We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Penzance

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Penzance
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Penzance
See the most recent reviews
Showing 123: English reviews
Markham, Canada
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed here last night and it was a bit of a walk getting here from the train station. It wasn't too hard to find, thanks to the directions that was emailed to me but as the sun started to set, it got incredibly dark since you need to walk through an unlit and wooded pathway to get to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Hello Melissa, Thanks for taking the time to review us here at Penzance YHA. I appreciate the last part of the drive is dark. Unfortunately the lane is private and lighting it is not a priority to the land owner. We do have torches here for the trip back to the pub. Paul

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Although not technically a 'youth', I have over the last year or two, been a regular visitor to YHA Penzance and it never disappoints. Manager Paul and his team are always welcoming, the hostel rooms, grounds and amenities are always clean and overall well maintained. The only comment or suggestion to prospective guests who are not used to sleeping in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank domghisays
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Cheers for your great review. So you had the snorer! For those booking shared single sex dormitory accommodation an ear plug pack can be purchased at reception. They are a number one seller! Paul

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Clean quiet warm rooms, beds were relatively comfortable and the linen was clean, the carpet was clean. The breakfast was well cooked and the hostel had friendly staff, who checked us in even when we arrived nearly at 11pm. Spacious clean kitchen with enough room to place one's food. Very close to the sea front. Truly enjoyed our brief stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SangN
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for the great review. There is nothing worst than a sticky carpet! Thanks for noticing. The cleaning staff will be happy to hear that they are appreciated. Paul

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Tidy place and was impressed with the clean furnishings, a tad up on yer average YHA I thought. Price was good for room and despite shared toilets and shower, those were clean and available. Kitchen facilities were ok (but please note get a new rice cooker, it doesn't work). Staff were friendly and helpful. If I were to make one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricky B
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Hello Ricky B, Thanks for taking the time to review us. The cleaning team will be happy that their work has gone unnoticed. The rice cooker was left by a group of friends. I have just changed the fuse and know why they left it. Its broke! Sorry. Sorry about St. Trinnian's. They are an excitable but polite group and...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

I booked one night for myself and family members to provide inexpensive accomodation the night before travelling to Scilly Isles. We needed breakfast early and somewhere to leave the car securely whilst we were away. The manager helped us with both of these. The facilities were clean and welcoming. A number of Austrian students found the wifi worked best in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annesmith885
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us and making use of our facilities. The wifi will be upgraded within the next week so battling your way through a group of teenagers in the corridor should be a thing of the past! Fingers crossed. Cheers and I hope to see you again. Maybe even more than one night! Paul

Reviewed 13 October 2016

Camped in the grounds because the hostel was full but we're allowed to use the showers and restaurant and lounge, very friendly staff and clean, food was great but the bar was over priced £3.50 for a bottle of beer,but there was a pub just down the road, the pirate Inn,

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanzalfaromeo
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Thanks Billy and Marty. A great review thanks. I will pass your great comments onto the cleaning team. They just feel unloved sometimes! You probably didn't get much change from a beer at The Pirate! Still, it's a great pub with a real fire through the winter. Come on back. Paul

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Well organised, clean and friendly hostel located in the park about 1 mile from Penzance train station. Self catering in a pleasant, spacious and well equipped kitchen. Under-beds lockers provided for safely storage of your belongings (must have your own padlock). Good size 6 and 8 bedded bedrooms. Busy environment so do not forget your earplugs and headphones :). Helpful...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia-Cathy
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for your great comments. Just to let you know that we also have smaller rooms too. Why not try one? With winter and the best storm watching just around the corner the rooms will be less busy. I will pass your comments to the staff.

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

fantastic venue-lovely old house, good rooms and space, kitchen, garden etc . We had a shared rom with loads of space, good mattresses/bedding. There were noisy kids- but that's to be expected. Walking distance to pub (The Pirate Inn).

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank loumw
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment. I am glad you had a good night sleep. We upgraded all the mattress at the beginning of the season. Sorry about the noisy kids. I hope this did not detract from your stay too much.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The staff in the bar were rude to me and had to report it to management. The door on the shower wouldn't shut. Had to sleep in the lounge as someone was snoring in my dormitory. The staff weren't very helpful and you have to pay to borrow towels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed E
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

Hello Ethan, thank you for taking the time to review our services. I can only apologise that you did not receive the care and attention you should have receive from my staff. Rest assured I did bring your comments to our weekly meeting.

Reviewed 17 September 2016

We stayed for one night in a bell tent in the YHA grounds - the bell tent and furniture was provided by the YHA. The tent itself was great - comfy futon beds, plenty of bedding, solar powered lighting, clean toilet and shower block. Access to the house so could use laundry, kitchen, lounge etc. Great location - 15 min...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance, responded to this review

The tents have been so successful this season we will be bringing them back next year. Book early as they are very popular. 99% waterproof! I am glad you did not get the thunderstorm which resulted in the other 1%. The joy of camping, but looking on the bright side we have a great drying room and laundry equipment!

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Horneck
2.0 km away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
766 reviews
11.2 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
40.2 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
YHA Land's End
YHA Land's End
#3 of 7 in St Just
67 reviews
0.9 km away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#4 of 87 in Penzance
360 reviews
6.8 km away
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about YHA Penzance

Address: Castle Horneck, Alverton, Castle Horneck TR20 8TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Castle Horneck
Price Range: $43 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Penzance 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penzance Youth Hotel Castle Horneck
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from YHA Penzance staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views over the daffodils field! (when is the season). But, in general the building per se is beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles K2485OKlaurag, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I was in room 9 and it was fine!”
 of 5 bubbles N4971VVjohnc, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room number 17 is very private (we have our bathroom and toilet right besides our room)”
 of 5 bubbles 7navilar, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We liked being at the end of the corridor”
 of 5 bubbles hortophagus, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If one is not used to bunks and ladders, request lower bunks and claim early when booking in.”
 of 5 bubbles domghisays, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5