We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Emerald Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kawau Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Emerald Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 27: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 September 2012

A wonderful host and a beautiful place to stay - we were made very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing weekend away. Particularly enjoyed preparing the pizza on Saturday to be cooked in the outdoor oven, and the superb breakfast on Sunday. All meals were excellent. Emerald Lodge clearly has the nicest beach to itself too, making a stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reyes_2012
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Kawau Island's a standout jewel amongst the Auckland regions "must visit" open spaces. You just won't do it justice on a basic ferry trip to mansion house. John and Kim's hospitality matched the charm and beauty of the Island We were treated like good friends, enjoyed great coffee, a lovely evening meal in the company of the 2 other guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwiwantok
Auckland
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Sadly I have to agree with many of the reviews already posted: Positives: Location - beautiful Free use of kayaks The rest: Price: Considerably over priced even at the Grab one special offer. Comments such as ‘we tried our best’ as a response to other reviews do not really cut it. If you charge these prices you need to know...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Aucklandpom
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Abysmal experience. Pitched as a luxury lodge, we were told the 'standard rate' is $750/day, but were were offered a deal at $300, nonetheless we had great expectations. The website images look lovely, but don't be decieved. Our weekend was a 'Faulty Towers' experience. The host John is totally unsuited to the hospitality industry and this is no luxury lodge,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank karen k
John C, Manager at Emerald Lodge, responded to this review

All we can do is try our best. Unfortunately you arrived on the 10:30 Ferry when you were told to arrive on the 2:30pm ferry. This caused us obvious difficulty as we were unable to cater to your every whim. As to your comments regarding the food we serve, I think it was most unfair as it was excellent "kiwi"...

Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

I would have happily paid $100 for a night here. Absolutely outrageously over priced and that is with a grab one deal $299 + $100 for boat there. We had been looking forward to a luxury, private, quiet night away and for that price that's what we expected. We arrived at 11am and offered a coffee. We got no food...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JBing123
John C, Owner at Emerald Lodge, responded to this review

You were not charged for drinks,coffee or a cooked breakfast....and obviously missed the reason why people come here. If you want to stay in your room all day...you should do it somewhere else...please don't come back. Nasty behavior to try and claim a refund from the water taxi company behind my back.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Arrived on 11am ferry on Saturday. Although the rooms were not immediately ready (previous nights guests were leaving on same ferry) John made us a cup of tea and we roamed aound the grounds and sat by the waters edge for around an hour. Lunch was home made pizzas in the profesionally built outdoor pizza oven served outside under the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
John C, General Manager at Emerald Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Matt...It's always nice to meet great people. :)

Hamilton
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We had a most enjoyable two nights at Emerald Lodge. Our hosts Kim & John looked after us amiably from the time we arrived. IIt had what we required - a desert island with excellent meals & wine and all the time to do nothing!. Many thanks to you both

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My partner and I wanted a quiet getaway weekend so booked the special from grabone. Managed to book a night and were told to organise the ferry ride. I had presumed it would be included, my fault. The 2 days of parking and ferry ride cost an extra $120, no problem. When we arrived they were still sorting out rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrevorP67
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Beautiful location, and lovely hosts. We stayed in a chic Wigwam, on the lawn right by the water. Great waking up in the morning to the sounds of nature. Recommend to anyone that wants to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. Very relaxed hosts, so it felt like staying with friends. Excellent food, wine and homemade bourbon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ktandnav
Rotorua
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We expected a luxury lodge and instead felt this was a very enjoyable homestay only. Our room was small with a standard double bed,the tv system did not work,the shower drain was blocked and the shower head fell of. Basic breakfast and told that for a fee we could have cooked! Our hosts were charming and helpful, we were asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank braemoray

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kawau Island hotels
0.0 km away
Kawau Lodge & Kawau Island Experience
0.0 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#1 of 3 in Kawau Island
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for a slice of heaven, a unique experience to share with family and friends. Come and discover this wonderful Island escape. Your hosts, Kim and John, would like to welcome you to their home located on the sunny sheltered shores of North Cove, Kawau Island. If it's a breakaway to recharge the batteries, reignite the passion or a jam packed, kiwi outdoor experience, we can make your island dream come true. Too good to be true, certainly not. Come, discover the delights of Kawau Island at its best. This is our slice of heaven and we look forward to sharing it with you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emerald Lodge

Address: North Cove, Kawau Island 1142, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Kawau Island
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Emerald Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles karenk610, 12 May 2012 | Read review
“Not all rooms have ensuits so specify if you feel you need one. However we had bathroom all to ourselves anyway and posed no problems at all.”
 of 5 bubbles MattH572, 14 Apr 2012 | Read review
“Ask for a room that has a bathroom attached.”
 of 5 bubbles TrevorP67, 13 Mar 2012 | Read review
3 of 3