Chestnut Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Chestnut Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Chestnut Lodge Main Street, Beckley TN31 6RS England
Stunning entrance and lush grounds
Traveller (1)
Breakfast in The Orangery
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 1 B&B in Beckley
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Chestnut Lodge, Beckley, a beautifully restored nineteenth century Grade II listed Regency home.Occupying an elevated position, parking is on the frontage, off Main Street, in front of the iron gate with topiaried yew hedges. Surrounded by stunning landscaped gardens and the eastern side overlooks farmland views of East Sussex. In an area of outstanding natural beauty in the 1066 countryside.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
44Reviews2Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 43
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
NicholasSLondon wrote a review Jul 2013
London
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent just one night when staying over for a wedding nearby and we ended up wanting to stay longer! Everything was of the highest standard, from the bed linen to the bathroom to the delicious breakfast - we couldn't fault a thing. The bedroom was warm, quiet and comfortable and the house and gardens were delightful. Pandora's efforts to make us feel welcomed and looked after included suggestions for where to visit, providing torches and picnic rugs. She has set a high bar for other b&b's to reach.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pandora B, Owner at Chestnut Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Responded Jul 3, 2013
The pleasure was totally mine having you both to stay, I wish you had stayed for longer so we could carry on chatting away. Your lovely comments are very much appreciated. I so hope you will return soon. Thank you both again all much appreciated
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Narelle A wrote a review Jun 2013
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 2 nights in this delightful bed and breakfast. We were greeted by Pandora and immediately offered tea and banana cake on the terrace where the last of the afternoon sun was still shining. The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The bedroom window was adorned with roses! A great breakfast was served in the bright sunny orangery. Pandora was cheerful, welcoming and most helpful. Go and spend some time there - you won't be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pandora B, Owner at Chestnut Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Responded Jul 1, 2013
Thank you so much for such lovely comments. It was lovely having you both here to stay, and hope to see you again in the future. All the best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucelle406 wrote a review Jun 2013
Woodford Green, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were recommended to stay at Chestnut Lodge by our friends who live in Beckley. We normally stay at a hotel but were talked into trying out the local B&B. Well, thank goodness we took their advise! The house was charming and the two bedrooms were decorated to a very high standard with all the extras you'd expect from a top hotel. The owner, Pandorra, was delightful and set out a beautiful breakfast consisting of fresh fruit, cereals,juices, full English and much more...you certainly wouldn't go hungry! All in all a fabulous place to stay and is definitely on the cards for a return visit!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Sorry there is no pool or fitness centre but couldn't delete the rating which I pressed by...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pandora B, Owner at Chestnut Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Responded Jun 17, 2013
You were both an absolute pleasure to have staying here at Chestnut Lodge, and looking forward to you returning soon. Many thanks for your very kind words.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen C wrote a review Jun 2013
Woodford, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We can't recommend chestnut lodge highly enough we stayed weekend of 8.6.13
We stayed in the larger of the two rooms which was absolutely spotless the bathroom had
Everything you could have wanted even the most powerful shower you could imagine
Pandora made us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough to make our stay very enjoyable
And where do you start with the breakfast,cereal locally sourced fresh fruit,local honey
Full English breakfast or smoked salmon with scrambled eggs,non stop toast variety
Of breads and all the preserves to go with it all served in the conservatory.ideal place to
Stay if visiting Rye and the surrounding beautiful countryside of East Sussex with off road
Parking
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pandora B, Owner at Chestnut Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Responded Jun 17, 2013
You were lovely guests to have staying here, and look forward to seeing you again. Much appreciated all the lovely comments you made. Lets hope for a good summer, then you can come and enjoy the new guest patio with recliners!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela H wrote a review Jun 2013
Upminster, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely overnight stay at Chestnut Lodge, the room was extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated. The house was charming as was Pandora, who has worked hard to make sure that every attention to detail has been met. The setting was excellent and we would thoroughly recommend a stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pandora B, Owner at Chestnut Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Responded Jun 12, 2013
How lovely of you to write such a fantastic review, thank you so much. Really looking forward to seeing you both again. I hope the baby shower was great fun. Take care and all the best from all three of us at Chestnut Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Inga K wrote a review Mar 2015
Jena, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying in the Chestnut Lodge B&B with Pandora was the perfect way of ending our holiday in GB. Even though the weather was bad the warmth of Pandora and her two great dogs warmed our hearts. The B&B is tastefully furnished and decorated and the breakfast room is a real gem. Breakfast was perfect with everything you could ask for from fresh fruit to ceral and of course eggs, bacon and so on.
I would like to thank Pandora for a great stay and can only recommend the Chestnut Lodge to anyone who is looking for a lovely place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maureen D wrote a review Nov 2014
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hosted by the incredible Pandora this was a unique b&b experience and a memorable way to spend an anniversary. The Lodge is beautiful and words can't really do it justice. Nothing about it is mundane or everyday, from bedside tables ordered from Italy to the striking bathroom floor covering from Germany. And that's just the bedroom ! The whole house has something special that separates it from the usual b&b including the owner who is extremely helpful, interesting, thoughtful and funny. The two pooches are adorable and very well behaved. Lots of choice for breakfast which is served in a light and spacious room overlooking a terrace and part of the garden which november weather didn't allow us to explore. We would highly recommend chestnut lodge
for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The banksy offers two very comfortable singles. The,shower cubicle is huge.,,didn't see the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom G wrote a review Nov 2014
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Chestnut Lodge is one of the nicest and friendliest B and B's we have stayed in and everything was perfect from start to finish. Pandora is a great host and nothing was too much trouble for her - from recommending and booking a table at a local pub for dinner to dishing up a perfect breakfast the following day. The location is also brilliant for a weekend away - close enough to Rye/ Hastings etc but also away from the crowds in a very peaceful spot. Would definitely recommend a stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kicks8586 wrote a review Oct 2014
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I don't normally write reviews but the fabulous Pandora, her beautiful B&B and the gorgeous pooches were too lovely not to! Booked last min Pandora couldn't have been more helpful, welcoming and accommodating...from the breakfast food and times, suggestions of outings and places to eat, to her great chat. The photos don't do the house justice its beautiful and in a lovely quiet area but in close distance to loads of attractions. The rooms and bathrooms are spotless and comfy with lots of quality little touches. In short definitely book Chestnut Lodge is too lovely not to!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LondonPainter wrote a review Oct 2014
London
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the most pleasant stay at Chestnut Lodge B&B. We had booked very last minute and when we arrived soon after, Pandora was there to welcome us and show us round.
Chestnut Lodge is very comfortable, with everything you could need in the room. The B&B is well situated for many fabulous visits and is a short drive from Rye. In the room there is a bulging file of leaflets and information of local gardens, walks, National Trust properties etc that Pandora has collected. There is no shortage of things to visit in the area.
On the first evening Pandora recommended a local restaurant, phoned ahead and booked a table for us. Nothing was too much trouble.

With so many things still to visit in the area we hope to return to Chestnut Lodge in the near future. Thank you Pandora,
A & M
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Pandora B
Beckley, United Kingdom
I am no longer doing B&B from May 2015 onwards. You can get to London but it takes 2-3 hours by car traffic dependant. Best to drive to Ashford Station, 40 minutes from here, and catch the fast train which is only 37 minutes to Kings X St Pancras
Answer from Pandora B
Beckley, United Kingdom
Sorry we are fully booked for that week
Maureen D wrote a tip Nov 2014
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The banksy offers two very comfortable singles. The,shower cubicle is huge.,,didn't see the other room"
Read full review
Wojies wrote a tip Dec 2013
Pimlico, United Kingdom25 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are great- be sure to bring rubber boots if you want to go for a country walk!"
Read full review
Lesley D wrote a tip Nov 2013
London, United Kingdom20 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Both rooms are very pretty, so depending on the size of bed you want, King in Banksy and standard in the other room, it is entirely up to you."
Read full review
SaabConvert wrote a tip Aug 2013
Margate, United Kingdom11 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The room at the front had a larger hand basin, if thats what you require !"
Read full review
Lucelle406 wrote a tip Jun 2013
Woodford Green, United Kingdom26 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sorry there is no pool or fitness centre but couldn't delete the rating which I pressed by mistake!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Beckley area.
PRICE RANGE
C$434 - C$529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexBeckley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Chestnut Lodge Bed & Breakfast - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Chestnut Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Chestnut Lodge Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Bodiam Castle (4.3 km), The CM Booth Collection (7.0 km), and Great Dixter House & Gardens (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chestnut Lodge Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Chestnut Lodge Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Chestnut Lodge Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chestnut Lodge Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bull Inn, The Woodcock Inn, and Nibbles.
Are there any historical sites close to Chestnut Lodge Bed & Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Great Dixter House & Gardens (1.0 km), Bodiam Railway Station (4.4 km), and Grave of Sir Goddared Oxenbridge (6.4 km).
Things to DoFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars