We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Angel Inn

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Angel Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 417: English reviews
Start your review of The Angel Inn
 Click to rate
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have been going to the Angel for lunch for several years albeit not too often. Food has always been good although on a couple of times there were mistakes on the bill which we pointed out, the main barman not being too happy when we did this. We have just been with our daughter who has never been before....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank peterhlord
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed our stay. Room nice thought wires under dressing table messy. Nicy comfy bed. Food nice breakfast wasnt keen on doing own toast. On the whole was nice but a bit on the expensive side . Been to a b and b a few weeks ago and was somewhat cheaper

 Report
Helpful?
Thank love to t
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely atmospheric inn, very friendly staff and interesting menu. I had the pigeon but didn't want the risotto with it and they were happy to give me potatoes and vegetables instead. The sweet was a strawberry fest with meringues and shortbread delicious, my partner settled for a very interesting cheeseboard which was enough for the two of us. Really enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suey70
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've enjoyed lunch here on several occasions over the last 15 years and always enjoy the traditional warm atmosphere and use of local products. However, for the first time, i was slightly disappointed with the quality of food presented. Particularly, the rustic seafood soup at £10.95. The seafood was fine but the broth itself lacked any flavour and was full...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malcolm H
Xerxes1970, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Malcolm, We have only just re-introduced the Fish Soup after a two month break of not having it on the menu, brought it back due to the overwhelming feedback wanting it back, I'll talk to Chef and see if we can't bring the more concentrated smooth tomato and fish base back, I do want to point out though that...

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our first visit to what is described as restaurant with rooms.Our room in a stone built annex over the road was comfy,furnished in restful country style,immaculately clean and with a lovely modern bathroom.Some of the furnishings seem dated or unnecessary- the rather twee gilt mirrors,flounced valance and tulle curtains and canopy round the bed.The bank of sockets and wires under...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank glover906
Xerxes1970, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we just can't get over what an in-depth review this is! How we ever managed to run a business before this Website came along is completely baffling, but thank God it did, and thank God for such a spirited and un-sanctimonious review. We know that the truth hurts sometimes, but after a collective and rather costly...

york
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 1 night & the room was cosy & a little quirky, upstairs living area & downstairs bedroom & bathroom. The bar area was busy & lively & we enjoyed having a drink in there. When we moved into the dining room it was less than half full so lacked the same atmosphere as the bar & was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buckleyyork
Marlborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked from a recommendation from a friend. We were not warned how "posh" it was and turned up very casually dressed. However we were not made to feel lesser because of it. Will book for bar next time instead of restaurant! Our only disappointment was the pudding - ordered lemon tart and got some sweet pink thing without a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueOwen7
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A few hours after eating scallops at the Angel Inn my wife felt ill and spent the whole night vomiting and suffering diarrhoea. The following day, my doctor daughter rang the inn to inform and alert them. we were not attributing blame or asking for anything. However, the head chef1s response was rude and off-hand and we were taken aback....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Paul H
Xerxes1970, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

As we explained to your Doctor Daughter, we were very sorry that your wife became ill after eating with us. However, given that we served nearly 40 portions of scallops all day and nobody else got in touch the next day to tell us they had fallen ill, your daughters request that we take scallops off the menu as a...

Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Took a couple of friends out mid week to celebrate on the actual day. I'd booked to eat in the dining room but eating in the bar area is just as nice. Their wine list is brilliant, well worth a read.The staff couldn't have been more attentive, the food superb with excellent service. Flawless. Cannot recommend this place enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mendoros
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We were unexpectedly driving through and called in late in the hope of a meal. Knew nothing about the place and enquired about coming to eat with our dog in tow. We could not have been made more welcome. Seated in a side room where dogs welcome, as well as our table set, a floor mat and water bowl had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VegasTheDog

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hetton
10.7 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.1 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
1.8 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,105 reviews
31.6 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
382 reviews
15.3 km away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pioneering Gastropub in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales providing luxury accommodation. Seasonally changing locally sourced menus with blackboard specials featuring the daily catch from the east and west coast.Nooks and crannies and open fires create the archetypal country pub atmosphere. Expect a warm Yorkshire welcome, little quintessential extras in your room like fresh milk and sliced lemon and ice.Experience dinner in our three AA Rosette restaurant or our traditional Bar Brasserie and wake up in comfort to a 'Full Yorkshire Breakfast'. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Address: Main St, Hetton, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hetton
Price Range: $250 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Angel Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Hetton
The Angel Inn Hetton, Yorkshire, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Angel Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
manchester
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
11 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Angel Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn't stay overnight but have had very good feedback from others who had.”
Suey70, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“They are all perfect”
chickalaca, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are different and have character, check the website.”
Ilkleytravelsnob, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sycamore Suite!”
katiehaigh2016, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You might not get the room you booked.”
foodbuff2016, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates