back with open arms and warm smiles.
I honestly find Woodland Cedars to be a little gem and it's unfortunate that some people can't enjoy its quaint, quiet, and unassuming nature.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2010
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
canhockeymom2 wrote a review Aug 2010
Windsor, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived with our young family in the late afternoon, well after the check in time of 3 pm. We were advised that our cottage was not ready because it had been trashed by the previous family that was in there and required extensive cleaning. We were asked to return in a half hour. We returned 1 hour later and the cottage was still not ready. After we debated on whether or not to forget our deposit and leave, we agreed to stay as our kids were tired and hungry and had seen the playground. Ended up cleaning the cottage again after getting in.
On the website the following is noted "We have replaced all of the beds with new ones, most of the furniture and all of the dishes, pots & pans, cutlery and utensils. Also the large and small appliances." This is not true. The stove was ancient and only two burners worked. The beds did not feel or look new. The cutlery, utensils etc are used, yard sale pickups. The microwave, coffee maker and toaster were new.
The toilet in our cottage was not a conventional toilet. It was like something you would find in an RV. Our cottage stunk like an outhouse, no matter how much cleaning product I used.
On the upside, there are two playgrounds for the kids with lots of toys. Watch out for animal droppings first thing in the am though. Our kids loved the playground. The beach is a gem and is a short distance away. The water is clear and shallow, perfect for little kids. It was very calm while we were there. The ice cream store on the corner is very nice and friendly. Woodland Beach area is definitely somewhere we would stay again, however you would never find us staying at this "resort" again.
The previous poster noted the skunks. This was evident by the skunk spray on the outside of our cottage. The cottages have had nothing done on the outside to prevent them from nesting under them.
In the end, we stayed because we would have lost our deposit and our kids could play with other kids within our sight. The beach was good for us. When checking out two days early the owners neither offered a refund for the two days or for the four hour delay waiting to check in. I felt cheated no we were ripped off as we paid as much for this place as we would have for decent hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2010
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WoodlandCedars, Owner at Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort
Responded Feb 21, 2011
We were sad and sorry to hear of this customers unhappiness and concerns with regard to their stay with us. It is accurate to say that their check in was significantly delayed due to unfortunate circumstances that we were making efforts to rectify upon their arrival. The previous renters had left the cottage in a deplorable mess which took several hours to bring back to our high standard of cleanliness. The renter was given the opportunity to inspect the cottage before taking possession and indicated to us that it was acceptable for their stay. As well as our sincere apologies, compensation arrangements were made to waive the fee for exceeding maximum occupancy (as they informed us that they had plans to have additional family members visit and stay with them mid week). We have replaced all beds and furnishings within the last 4 years of owning Woodland Cedars. Dishes, cutlery and glasses break or are misplaced and at times need to be replaced creating mismatched sets. This customer told us during their stay that 1 stove burner was not working and this was fixed immediately. Any older large appliances are replaced as needed. As our community is on well water and septic systems we do our best to be environmentally friendly and use low flow toilets including those commonly found in cottages and trailers. Our cottages are in a wooded rural area and occasionally raccoons and skunks will try to take shelter under our cottages. The bottoms of our cottages are enclosed by lattice to discourage the wildlife from nesting, but when nesting happens we use the most humane and environmentally friendly methods to encourage unwanted animals to be on there way. We inspect the property daily to pick up any garbage and the occasional wildlife “droppings”. This renter informed us on the last evening of their rental that they were leaving early as the weather forecast for the morning of their check out included rain. We live on the property of Woodland Cedars; your vacation destination is also our full time home and we are always available to address any issues to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
W4785EDjeffm wrote a review Jan 2016
Windsor, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stumbled upon Woodland Cedars Family Cottages 6 years ago while visiting the area. It was excellent then and is still excellent now. Grant and family do a wonderful job maintaining the property and making sure each guest has what they need. Whether it's a family vacation or a short getaway, I truly recommend staying here. With it being only one block from a family beach, you can enjoy the water without all the hustle an bustle of the main beach area where it can be not as family friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gwenie86 wrote a review Sep 2012
cambridge ontario
5.0 of 5 bubbles
my son and i spent a fun filled 6 days here and honestly i dont think i could have picked a better place. we rented the 1 bedroom unit that thye have it was the perfect size for the 2 of us. my son had an amazing time making new firends on the on site playgrounds. the great part for me is that i could see him play while i got meals together which was a great bonus. the cottage itself was small but clean and tidy and stocked with far more then i had expected. it was greta to go on a vacation and not have to lung pots,pans,cutlery,plates etc with us. the nightly fires were great as im not very good at making them myself. my son enjoyed being able to roast marshmallows with his new found friends nightly. it was never too loud while we were there unless you count the sounds of children play as noise ( which i dont as its one of the best sounds). we didnt go to the large beach in wasage we went to the one right down the road and it was perfect. great sand bars to stand and play on and you can walk out forever into the water before it drops off. all and all it was an amazing vacation only wish it couldve lasted longer. we are already planning our vacation for next year and we will be booking here again . hopefully with some more people with us to enjoy it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maadca wrote a review May 2011
Toronto, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were group of 40 that visited and honestly we had a nice relaxing break, Grant & Karen are very good host, they ensure that every single family was taken care, also i liked the personal attention they provided to all the guest in various cottages, they make you feel like you are part of the family and it showed perfectly when we sat around the fire each one bringing back memories….just loved it, looking forward to making this an annual feature… thanks Grant & Karen.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Cottage 8 is big and cozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
PHinNOVA wrote a tip Jul 2011
Northern Virginia, Virginia32 contributions24 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a cottage further from the road, and more in the shade."
Read full review
Maadca wrote a tip May 2011
Toronto, Canada13 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cottage 8 is big and cozy"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tiny area.
PRICE RANGE
C$192 - C$216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioTiny
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort?
Nearby attractions include Wasaga Adventure Park (4.2 km), Wasaga Beach Provincial Park (7.1 km), and Skull Island Mini Golf (7.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sunset Grill, Boston Pizza, and Pho Simcoe -vietnamese, Asian Restaurant.
All Tiny HotelsTiny Hotel DealsHotels near Woodland Cedars Family Cottage Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars