We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa na Praia Tofo

Traveller (199)
Room & Suite (65)
Pool & Beach (11)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
If you dream of a beach house, you’ve found it! Casa na Praia offers beautiful rooms with A/C and free wifi.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
289Reviews
217Photos
6Q+A
44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 157
  • 88
  • 24
  • 14
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Friend and I spent 3 nights at Casa na Praia Tofo and were very happy we did! Our room was exactly as advertised, clean and directly on the beach. I loved the set up of the room and the way it was decorated. The staff were kind and attentive.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from HotelCasaNaPraiaTofo, Front Office Manager at Casa na Praia Tofo
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Escape Thank you in the name of all the staff at Casa na Praia for take the time to write these kind words. You made us at least as happy as you say that you were.
Read more
We booked and paid a 50% deposit for two nights. On arrival we were very disappointed to find that the photographs are essentially and very false reflection on this place. It is dirty and old. There was a cockroach on the floor and the bathroom was filthy. Worst of all the host
Read more
Response from HotelCasaNaPraiaTofo, Front Office Manager at Casa na Praia Tofo
Responded 6 days ago
Dear StJeffery We are always grateful to receive reviews, the good cheer us up and animate us to continue and the bad help us to improve what is needed. But sometimes we receive reviews that we think that are very unfair and that only are guided by the intention to retaliate against us for some disagreement that we had. That appears to be the case here, especially considering that you spent less than an hour with us. Yes, you found one cockroach in the room. But really do you think that is a good reason for give us a 1 star rating? In a rural place in Africa? We think that the main reason for that rating is your last sentence, were you say that the “host is rude”. The host, Laura, is a very nice person and generally very friendly (you can see that in previous reviews) but, yes, she tends to become a little upset when someone tries to avoid paying the agreed price. After booking in advance for two nights you arrived there asking to stay only for one night, even before seeing the room. You were informed that according our policy, that you agreed when booking, the full payment had to be made. And that was the origin of the disagreement and also the reason for the “rudeness” of the host. After that you entered the room and began to complain about it: that the room was not like the photos at the platform website, that was not clean, and finally you found one half-dead cockroach that gave to you the final excuse to leave. You were offered another room, with a discount, and you even didn’t wanted to see it and left menacing with a bad review. In brief, we think that that review is unfair because you left out the main reason of your displease that was a discussion over the price. Is unfair because you say that the photos are a “very false reflection on this place” when you arrived at night and don’t have had the time nor interest to see it. Is unfair when you say that is “old and dirty”. Is true that the main building named “Casa Azul” dates from the colonial time. That is one of its charms. Perhaps is not what you expected or what you are used to, but is well maintained and not dirty. And we think that is not fair to give a very bad rating and discredit one place that you don’t have had time to see nor to know. Hope that you can find that perfect place that can suit you but until that perhaps you should be a little more flexible and enjoy what you have. Best regards
Read more
We stayed at Casa na Praia, and the location is amazing! Right on the beach, with great views and easy access.Compared to the other place we stayed the night before... the service was unfriendly and not helpful. The room was clean, but probably a bit overpriced, and the
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from HotelCasaNaPraiaTofo, Front Office Manager at Casa na Praia Tofo
Responded Dec. 28, 2018
Thanks for take the time to write your review and let us know your impressions. We are sorry for the power outage. Unfortunately these are too much frequent and when it happens in the middle of the night it's little that we can do to alleviate it. We always start the generator as soon as we have notice of the problem. It’s always helpful to know the opinion of our guests, but is somewhat frustrating when we receive bad comments from pseudonymous reviews and we can’t know exactly who is complaining, when exactly the reviewer was here or exactly what arrived. It’s difficult to improve things when we don’t know what to improve. It’s especially disappointing when we receive generic complaints like that the service was unfriendly and not helpful, without explaining what kind of help was required or if it was required at all. Perhaps you had a misunderstanding, but we are very proud of our staff and we know that they always try to answer the best that they can the guests requests. About the price, because of the location we can ask for more but we are in the average of the prices in Tofo.
Read more
We loved the decor, the exceptional location, and the overall feel or “vibe” of the resort. The staff tried hard to please and were friendly. The beds were comfortable and we enjoyed be numerous loungers outside our room as well as outside the restaurant area. The beach is truly
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
I've spent 2 days deliberating on the best way to write this review, so I've decided to split it into 3 areas. The good, the TIA (this is Africa), and the ugly. There are so many things about this place that should make it amazing, but unfortunately there were more things about
Read more
Response from HotelCasaNaPraiaTofo, Owner at Casa na Praia Tofo
Responded Nov. 15, 2018
Dear Elaine Thanks for taking the time to write a very detailed review, even if we can’t be too happy with it. I want to begin with the ugly, as you say. As you know the building on the site of the Guest House doesn’t belong to us. We are not the ones who can decide the days of working, and we are not informed about it too. The works should have been finished a year ago, but after nearly a year of pause the owners decided to have the house ready before end of current month, and started working again, exactly just two days before your arrival. They are now finishing the outdoor wood deck, so hopefully the house is going to be finished soon. Then the only remaining thing for us has been to ask our guests for tolerance, and we did our best to diminish the inconvenience, as you realized. For the ugly problem that was the electrical short circuit, it has been a serious but totally unpredictable accident. The electrical power it’s a big problem in Mozambique, there are systematic surcharges, blackouts and oscillations. Our electrical installation inside walls and floors has been made new 6 years ago, with modern concepts, and as the incident has showed off, it was one wire that had been degraded, probably for the previous detailed reasons about local power, or for the characteristic of that specific wire, as a similar incident never happened until that moment. We promptly repaired it and controlled any other wire of the house, as you can testify. For that and other topics TIA, (This Is Africa..) we are moving forward, a little step each day, to overcome the heavy local challenges, and trying to have them finally to be TWA (That Was Africa),: it is quite a long process… For the good things that you have enjoyed you can be sure that we will retain and improve them. When I had chats with your parents they were recognizing similar challenges in your own country, South Africa, and your mother, empathizing with my feelings, was telling me that every paradise has got a snake... Many thanks for being able to recognize and report in your review the good things that you enjoyed, in spite of your bad experience. We hope that time passing you will remember more the later and forgive and forget the former. Best regards, Laura
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementCasa na Praia Tofo
Tree House
Photo provided by managementCasa na Praia Tofo
View
Photo provided by managementCasa na Praia Tofo
Room Beach
Photo provided by managementCasa na Praia Tofo
View Praia Room
PreviousNext
12345613
Sorry for the late answer - do not believe any stories - people treat you as you treat them. We never met rude people in Tofo. This Hotel is perfect for honeymoon. Just do not stay in the garden room - but all others, even the tree room are fine. It is still very much Africa and the tiny city center is packed with bars in the evening - follow Tripadvisor recommendations and do diving/snorkelling or any activities with Diversity Scuba in Tofo. Another recommendation: If you like you can continue your journey to Vilanculos (about 4 hours by car or any transfer, even taxi) and visit the amazing islands of Bazaruto. If you like you can stay in a private beach villa "Villa Cool" with a kingsize bed in the middle of the room on top floor - you will see the rising sun without getting up...just lift your head from the pillow, without any tourists around and Nelson, the local manager, your host and trustful contact will organise everything (shopping at the market, organising trips, cooking candle light dinner... More on the website of vilancool - we did it once this summer.
0 votes
Hi Aye T Our place is very quiet. You only will hear the sound of the waves and some crickets. We can send a taxi to pick you at Vilanculos for 200 US$ Best regards Carlos Bookings manager Casa na Praia
0 votes
Hi Paloma We can arrange a taxi to and from Vilanculos. The price is 10000 Meticais (170 US$) each way up to three persons. Best
0 votes
tem disponibilidade de 26 a 28 dezembro
PreviousNext
12
"not room 4!"
"Paying in advance provides a significant discount."
"Beach view rooms are best."
"Choose a sea view room on the beach."
"Away from current construction work"
PreviousNext
1234569
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MozambiqueInhambane ProvinceTofo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing