We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

853 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 814: English reviews
Start your review of Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
 Click to rate
West Sacramento, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great place to stay. Great snowy view of the lake and fireplace to keep us warm. Hotel was quiet. Can't wait to come back with the kids when it's warmer and enjoy days by the lake and a picnic. Food in restaurant not as good as we had hoped.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X8779IVmartab
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review

Dear Martab, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Summer is definitely a great time at the BRL, but definitely less quiet. I'm sorry that we did not meet the expectations with the food. I have shared your comments with our chefs. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon. Kind regards,...

Great Neck, New York
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Location 5*. This beach front lodge has spectacular views of the lake, and is close to Heavenly Village. A convenient Safeway is directly across the street. There is a long pier extending into the lake which was closed until May. The outdoor pool was closed. The outdoor hot tub was warm, and coin laundry was right next to the pool....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VNexpo
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review

Dear VinhNguyen, Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed and fair review. We are definitely a "no frills" resort. Our goal is to provide a clean, warm and friendly environment. I thought your assessment of our property was appropriate. We appreciate you and your business. Kind regards, Brandon

Carmichael, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Such a beautiful place to stay in South Lake Tahoe. It's on the lake with its own beach, two restaurants, several fire pits, pool and exercise facility. There are nearby grocery stores, convenience stores, restaurants, ski resorts, golf courses, casinos and great places to walk. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pamb426
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review

Dear Pamb426, Thank you for your fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear that our staff was extremely friendly and helpful to you. We appreciate you and your business. Best regards, Brandon

Surrey, England
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

A very satisfactory stay. Friendly staff who upgraded us to a lake view room and simple tidy rooms. Only downside was a very noisy fridge in our room. Close to restaurants and a short drive from the sites. A good budget option.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John81
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff. I'm terribly sorry about the noisy fridge. Please let us know in the future so we may replace the noisy fridge with a quiet one. We want all of our guests to rest peacefully. Kind regards, Brandon

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel had nice rooms, lovely view of the lake and mountains from ours. Warm and cosy and easy parking. Friendly helpful staff and a concierge with lots of tips for the area. Ate breakfast at the tavern, one of the hotels restaurants, was nice but bit pricey for breakfast. The pool was closed and laundromat not working, both things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawninGalway
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review

Dear DawninGalway, I am so sorry that we didn't have those two amenities available for you. The laundromat is now working and we usually open the pool mid April, depending on the weather. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff. We appreciate you and your business. Best, Brandon

San Jose, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

We absolutely love this place! We are always treated well and enjoy ourselves. Our dogs love it too :) We have stayed here several times. It is a beautiful location and right on the lake. The Christmas holiday season is really fun. I am thinking about giving it a try over the summer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie G
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review

Dear Leslie G., Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love our guests and our dogs! You should definitely give us a try over the summer. It's a whole different experience, busy, but fun. Best, Brandon

charlotte, nc
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this trip last minute to go skiing in early april. The price was great - a little over $100 for a queen/king or 2 double beds. I got 2 adjoining rooms. when we checked in, the guy behind the desk was very helpful with restaurant/bar recommendations/advice. when we got to the room, one fireplace did not work (pilot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank havanario
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review

Dear Havanario, Thank you for your excellent review and for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. I'm so happy to hear that we provided you with great service and we hope this means that we will see you again. Kind regards, Brandon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. It was right on the lake and super pet friendly because we brought our family dog with us. We got in early and asked for early check-in if available. Blanca was awesome and totally gave us a room early. We utilized the gas fire pit each night that we were there. Safeway was right across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review

Dear Michelle C, Thank you for writing such a lovely review about the BRL. We are indeed super dog friendly. I'm so glad to hear that Blanca gave you a warm welcome. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Best, Brandon

Stockton
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Building B which had a lake view - it was stunning. We were there in April and although we did not ski, it is located close to Heavenly and there is a shuttle to the ski resort. The property is exceptionally clean - absolutely litter free.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review

Dear John G., Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We will share your comments with the Housekeeping and Grounds team. We hop to see you again. Best, Brandon

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family traveled to Lake Tahoe in February. As we were driving from Los Angeles my husband realized that the hotel he booked was for the wrong weekend!! We were meeting another family in Tahoe so we had to find a place while on the road. Therefore I did not do any research into this hotel beforehand. Pros: We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kittykatla
Brandon R, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe, responded to this review

Dear KittyKatla, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take all feedback as an opportunity to improve. I am terribly sorry about the condition of your room and the lack of an appropriate recovery. Cleanliness is paramount and if we drop the ball, we need to do a better job in providing the right resolution. Sincerely,...

484 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (109)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (198)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Beachfront Double (28)
Viewed
Beachfront King (30)
Viewed
Garden View King (34)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
798 reviews
1.1 km away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
427 reviews
2.4 km away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,041 reviews
1.2 km away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
371 reviews
2.6 km away
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
#16 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Boathouse On The Pier
Boathouse On The Pier
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7919 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $139 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe staff and other travellers.
41 questions
Ask a question
Sacramento, California, United States
over a year ago
2 months ago
Belmont, California
over a year ago

See all questions (41)

Questions? Get answers from Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room by the lake”
leoniew298, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you are a technology user, and most people these days are, you may need a power strip for all of your charging needs, as the room outlets are few and some hard to access. Having night stand outlets or USB connections would be an excellent addition.”
329andyn, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in building A, B & C have views of the lake.”
PrafulGupta, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a lake view - may have to be on the 3rd floor, but there are elevators”
margaretw132, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request a beach front room if you want to face the Lake!”
107michellez, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5