We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moutcha Bay Resort

Traveller (92)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (5)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Moutcha Bay Resort is located at the mouth of the Conuma River, just 40 minutes west of Gold River, in beautiful, sheltered Nootka Sound. Moutcha Bay Resort is designed to provide a unique collection of products and services not otherwise available in this wilderness area. A spacious, contemporary resort, offering world-class fishing in sheltered, deep waters, abundant wildlife and adventure just outside our door. Inquire about our resort, chalet and yurt accommodations as well as RV and tent camping sites, powered moorage, and our marina and dock shack.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:Custom Fishing Packages!
Location
Full view
Contact
KM 43 Head Bay Road, Tahsis, British Columbia Canada
E-mail hotel
Getting there
Campbell River Airport87 km
See all nearby hotels
Reviews & more
58Reviews
115Photos
2Q+A
10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 44
  • 6
  • 4
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
If you like eating the finest dust around, potential flat tires from tent stakes left in your campsite in a remote location, and feeling like a second class citizen then this is the place for you. My wife and I booked a campsite at Moutcha Bay Resort for 5 days in late August.
Read more
Response from NootkaMarine, General Manager at Moutcha Bay Resort
Responded Nov. 30, 2018
Dear Mike, Firstly, I am truly sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is only through feedback such as this that we are able to continually improve our guest service. I empathise with you regarding the points you brought up in your review, including the issue of dust during the long hot days of August. We do attempt to keep the dust down using water trucks, but it appears that we failed to sufficiently spray the upper campground roadways during your stay. For that, I apologise and I will address the issue in our next season. We will also be sure to do a better job advising incoming guests when they may need to bring extra cord or hose for certain campsites; that must have been frustrating for you. We do provide cord and hose for guests to borrow at the front desks in the event that these items are forgotten, and I am sorry that you were not made aware of that. I can assure you that our team values each and every guest at Moutcha Bay Resort, whether they are camping in a tent or staying in a luxury suite. Our goal is to treat every guest with the warmth that we would like to experience ourselves, so I am disappointed that you did not feel appreciated. Although you mentioned that you would not be returning to Moutcha Bay Resort, please know that if you change your mind we will do our very best to rectify the situation for you. You may reach out to me at any time to make arrangements. Sincerely, Adele Larkin, General Manager, Nootka Marine Adventures
Read more
+6
Property's Favourite Review
We stayed at the resort for three nights (my husband was competing in their annual kayak fishing derby). Our accommodation was a suite in the main lodge, and was excellently appointed with shower room, hallway with separate sink area and living room at entry level and the
Read more
Response from NootkaMarine, Guest Services Team Leader at Moutcha Bay Resort
Responded Sep. 10, 2018
Dear coldasicequeen, We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Kayak Derby! Our team will be happy to hear your feedback. Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Read more
Highly recommend the wild life tour at Moucha Bay Resort. It was one of the best boat tours we have ever been on. Our tour guide Sam was very knowledgeable about the wildlife and areas history. We had a great time!
Read more
Response from NootkaMarine, Guest Services Team Leader at Moutcha Bay Resort
Responded Sep. 5, 2018
Hi Jill H, Thank you for this wonderful review! We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour with Sam and that it was one of the best you've ever been on! We hope to welcome you back to Moutcha Bay Resort again in the future.
Read more
Wicked resort! Great food. Great fishing. Great service. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was delicious. Caesars, Eggs Benny, Nachos and the West Coast Chowder were our favourites. Limited out on fish everyday. Chinook & Koho Salmon, Vermillion Rockfish, Lingcod.
Read more
Response from NootkaMarine, Guest Services Team Leader at Moutcha Bay Resort
Responded Aug. 13, 2018
Dear Sarah, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! It sounds like your visit to our Resort was fantastic - we're so happy to hear that! Thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
First time coming to this part of the island and it was well worth the trip! The reception staff Renee and Alex were welcoming and full of knowledge and even went out of their way to get us an RV adapter we forgot to bring. My husband and I had an excellent meal in the
Read more
Response from NootkaMarine, Guest Services Leader at Moutcha Bay Resort
Responded Aug. 9, 2018
Dear Heather, Thank you so much for leaving us a review of your stay with us. We love having the opportunity to welcome visitors to Nootka Sound for the first time and we're glad that we might get the chance to see you again next year. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
Bedroom
Shower Room
PreviousNext
1234
Are dog allowed in the lodge rooms?
Hi Vonne77, Our lodge suites are not pet-friendly but you can bring a dog and stay in the campsites or the chalets. Cheers, Katie Wallace
0 votes
Hi Gena! The road from Gold River to Moutcha Bay Resort is an active logging road with well-maintained gravel and paving on the steepest hills. You can find a full report as well as directions on our website - hover over Book Now, and click on Travel Directions. Thanks!
0 votes
"Highly recommend the Yurts - Full views of the docks and bay"
"All rooms are oceanfront"
"As far as I know, they are all about the same."
"Yurts are top notch"
"All the yurts have amazing views of the bay. The hotel facilities are top notch!"
PreviousNext
12
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandTahsis
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing