Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Fire dancers at the Luau tonight 08/17/18
Traveller (815)
View of the beach and pier from our balcony.
Room & Suite (266)
Mt. Tallac view from the Boathouse
Dining (78)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#15 of 63 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Escape to a unique and unexpected oasis of tranquility amidst the energy of South Lake Tahoe. Nestled on the shores of Lake Tahoe just minutes away from Heavenly Mountain, the Beach Retreat & Lodge boasts its own pier and marina, delectable dining at our two onsite restaurants, meeting and wedding facilities, and a huge variety of activities for the entire family.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Skiing
Water sport equipment rentals
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Iron
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

3411 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 69 out of 100
69
Reno-Tahoe Intl Airport
63.9 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,057 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe boasts a prime beachfront spot that guests love for its proximity to attractions and scenic views. While the lodge's atmosphere is often described as vibrant with cozy rooms, opinions on value are mixed; some travelers feel overcharged due to additional fees. Room experiences vary, with praise for comfortable beds and views but criticism over cleanliness and size. The service receives accolades for being friendly, despite occasional slowness. Amenities, including beach bars and dining, are popular, although aging facilities and extra charges have been noted.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Uncomfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,057Reviews62Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,067
  • 473
  • 229
  • 137
  • 151
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Zac F wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel will always hold a special place in our family's heart, my wife and I got married here back in 2014. Every time we visit South Lake Tahoe, we try to stop in for a moment to view this pristine location.

On our most recent visit, we stayed at a room with a view of the lake that had walking distance directly onto the Beach! What can beat that? The beach space is well taken care of, instant access from our sliding glass door, and absolutely stunning views! I highly recommend checking out the sunsets and sunrises from this location.

The Beach Retreat and Lodge is centrally located. Not far from the activities of Stateline, NV and also just a short drive from a number of hiking locations. There is a grocery store across the street and a number of quality restaurants in the area if you are looking for food (don't forget to checkout the Boathouse on the Pier if you are looking for a scenic view during your meal!).

The staff has always treated us kindly whenever we visit. I'd specifically like to acknowledge Nathan at the front desk for his help during our stay. He straightened out a small mix up for us and went above and beyond to resolve another issue that popped up when we had delivery food brought in from another restaurant (not the Beach Retreat). Thanks for helping us out, Nathan!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Room Tip: Try the 1st floor beach access rooms for a top notch stay!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathan Beaudoin, Guest Services / Front Office at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Responded Sep 3, 2020
Dear 422zacf, Thank you for your wonderful review of the Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe on TripAdvisor! I'm thrilled to hear that we were able to welcome you back to our property and that I was able to assist you in making your stay exceptional. Our entire team is dedicated to providing the highest level of service for our valued guests, and we are always happy to hear that we have exceeded expectations. I'm also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our Boathouse on the Pier restaurant. As you mentioned, we are conveniently located just a short drive away from the Stateline, NV casinos, as well as from many hiking trails, and our location on Highway 50 provides easy access to driving routes that go around the entirety of Lake Tahoe. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
korndogg wrote a review Aug 2020
Long Beach, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Beach Retreat for 4 nights and 5 days so we got a good taste of the property. Please keep in mind that this was during Covid so many things were probably not how the hotel normally operates. The rooms were a bit smaller for our taste, but we did get the most affordable option so there's that. We stayed on the 3rd floor (D building) which happens to be the top floor and it was surprisingly quiet. The bed was comfortable so no complaints there and the room was clean when we arrived. The towel situation was a bit of mess as our room did not have any large bath towels. Apparently, you have to go to the front desk because the maid crew was not allowed in your room until you have checked out. Again, a Covid safety procedure.

The only other thing I noticed was that it appeared as if the elevators were not wiped down regularly especially by the buttons which made me questioned what else was not properly cleaned down. (ie door handles, public areas..etc..)

The good part of the hotel was that it was conveniently located to a lot of restaurants and not nestled in the busy part of town which was only about 1.5 miles away. They also have their own beach front which is public, but you have access to a lot of activities such as boating, waverunners, paddleboarding, canoeing, and parasailing. We chose the parasailing and waverunners and were not disappointed. The pricing seemed fair and the people were great!

Overall, for what we paid for it was fine for our needs. This is not a 5 star hotel but had all of what we needed and expected for its price point. It is a busy hotel with a lot of families and kids so it's not going to be a romantic getaway for a newlywed. People were friendly and it was a safe place to stay as well. I would recommend it for anyone who likes a affordable place that is close to everything and has a beachfront with amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathan Beaudoin, Guest Services / Front Office at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Responded Sep 3, 2020
jameskO9373KC, Thank you for your review of the Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe on TripAdvisor! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your weeklong stay with us and that you were able to utilize the water rental company on our pier, Action Watersports. We also hope that while you were with us you were able to enjoy one of our dining experiences with the Boathouse on the Pier, Tiki Hut Beach Club, or Sidelines Pub, all of which are currently offering outdoor dining and to-go options while we await the return of indoor dining. As you mentioned, we are conveniently located in South Lake Tahoe, near the Stateline, NV casinos, Heavenly Village, as well as the Y and Emerald Bay. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
The_travel_wifey wrote a review Jul 2020
Riverbank, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
So after reading many negative reviews, my husband and I decided to book with open minds and flexibility, seeing as we are in the middle of a pandemic. We chose Beach Retreat and Lodge because we wanted a beach front room and be able to walk out onto the beach from our room.

Everything that the hotel could control was great, they definitely took care of us the best they could! No problems checking in around 4 pm on Saturday. The front desk employees were extremely nice and welcoming. The people complaining in another review about them not wearing masks failed to mention that there is plexiglass between them and us. I felt very safe and had no issues with the “way” employees wore their masks.

Their on site grill was surprisingly very good! We ordered food and drinks from there 4 times. Very good food and drinks! Also extremely nice employees!

The room was a little small, but with just two of us it was fine. It was quaint and felt very clean. They are not doing daily turndown service which was totally fine. We just had to get towels and toiletries from the front desks which we had no problem doing.

The only issue we had was that we couldn’t connect to the WiFi from our room in building C. Fortunately I had brought my laptop and my husband was able to use it as a WiFi extender for us.

While everything was great with the hotel side, all of the negatives come from the public beach, which is something the hotel CAN NOT control. So keep in mind that this public beach is definitely a party beach. Lots of people drinking and smoking pot on the beach near the rooms. Our patio chairs were taken a few times from people not staying at the resort. We were there for a relaxing anniversary getaway, however the beach goers made it a little hard to relax. Many had loud speakers and blasted whatever cuss word filled music they wanted. Saturday and Sunday were the worst “party days” and it gradually got less crowded on Monday and Tuesday.

While the hotel itself is great, I wouldn’t stay here for a romantic getaway. Maybe more of a girls or guys weekend getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathan Beaudoin, Guest Services / Front Office at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Responded Jul 19, 2020
Dear AmandaHogan711, Thank you for your review of the Beach Retreat & Lodge on TripAdvisor. I'm thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy your weekend with us. Our highly motivated team is working diligently to provide exceptional service to our guests during this pandemic, including cleaning our public areas regularly throughout the day, creating an extensive housekeeping program to clean rooms more effectively with approved sanitizers, hand sanitizing stations throughout our lobby, and providing additional barriers where possible to limit direct contact between our team members who interact with guests and are unable to distance themselves by the recommended 6ft on a regular basis. I'm also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our Sidelines Pub. Our Food and Beverage team has continued to dedicate themselves to providing quick, professional service to our guests. I apologize to the difficulty you experienced with our internet service during your stay. As we have access points in all of our buildings, we have contacted our provider to investigate the circumstances that prevented you from connecting while on our property. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience at the Beach Retreat and Lodge, and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luiza S wrote a review Jun 2020
Oakland, California
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I left our one night booking before spending the night because we did not feel comfortable sleeping there after continuing to notice so much of the room not being cleaned. The floor was not vacuumed, the handles to the bathroom had not been cleaned, and every surface we wiped with the Lysol wipes we brought from home wiped away dirt including the night stands, lamps, ac unit buttons. There were handprints on the fireplace window. These are all surfaces that should be cleaned between guests. It was stupid of me to continue to wipe things down when things were so clearly dirty. I regret that we didn’t come to reception to discuss our concerns but as we only have one night in Tahoe we wanted to leave to our new hotel after we secured the booking. I took some pictures of the floor that wasn’t vacuumed, stained furniture and pillows (that could be easily removed) and the wipes that came away dirty. I regret I did not take pictures of the surfaces before I wiped everything.

There is a basic level of hygiene that we were not provided and is essential during the times of a pandemic. I also urge you to improve your level of cleaning/disinfecting for the safety of guests.

I tried emailing my concerns/calling to also request a refund and got no response via email and impossible to get anyone on the phone at the front desk.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from staciamiele, Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Responded Jul 1, 2020
I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the cleanliness of the guest rooms. Your comments will help us to correct these issues with our housekeeping team. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in Tahoe.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Miduza wrote a review Aug 2020
Los Angeles, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first trip to Lake Tahoe and based on location and positive reviews, I booked 2 nights at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe. In reality this place should be called Marijuana Retreat and Run down Motel at Tahoe. The first room they gave us was a double queen room, which smelled like stale cigarettes mixed with sewage, to make things worse the bathroom door which was a pocket door did not work and couldn't be closed. We got another room after multiple complaints, this was their "Honeymoon Suite", although it was a much better room with no stench, this too was pretty outdated and dirty. Definitely not worth their nightly fee, not even close. I guess we were the only guests there that were aware of the current pandemic we're in. 90% of all the people there had no masks on and social distancing was none existent. What they did have happening there, was weed! People were smoking weed everywhere on the beach, by the pool, on their grassy areas, on their room balconies etc. I'm not gonna judge anyone's parenting skills but when your holding a toddler in one hand and a joint in the other one in front of other little kids, I think that's a problem. I guess the resort beach is a public beach during the day, the beach was packed with high/drunk people acting stupid, kinda scary actually when you're there with 2 kids and your wife. Had there been any other hotels with availability for the nights we were there I would've booked somewhere else. We tried to spend as little time on the property as was possible, mainly just slept there. Only positive thing about this place was an employee named Bryan, the guy was super apologetic and tried to go above and beyond. Don't do it, stay somewhere else or you'll regret it big time!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathan Beaudoin, Guest Services / Front Office at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Responded Sep 3, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear that your overall experience was spoiled by the public access to Connolley Beach, which is open June 1st through September 30th. The hotel is working diligently with the city of South Lake Tahoe to improve the experience of Connolley Beach for our guests as well as the members of the public who utilize the space. I would also like to apologize for the experience you had with your first room. Our team is cleaning rooms to CDC recommended standards, and your experience is not the service we intend to provide our valued guests. Your comments have been shared with our management team and we will use your feedback to improve our operations. We hope we are given the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LSDTurns wrote a review Aug 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First the good. The location is great and the employees are working really hard. The rooms are a decent size and the pier is very close. Boat rentals from the pier were great. Unfortunately, the facility is showing it's age. Management needs to put more effort into maintaining what could be a very nice property. Instead, the buildings are in desperate need of some deep cleaning and maintenance. The workers are understaffed and therefore overworked.
But, the worst thing is the beach. In the morning you wake up and the beach looks great. But, by the afternoon the beach is filled with drunken stoned people who don't pick up after themselves and feel it's ok to hang out on the patio right outside a paying customers room! They leave their empty beer cans, roaches, and cigarette butts. We watched one young woman vomit into the sand and then continue to chug wine out of a bottle. I realize it's a public beach but the party atmosphere at this beach could be controlled better if the Beach Retreat & Lodge made a few changes. For example, don't allow public parking in the parking lot. Don't overserve from the tiki bar on the beach. Have someone patrolling the beach and call local authorities as needed. For example, drunk in public, or for the dogs off-leash running rampant. The lodge could create more of a barrier between the Lodge and the public areas. The rooms at the lodge aren't cheap but anybody can just roll on through. We had a beachfront room that we thought would be great but instead, we found ourselves leaving because we wanted to get away from the druken show in front of us. Just sitting on our patio we were asked if we wanted to buy drugs. I suppose if you're 22 years old and like to party this is a great place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathan Beaudoin, Guest Services / Front Office at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Responded Aug 20, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the rental facility on our pier. Our team works very hard to provide an exceptional experience for our guests, and I sincerely apologize that we did not meet our own standard during your recent stay. As the beach is open to the public, we are unable to directly enforce public behaviors past our property, however, the hotel is working directly with the city of South Lake Tahoe to more strictly enforce city and state regulations on the public beach in front of the resort. Your comments have been reviewed by management and will be used to continue improving our operations.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JSWriter wrote a review Jul 2020
Glendale, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If you want to pay for a guaranteed room and be told there is no room when when you go to check in, then 'stay' here.

I booked a room for 6/13 on 6/10 and my American Express card was charged for the room immediately upon booking. When I went to check in at 2:45, I was told that my room was paid for and it was ready so I'm 'all set' but their policy is not to allow anyone to check in before 4. I returned at 4:15 and there was a long line, through the bar, onto the back patio. I left again and returned at 6:30. This time there were about 10 to 15 parties in line.

After an hour, the line had only advanced by 2 groups. An announcement was made that there were no more rooms available but we had to stand in line to get refunds. The hotel staff would not help us to get alternative accommodations but would give us a voucher for a free night. My companion commented that they would not give us a room when it's prepaid, why would they give us a free room?

