We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gaya Island Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Gaya Island Resort
Gaya Island Resort
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,044 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 897: English reviews
Start your review of Gaya Island Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The location is fabulous but the service is lacking. Be warned access to rooms requires a hike. Alcohol and food is expensive. Check in process is very slow. The activities schedule looks great but availability is very limited.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leah L
Dennis_Gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Leah L, Please accept our most sincere apologies for failing to meet up with your expectations during your stay at Gaya Island Resort. The Borneo is an unique destination for a holiday and here at Gaya Island Resort, we pride ourselves on delivering distinctive customer experience and being a wild nature-friendly resort with the aim to ensure that guests...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It is definitely not 5 starts place and for sure there is no room for tag "Luxury" even the stuff is very kind. It starts when you arrive at Gaya Lounge in Kota Kinabalu port. It is shame on YTL to have that nibble place to meet their guests. Tiny, nibble and dirty room - is it how YTL creates...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrey K
Dennis_Gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Andrey K, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with Tripadvisor community. I understand your disappointment with our product and the services, and I appreciate your constructive feedback. We are grateful for all feedback, even if it is of a critical nature, as this is the only way we can truly...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed here 3 days 2 nights and absolutely loved our time here. We had an apartment up on the hill and we were afforded incredible views across the bay. The apartments that are higher up are a little bit of a climb but only a few minutes (if that) and no big deal provided you have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MissNoodle
Dennis_Gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear MissNoodle , Thank you very much for choosing YTL Hotels for your holiday. I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay here at Gaya Island Resort. We always appreciate when our valued guests share their feedback as it makes the service we provide even more worthwhile. As you mentioned, our resort team is always doing the...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked a room with bay view even tho it costed more. Arrived & waited almost an hour for our luggage to be sent to our room. Needed 2-3 phone calls as well. By then we were tired out from stretching our necks looking to see if luggages were coming yet. Meanwhile, we enjoyed our 'bay view' from the balcony....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chong S
Dennis_Gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chong S, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor, we take all guest comments very seriously and use them for further training and enhancement to services and facilities. Rest assured we will take your feedback to heart and look into the critics mentioned, and perhaps a few changes. I'm however pleased to hear that you found our staff...

Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First time to Sabah and first time to Gaya Island Resort. Stayed 3D2N, it is a wonderful resort quiet and peaceful but food and spa service a bit pricey. The resort surrounded by clean and clear turquoise waters, you could just jump into its waterfront and enjoy. They held pretty much activities to explore the island, make sure you read...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fong I
Dennis_Gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Fong I, Thank very much for choosing Gaya Island Resort for your holiday destination and for taking the time to share your great experience with the online community. We are delighted to read that you had a tranquil and wonderful time in our tropical paradise. The Borneo is a unique destination for a holiday and here at Gaya Island...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My Wife and I (29 &31) stayed at Gaya for 4 nights and from the moment we arrived to we left it was Amazing!! Very very laid back place - if you want ultimate relaxation then this is the place! Rooms were literally set atop the Rainforest Canopy (we had a Canopy Villa), woken up each morning to the sounds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JL58HK
Dennis_Gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear JL58HK , Thank you very much for choosing YTL Hotels for your holiday. I was delighted to read that you had a superb stay here at Gaya Island Resort . We always appreciate when our valued guests share their feedback as it makes the service we provide even more worthwhile. As you mentioned, our resort team is always doing...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Overall is good. View is good. The food should b improving as a 5 star hotel. We spent rm 198 per person in the teppayaki restaurant but the food is so so. Very disappointing and the service is not as good as shangrila.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank voos2015
Dennis_Gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Voos2015, Thank you for your feedback. The voices of our guests are valuable to us and serve as a tool for improvement to enhance our guest experiences. Allow me to apologize for the shortfalls in service during your dinner experience at our Tepanyaki restaurant, Omakase; this is certainly not how we hope for you to remember your time here....

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 1 week ago

My 4th trip to Gaya Island Resort! This is a stunning location with stilt villas on the edge of rainforest jungle and mangroves along a white sand beach. Rooms are beautifully designed, with walk-in wardrobe and a marble-floored open plan bathroom with the largest bathtub I've ever used. The newly refurbished pool (Nov 2016) finally does justice to this lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fc1789
Dennis_Gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear fc1789 , Thank you very much for choosing YTL Hotels for your holiday. I was delighted to read about " return to hidden paradise ". We always appreciate when our valued guests share their feedback as it makes the service we provide even more worthwhile. As you mentioned, our resort team is always doing the best to impress every...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a fantastic family holiday here over the Easter weekend. The scenery is majestic and the activities for the kids are superb. However, there is room for improvement especially with the customer service in the restaurants during breakfast and dinner. The walking trail as well as the kayaking in the mangrove forest are highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crazy_k_2014
Dennis_Gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear crazy_k_2014, Thank you very much for choosing YTL Hotels for your holiday. I was delighted to read that you had a fantastic family holiday here at Gaya Island Resort. We always appreciate when our valued guests share their feedback as it makes the service we provide even more worthwhile. As you mentioned, our resort team is always doing the...

Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful resort, great location, wonderful staff, amazing rooms (yes just like the photos on their web site) and plenty to do whilst relaxing too. The restaurants were lovely, our favorite was the The Cove (the best staff!!) for relaxed but fine dining. Yes the prices are European but the fish is exceptional, the wine list great and the view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
Dennis_Gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lesley W , We are pleased to hear that you fell in love with our fabulous and thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We strive for excellent service and heartfelt hospitality; therefore, we are delighted to hear that you felt it during your stay at Gaya Island Resort. Our service promise is to give each...

1,978 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1507)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (270)
Viewed
Dining (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (279)
Viewed
View from Room (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (164)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (570)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (431)
Viewed
Amenities (111)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (101)
Viewed
The Hotel (91)
Viewed
Villa Bayu (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Gaya
0.7 km away
Gayana Eco Resort
Gayana Eco Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
441 reviews
18.7 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
5.9 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,003 reviews
12.6 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,289 reviews
4.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Gaya Island Resort

Address: | Malohom Bay, Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, Pulau Gaya 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Price Range: $233 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gaya Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaya Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gaya Island Resort staff and other travellers.
62 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (62)

Questions? Get answers from Gaya Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Canopy rooms have stunning views of the forest and sheltered balconies. Ask for a lower floor villa if you prefer more shade.”
fc1789, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Even numbers are upper level and 802 and 804 are high up on the RHS. Awesome views and a 5+ minute walk . Perfect for peace and quiet.”
lesleyw437, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book directly with the hotel. Do the mangrove kayaking, nature walk and the snorkeling trip”
Panican_Whyasker, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Suria suite 833- only one that is completely private”
deanj33, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“kinabalu villa for better view”
Thefall, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$241* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$241
Booking.comUS$249
Hotwire.comUS$241
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates