We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 152: English reviews
Suzhou, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The resort grounds are very beautiful and on surface it looks amazing. However, the rooms are starting to show decay. We were in a spa room with a spa that didn't work. The water pressure was low and having showers and flushing the toilet was problematic some times. The room was small and with the rollaway bed there was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guavaberryteacher
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I do agree that some of the spa rooms are tight on space in the bedroom area with an extra bed although the overall room is large. I am now pointing this out on the various websites. I have checked our records and we had no defects reported fro your...

Atlanta
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We love how quiet and relaxed this place is, and this is our second trip here. The rooms are good, the pool is great, the location is convenient, and we generally like this place. That said, the staff don't like to be bothered by paying customers. For the most part, we have been treated like we'll are at least a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trey A
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I am sorry that you found problems during your stay especially as it involved staff service. Normally reviews regarding the staff are excellent. The restaurant suffered from high numbers of guests during the peak season and just before New Year we lost 2 staff to a new hotel nearby so o2 of our staff were relatively inexperienced. This should not...

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Beautiful Garden, with nice rooms in a beautiful Village. The staff is really Sweet and do everything to take a good care of you. Nice and friendly people, good breakfast, some brand new rooms. We stay there in a big group of friends, and everything went smooth and everybody had a good time in there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janani A
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review. I am so pleased that your group enjoyed their stay with us and that everything ran smooth. Receiving good reviews is great for us so thank you again Peter

Reviewed 23 October 2016

Though dated, the rooms, aircond & bath are functional with free wife. Bed comfortable. There're a few types of chalets, rooms that can caters to various guests but you would need to book ahead. We'd a twin room adjoining with a common patio and you would need to walk a fair bit to the restaurant, main building. The owner is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KL K
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are always happy to transport guests from their rooms to the restaurant but many find the relatively short walk enjoyable looking at the trees, flowers, mountain views and the birds.

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We stayed four nights with our two children (13 and 9 years old), enjoying the unique hotel's location and quietness. We stayed in a lovely villa, very comfortable and plenty of room to fit four people. A slight room’s refurbishment will help to make the Suansawan experience even more unforgettable. Very kind staff and nice restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank apinadell
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review especially the kind comments about your staff. As a small business good feedback is important to us and very much appreciated.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights, rooms very comfortable, air con excellent, varied menu at the restaurant. Pool small but clean, gym very small. Free bikes to use which was great to go and explore the local restaurants. Would recommend this resort for a family holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. It is difficult to communicate how much these reviews are appreciated as a small family owned business. I am surprised that you think our swimming pools are small but in comparison to a large hotel I expect they are but with so few people in them the room available is large. Thank...

carlisle, cumbria
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights family of 4 in 2 bedrooms suite, 2 bathrooms and living area. It is a very quiet retreat away from the busy city. We had had 8 busy nights in bangkok and chiang mai and this was a lovely break before moving on to phuket. Yes it is alittle dated in areas but this adds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teemey
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review it is very much appreciated. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and extremely pleased regarding your comments about my staff. Thank you again Peter

Reviewed 15 July 2016

My BFF and I decided to get away from Bangkok to explore nature so we found this cute little retreat in Chiang Mai. The staff was so sweet and kind to both of us who spoke litterally the worst Thai ever. We checked in pretty late but they were still so accomodating. Our first night there was a gecko in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mai L
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Away from the city we expect the odd gecko in the rooms, they make excellent insect eaters. I am so happy that the staff looked after you well. You are correct, for city lovers we are not well placed but Chiang Mai has so much more to offer than just the city. Thank you...

Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed for two nights whilst we where travelling around Thailand. The hotel is in a very beautiful area, close to most mae rim has to offer with a nice swimming pool but unfortunately that's about as good as it gets. The resort really is in need of renovation, looking very old and tired. The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GixxerBoyBenny 8
Peter B, Manager at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I have read both nearly identical reviews by yourself and your girlfriend. I am sorry you felt the service was poor in the resort. I do not understand why my front desk staff were not apologetic regarding your key card malfunction. We have had a very recent problem with the teak wood windows and doors shrinking in some rooms in...

Lindenhurst, New York
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

After two months jockeying around south east Asia I knew I'd need a break before continuing on. This was just right. Perfect accommodations. I've never seen a pillow selection chart anywhere else. Every part of the resort I used was good. Two shower heads! Water pressure was outstanding. Unfortunately the hot water was never around when I needed it but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iratdog
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am p;leased that you enjoyed the pillow menu, water pressure and breakfasts. If there was a hot water problem it would have been specific to your room because each room has its own hot water system which makes life a lot more fragile because we have so many hot water systems to look after....

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (171)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Rim hotels
4.2 km away
Gudi Boutique Hotel
Gudi Boutique Hotel
#15 of 18 in Mae Rim
22 reviews
16.9 km away
Botanic Resort ChiangMai
Botanic Resort ChiangMai
#16 of 18 in Mae Rim
18 reviews
11.3 km away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
Ruen Ariya Resort
Ruen Ariya Resort
#17 of 18 in Mae Rim
25 reviews
11.2 km away
Proud Phu Fah Resort
Proud Phu Fah Resort
#6 of 18 in Mae Rim
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is a relaxing, boutique, garden resort situated in the beautiful and tranquil Maerim Valley, a 30 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and in the centre of the wide range of Chiang Mai's attractions. Offering a full range of recreational activities the facilities include two swimming pools, a beautiful Thai spa, a fitness centre, a sauna, and a lakeside relaxation sala with library These facilities are surrounded by the finest relaxation environment and nature. The resort features 47 understated rooms & villas in huge sub-tropical surroundings with approximately 1,000 trees, an impressive lake, 3 fishponds and many garden areas with relaxing garden salas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai

Address: 43/1 Moo 6, Mae Rim-Samoeng Road | Maeram Subdistrict, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand (Formerly Away Suansawan Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Price Range: $42 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Mae Rim
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mae Rim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Villas are great”
 of 5 bubbles apinadell, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“....Delux Suite Lakeside!!....They are heavenly!”
 of 5 bubbles meritengstrom, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“New rooms have quiet air-condition. AC in old rooms are noisy, though location of old rooms are more beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles Vibhoda, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I am talking as a disabled traveller. Staff to scared to take you out in case anything goes wrong”
 of 5 bubbles Anonymous361879, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“They have all sorts of configurations from smaller bungalows to villas.”
  • Thai-Style Sweet and Sour Fish
  • Street View
 of 5 bubbles carlborch, 5 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay