We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gaya Island Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$279*
US$210*
Great Deal
US$277*
US$277*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Gaya Island Resort
Gaya Island Resort
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,062 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gaya Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 912: English reviews
UK
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The hotel is in a beautiful setting and our room was fabulous- huge bathroom with two basins, shower etc and an enormous bath. Spectacular views, but this means quite a steep climb up the hill. The pool is very good, which was just as well as we were not able to swim in the sea because of box jellyfish- only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UkLucinda
dennis_gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear UkLucinda, We are pleased to hear that you found our resort to be beautiful with fabulous room and great staff, thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. The Borneo is a unique destination for a holiday and here at Gaya Island Resort, we pride ourselves on being a wild nature-friendly resort with the aim to ensure...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

This resort is beautiful with wonderful nature all around. I love the calm and serene environment especially during sun rise. Staff extremely good especially the breakfast team and charming Resort Manager I was reading previous reviews regarding steep prices for fb , frankly speaking I can't get this spread of buffet for same price in London. Great selection and delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarita D
dennis_gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sarita D, What a wonderful review, thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review and for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to hear that you found Gaya Island Resort to be beautiful with wonderful nature. We strive for heartfelt hospitality and we are pleased to hear that you felt it throughout...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Disappointing. This is a 3 start resort masquerading as a 5 star. I have been lucky enough to stay in other 5 star accommodation in Malaysia so have seen how it can be done. The Datai in Langkawi - another rainforest+beach resort does it perfectly – Gaya could learn lessons from them. First, the good bits. The rooms are lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RebeccaC477
dennis_gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear RebeccaC477, Thank you for your feedback. The voices of our guests are valuable to us and serve as a tool for improvement to enhance our guest experiences. Allow me to apologize for the shortfalls in service during your stay with us; this is certainly not how we hope for you to remember your time here. I have personally shared...

Waltham Abbey
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Lets start with the check in at jesselton pier, which was very smooth. Check in at the resort was very good and the staff cannot do enough for you. The food is outstanding, the fisherman's cove perhaps lacks some atmosphere but its fine dining. The Japanese restaurant is also excellent. The complimentary yoga and meditation should also be singled out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank El-tel40
dennis_gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear El-tel40, Thank you very much for sharing such glowing feedback with Tripadvisor community. Our all entire Team and myself are delighted to hear that you found our resort to be beautifully placed. Our service promise is to give each guest a memorable story to take home with them and strive for heartfelt Borneo hospitality at every touch point. It...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Wow! What a bliss 5 days we had in Gaya Island Resort.I must say the very best Borneo to offer. We visited few other resorts but nothing can match this resort, from the beauty nature have to offer the best delicious fresh food. I love the buffet for dinner and great value for money especially with alcohol included. Staffs here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loveofnature1234
dennis_gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Loveofnature1234, We are pleased to hear that you rated Gaya Island Resort as “Excellent Resort with Warm Hospitality “ and thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. The Borneo is a unique destination for a holiday and here at Gaya Island Resort, we pride ourselves on being a wild nature-friendly resort with the aim to ensure...

Batam, Indonesia
Reviewed 10 March 2017

The Great stuff: Smooth check-in at the Jesselton boat terminal and in the resort Warm welcome by Jack with complete explanation of the resort Spacious rooms with fantastic bed and excellent bathroom area Cool and good working internet gadget to take around where ever you are Superb massage at their beautiful spa Awesome private beach with food service and loungers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terbangbelanda
dennis_gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear terbangbelanda, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. Our all entire Team and myself are delighted to read that you found our team members to be amazing and you enjoyed your birthday breakfast. Our service promise is to give each guest a memorable story to take home with them and your lovely...

Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

We're staying here as we speak on our honeymoon...the hotel is lovely, the bedroom is lovely, the staff, are lovely and very attentive! But everything at this island is a rip off...if you want to leave the island to have a look around Sabahor, it's nearly £30 each for return! This should be a lot less, or even free for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Liam_Small
dennis_gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Liam_Small, Thank you very much for sharing your review with Tripadvisor community. Our service promise is to give each guest a memorable story to take home with them and your lovely comments have been shared with our associates. We always strive to deliver heartfelt Borneo hospitality at every touch point; it is always very motivating for us to know...

Berkeley, CA
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We were at this resort over the Winter Holiday Break. First, let me say that I have high expectations of resorts that advertise themselves as 5 star. We are fans of the Datai, Aman, Four Seasons, Peninsulas, & GHM properties. These are 5 star. Gaya Island Resort is not. The overall architectural design of the property is 5 star so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChoosyTraveler
dennis_gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear ChoosyTraveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor, we take all guest comments very seriously and use them for further training and enhancement to services and facilities. Rest assured we will take your feedback to heart and look into the critics mentioned, and perhaps a few changes.We would be more than happy, if you allow us, to show...

Berkeley CA
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We liked the design and layout of our room. It was tasteful, had generous proportions, and had a beautiful view of the ocean (though the room wasn't in great repair). I also liked snorkeling in the house reef by the boat dock - nothing dramatic, but the coral was actually in good condition and there were some nice fish. Finally,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N0hype
dennis_gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear N0hype, Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us and sharing it with the Tripadvisor community. The voices of our guests are valuable to us. We do pride ourselves on our high levels of service, as well as the Gaya Island culture of heartfelt Borneo hospitality, so I am disappointed to hear that we did not...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Spent two night at the resort. Room was up the hill, which is a bit inconvenient, but makes for truly awesome views. Very nice place for mid-tier prices -- good pool, good beach (though yes some trash floats around; unavoidable in KK), nice spa, solid breakfast, two very nice high end restaurants. Visited right after Mt Kinabalu summit and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpeggers93
dennis_gordienko, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear jpeggers93, Thank you very much for sharing your review with Tripadvisor community. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at "wonderful resort ". We strive for excellent service and heartfelt hospitality; therefore, we are delighted to hear that you felt it during your stay at Gaya Island Resort. Our service promise is to give each...

1,992 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1521)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (279)
Viewed
Room/Suite (164)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (270)
Viewed
Dining (83)
Viewed
View from Room (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (584)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (431)
Viewed
Amenities (111)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (101)
Viewed
The Hotel (91)
Viewed
Villa Bayu (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Gaya
0.7 km away
Gayana Eco Resort
Gayana Eco Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
445 reviews
18.7 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
5.9 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,022 reviews
12.6 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,304 reviews
4.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gaya Island Resort is located on Pulau Gaya, the largest of a cluster of five islands that form the Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park, a natural conservation area off the coast of Borneo, close to Kota Kinabalu. Gaya Island Resort has a unique setting: the land is fringed with a golden sandy beach, rocky coastal outcrops, and surrounded by coral reefs. The hilly island landscape is covered with lush tropical rainforest and an abundance of flora and fauna. And to complete this perfect setting, visible in the distance, is the stunning outline of Mount Kinabalu. The guest villa exterior respects Sabahan architecture uses local materials and blends harmoniously with the natural environment. The interior living space is designed with contemporary elegance to create warmth, comfort and a serene indoor setting. Gaya Island Resort is committed to ecologically sustainable practices to minimise the carbon footprint within its environment. Therefore the resort is a waling resort and only minimal motorised vehicles are used for operational purposes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gaya Island Resort

Address: Malohom Bay, Tunku Abdul Rahman Park | Malohom Bay, Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, Pulau Gaya 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Price Range: $232 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gaya Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gaya Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gaya Island Resort staff and other travellers.
65 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (65)

Questions? Get answers from Gaya Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher the better”
sandraf727, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the main reception are quieter and the view from the higher rooms is amazing and well worth the walk”
jeroentravel, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with bay/beach view”
MALEST1980, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“rooms are identical interior. I enjoyed mine with the pond view. It depends on the view you are looking for”
kr0ck007, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lower down room unless you are good at climbing vertically!!”
Smiles444, 12 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$210* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$277
Hotwire.comUS$277
Ctrip.comUS$279
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates