We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant

Save
Share
Jl. Binongko, Labuan Bajo, Flores Indonesia
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$33
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-03
StayForLong
Agoda.com
US$28
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-03
Trip.comUS$29
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (608)
Room & Suite (208)
Pool & Beach (80)

About

#7 of 38 hotels in Labuan Bajo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Flores, is a modest hotel, located in Labuan Bajo, a city at the tip of Flores Island in Indonesia. Labuan Bajo is a base to explore the surrounding islands for the world class diving, wildlife viewing and for some of the least crowded beaches and tiny islands and of course the infamous Komodo and Rinca.Golo Hilltop is a small Boutique Style hotel run by two Dutch women and presents a pleasant family atmosphere. It is situated on top of a hill about 1 km from the city centre, this makes it a quiet and relaxing place but everything is still on walk-able distance. This hotel is a haven for nature lover and adventurous and is away from the town area. The bungalows are spacey, bright and clean. Each bungalow has its own balcony providing nice views of the ocean and a daily sunset. It provides comfortable stay with a variety of guest’s rooms - deluxe, superior and standard rooms. With all these services, this hotel provides a perfect camp to 'explore' Labuan Bajo.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Laundry service
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Indonesian
681Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 379
  • 225
  • 58
  • 10
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
risto85 wrote a review Nov. 12
Paris, France60 contributions63 helpful votes
Breathtaking view from the villas / rooms and from the pool over the bay and little islands. Rooms are basic but have everything you need for comfort. Very friendly teams and owner! Great place to stay
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paul Lambie wrote a review Nov. 5
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Labuan bajo was the first place we visited in Indonesia. Golo Hilltop set the bar high for the rest of our trip. This is a smaller hotel with very clean and comfortable accommodations. It’s on a hill slightly out of town so it is much quieter. Very friendly and helpful staff. There is a great swimming pool overlooking the bay. It’s a bit of an uphill walk back from town but you can rent a motorbike or get a taxi if you don’t feel like walking.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Izaak E wrote a review Aug. 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia5 contributions6 helpful votes
A really lovely hotel with old-school banana pancake trail vibes. Basic and clean rooms for a very reasonable price. The view from the pool is one of the best sunsets in Labuan Bajo—strongly recommend lounging in the pool with a Bintang at sunset. If you’re looking for a comfortable, quiet base for land trips or a few days of day-trip diving that is perfect for evening relaxation, this is a great pick!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Wander51205100499 wrote a review Jul. 2022
1 contribution
We loved our time at the hotel. The swimming pool is great and so are the stunning views with a perfect sunset. The lady owner is a joy to chat to and is incredibly knowledgeable and helpful as are her staff. The rooms are very clean and spacious. You will enjoy your stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kevin S wrote a review Jul. 2022
19 contributions3 helpful votes
We had a wonderful time there ! The staff is lovely, we loved chatting with them. They gave us very good recommendations for activities and tours. And they shared interesting informations about Indonesia, local people, Flores, etc. The hotel is great, well integrated in the nature, but not too far from the center, you can rent a motorbike directly with them. You have an amazing view on the sea from each part of the hotel (room's balcony, restaurant, swimming pool) and the sunset there is stunning. The breakfast was great also. I would definitely recommend this place. For the quality of the amenities and the services for the price you pay, I think than in comparison to others hotels in Labuan Bajo it is the best one or one the best at least.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Happiness467561 wrote a review Dec. 2019
25 contributions13 helpful votes
We are staying at Golo Hilltop hotel at the moment, and I have to say it was the best decision ever. The town itself is a bustling port side fishing village is South East Asia, so it's busy, smelly and dirty (as you would expect). This is fine, but being able to escape up the hill to a little piece of paradise makes your stay tranquil and relaxing. Yes, it's a 10-15 minute walk up hill, which is killer in the mid day heat (get a motorbike or taxi), but otherwise the walk is fine (we're fit-ish 30 something's though. Might be a bit rough for the very young or advanced age). If you're doing day tours they'll pick you up at the hotel also. Breakfast is eggs or pancakes with breadrolls, fruit and cereal. It's not awesome, but fills the void before heading out. The lunch and dinner menu is very basic but the food is as good as anything we've had out here so far, and they have unlimited water at the reception to fill your bottle, which is awesome. The pool is clean and amazing, and the views are spectacular. I highly recommend getting the slightly more expensive rooms at the top of the hill for the views and privacy. The footpath to reception runs past the rooms lower down, so you'll have people walking past all the time. Also the gardens are well kept and filled with every flowering tropical plant you can imagine, and the smell is divine. All in all a fantastic choice of accommodation. We're here for 5 nights and loving it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Reisa wrote a review Dec. 2019
Bellingham, Washington51 contributions19 helpful votes
I agree with the other reviews - the place is beautiful (gorgeous landscaping and view) and quiet, it was wonderful to have the pool, don't take a tour through the employee who whispers to you that he can get you a boat, and there are limited food choices at the restaurant. However, it is a short walk down to the food stalls, and there are LOTS of places that offer diving and boat tours. Ingrid arranged for the 5 of us to get a large van and guide and driver and we did a 5-day driving tour across Flores (from Labuan Bajo to Maumere) which was absolutely phenomenal. Jos was our guide, and Melky the driver. The road across Flores is incredibly scenic (and very twisty/turny). Everything was arranged - places to stay, places to eat, places to visit. Jos is amazing - he has an incredible knowledge of history, culture, stories, and is hilarious and very fun to be with. Melky did an outstanding job of driving, which is saying a lot on that road and for those distances. If you have any interest in traveling overland, this is the way to go!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ignasius wrote a review Dec. 2019
Ubud, Indonesia24 contributions50 helpful votes
Despite the kindness of the manager, our journey was ruined by the behaviour of one of the employees who encouraged us to take a cruise (even it was forbidden for him) with one of his friend (agency in town : revolusi, hallobajo.com) who came to the hotel and finally cheated with us with the boat which was dirty (sticky, bad smelling), small, very unconformtable and extremely slow (dont rely on pictures they show you!), and the program of the cruise was not respected at all. Such horrible that we needed to quit the boat and arrange ourselves our come back to the city. We truly regret that this situation was not avoided despite it is not the first time it happens as we can see on other tripadvisor comments... What a shame ! We definitly won't come again, and suggest you to beware of such bad persons.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from kakamax, Owner at Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Responded Dec. 3, 2019
Thank you for your review and as we already told you we are so terribly sorry that this happened to you and spoiled your experience in our hotel and in Labuan Bajo. As we explained to you, our staff is not allowed to organize trips for guests because we, as a hotel cannot guarantee the quality we want for our guests when we don't know which company is organizing the trip. We have told our staff to advise guests just to go into town and find a trip at one of the many agencies over there. And as you mentioned it happened before even after we had warned the employee in question already a few times, so after what happened to you we had to discharge him. We hope in the future it will not happen again. And again so sorry for this
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tammyspoppy wrote a review Nov. 2019
River, West Sussex45 contributions29 helpful votes
This place is in quiet spot with great views of the bay. Staff are great and very helpful. The room is basic and is a good size with a fridge. There is no hot water in the sink in the bathroom and the room is not serviced whilst you stay there. The air con did not work very well despite a member it staff trying to sort it. Breakfast is simple but ok. We had an evening meal which was very cheap and very nice. We had a sea view room which was well worth the extra cost. There is a small balcony where you can sit and enjoy the views.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tom wrote a review Oct. 2019
Hong Kong, China163 contributions112 helpful votes
I guess you are here because its a starting point to the Komodo islands and you need a place to stay for a night or two. The hotel is a decent choice, given the lack of good choices. (at the moment) Pros: clean room, good view, friendly staff, swimming pool Con: Mosquitos, mosquitos that gets into the room with all the cracks and holes, very lackluster menu, not close to the town center, simple rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: rooms further up the hill
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$31 - US$45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golo hilltop hotel and restaurant
LOCATION
IndonesiaEast Nusa TenggaraFloresLabuan Bajo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant - Reviews, Prices UPDATED 2022 - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include Komodo National Park (0.02 km), Kampung Ujung Beach (0.8 km), and Magnolia Boutique Komodo (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include Carpenter Cafe And Roastery, Baccala Bajo, and Cafe Melinjo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant have airport transportation?
Yes, Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Indonesian.
Are there any historical sites close to Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tado Village (3.5 km).
Does Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.