We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Casa Barry Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Casa Barry Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 141: English reviews
Start your review of Casa Barry Lodge
 Click to rate
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been coming to Tofo for a while and stayed in at least 6 different places, Casa Barry is by far the worst. It's a shabby place of rundown cabanas, which had open windows to the dunes trough which tons of sand enter on your room while you're sleeping - nice sand showers not advertised in the add -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Graeme W, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Barry Lodge, responded to this review

Casa barry would like to apologize for your unpleasant experience. We would like to assure you we are doing everything we can to rectify these issues. After the cyclone that hit us a month ago and partially destroyed the lodge we are busy rebuilding and want to assure you we are taking note of your comments and attending to them.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amasing place and beautyfull cabins. Warm water for surf'n dive. Humphback wales, walesharks, turtles and friendly people. Beach goes on and on forever. Small cozy willage and kind friendly staff. Been there several times and back again soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivar T
Graeme W, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Barry Lodge, responded to this review

Casa Barry beach lodge would like to thank you for this review. You have experienced our small peace of paradise and enjoyed it. You are always welcome to join us again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very simple accommodation, but with everything you need and very clean. No air con and very exposed to outside noises - if there are noisy gustes... Perfect location. Walking distance to the beach. Restaurant with a diversity of dishes for every taste. All in all very good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pepe T
Graeme W, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Barry Lodge, responded to this review

Casa Barry and its staff would like to thank you for your lovely review and support. we hope you will join us again in the future to experience our little piece of paradise. Kind Regards

Tor
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We planned to spend a few nights at Casa Barry having met Graham and Malcolm, the owners, and being 'persuaded' to join them in their slice of paradise. We ended up having to drag ourselves away after 9 days! The location os perfect - the quiet end of the bay is right on your door step yet restaurants, dive centres,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lottie R
Graeme W, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Barry Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for spending your holiday with us. it was great to have met you both and hope your travels on from us are going well. P.S. hope you see you on a Narrow boat sometime in the future.

Marloth Park, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stephanom describes the degeneration of this once prime spot to a T. I can go on to include that upon our return I was phoned by management to query the missing towels! What a laugh, towels were not even provided! The units are devoid of furniture (which is a shame as the rate charged could well afford to support some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bushwackerlou
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Truthfully the 3 star rating I have given this establishment is an average between some aspects which deserve a full 5 stars and others that go all the way down to 1 star. Teh location is superb !! we could not have asked for a better spot in Tofo. From the moment we arrived we encountered friendly and helpful staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stefanomH8345CJ
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

I didn't stay at Casa Barry but went a few few times over my stay to eat/drink. The bar has a fantastic vibe & the place plays fantastic music & has great ambience and beach view. The service from the waiters, in particular Manuel was excellent. They were organised & on generator & took a couple of seconds to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
Graeme W, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Barry Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your patronage. We really appreciate you support and your review, regarding beer prices we needed to increase the prices slightly as we offer all the extras i.e. generator backup Free WIFI and well trained staff. We hope you will be back in Tofo soon. Kind Regards

Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

If you don't have another restaurant choice than eat there but unfortunately this was the only place we didn't enjoy our food. The location is good. The staff is friendly. Service is African style waiting long time .... location is just great by the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arzu u
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We actually ate here 3 times, plus once more with drinks and dessert. Much of this was proximity to our hotel, but we did really like it. The Matapa was great but beware of bathroom aftermath. The calamari was awesome. The Langostino was AMAZING. Reasonably priced as coming from the US, but one of the more expensive places we ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenna R
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2016

A great location on the beach with a huge deck overlooking all the action. Appears to be 'party central', often loud music blasting out. Wifi excellent and a TV to watch sport on. Burgers are really good as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drew M

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofo
17.4 km away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#8 of 16 in Inhambane Province
58 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 11 in Tofo
209 reviews
8.4 km away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 19 in Inhambane
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 14 in Tofo
179 reviews
0.0 km away
Baia Sonambula Guest House
0.4 km away
Hotel Tofo Mar
Hotel Tofo Mar
#5 of 11 in Tofo
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Casa Barry Lodge

Address: Tofo Beach, Tofo, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Tofo
Price Range: $169 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Barry Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Barry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Barry Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Casa Barry Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view cottage are the best”
756pepet, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Unless the management changes, don't bother.”
bushwackerlou, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Chalets 1-4 best setting although darker inside. We stayed in Cabana B which was great. A, B and C have the best views”
robertsX41ZS, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Best for sea view I will suggest charlet 1 , 2 ,3 ,4”
dianamX9927ZF, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“There is no wifi in the rooms, only at the restaurant. Stay in a room close to the restaurant and maybe you'll get in-room wifi”
masindis, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5