It was dusk and darkness was approaching. There were all kinds of safety issues as Lake Tahoe is at 6,500 feet, many of the more reputable hospitality brands in the area had not reopened and it was a 2-hour drive to the nearest metropolitan area where we could get a room. I called Amex to ask them to get a refund and we left.
Amex issued a credit after two days and informed me that the merchant gave me a refund after about ten days. The management did not respond to the first review I wrote on this forum.

I like to travel and have stayed in many varied types of hotels all over the world. I have never been told that my room is paid for and ready but I cannot be checked in because it was not check-in time yet. After all, aren't hotels in the hospitality business? I cannot believe that in this day and age, the hotel did not have accounting software that told the staff that they were selling rooms they did not have. And once a room is paid for, it's guaranteed.

I am writing this review because I use Trip Advisor to help me to plan trips all over the world and do not want my fellow travelers to have a similar bad experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camper592966 wrote a review Jan 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First, let me start by saying the night employee Karson is absolutely great. He was so kind and anytime a problem arose he fixed it himself quickly. For example, we bought a package that included wine and strawberries and we did not receive them. When I asked him about it he had them placed in our room the next morning and checked in later to make sure they were there. We also had some blood stains on our pillows we didn't know were there until we started to go to bed around 1 AM and he immediately answered my call and brought new ones to our room.

Unfortunately there were several other disappointing things during our stay. The carpets are obviously not cleaned after each person. There were crackers on the floor of our room as soon as we walked in and tons of garbage under our beds. The bathroom shower had mold and the hair of the last guests all over it. I was also a little disappointed in some of the other employees. We arrived back at the hotel one night, about 10:30-11 pm and wanted to see if the hotel bar was still open. The lights were on, the door was open, and there was an employee behind the bar. When we walked in to ask if it was opening, instead of telling us it was closed she just immediately turned off the lights when she saw us and didn't say anything. I found it a little rude. Upon check in the day time concierge were friendly but seemed to be newly hired or untrained. I was not given a parking pass and did not know we needed one until two days into our stay when I saw someone get handed one.

There are a few good things about this hotel. The location is great and the views of the lake are very nice. I believe staying here in summer would be much more enjoyable when the beach, other restaurant, and tiki bar can be used. The hot tub was nice as well. I did hear the some of the rooms were more updated, especially those on the first floor and it looked like the rooms in the buildings closest to the beach were being redone when I was there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AlisonSperry, General Manager at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Responded Jan 17, 2020
Dear Camper592966, First, thank you for your feedback regarding your time here. I am glad that Karson was able to assist you with your needs throughout your stay. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced here, which is not typically of our hotel nor our staff to be unkind. Above all else, we are always recognized for our staff going above and beyond for guests. I am glad that you did find some things nice about the hotel, and you are right, the lake and proximity to the beach are great! Our Boathouse opens back up on weekends and the Tiki bar is open May-October (weather depending) I do want to point out that we are undergoing a remodel of all 261 guest rooms because they are dated. Please email me at your convenience asperry@tahoebeachretreat.com and I would be more than happy to make a future stay which I am positive you will enjoy.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SmartTraveler1 wrote a review Aug 2020
USA
2.0 of 5 bubbles
When we checked in, there were multiple things wrong with the room. There were no towels, the fireplace didn't work, the chain lock was broken and hanging off of the door, and only one bed had a comforter on it (the other was made with only a sheet). I found housekeeping and they gave us some towels. I called the front desk and maintenance came to look at the lock, which they replaced. He also taught us that you can remove the front of the thermostat and jiggle a wire to get the fireplace to turn on. I called the front desk again to request another comforter for the bed. They never came, but we realized that one of the beds had 2 comforters on it, so we just tore it off and tossed it on the other bed. The room didn't seem very clean, where were particles of things around the edges of the room. Housekeeping came to our door around 9am on 2 days and then left after knocking a couple of times. I can't figure out what the reasoning was for that. I answered after the 2nd knock the 2nd time this happened (we were still in bed) and the housekeeper was walking away, she apologized. After tax, this cost me $300+ a night. I didn't expect a 5 star resort, but overall this was unacceptable.

Also, please note that this beach is very busy. My son and I called it "party beach". If you are concerned about social distancing, this is not the place for you. People were also packed at the swimming pool and public areas around the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathan Beaudoin, Guest Services / Front Office at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Responded Sep 3, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe on TripAdvisor. Our team works very hard to provide an exceptional experience for our guests, and I sincerely apologize that we did not meet our own standard during your recent stay. The hotel did experience a towel shortage due to delays in shipping, and I'm sorry to hear that this negatively impacted your stay. At this time, the order the hotel was waiting for has arrived and this situation has been addressed. I would also like to apologize for the experience you had on Connolley Beach, a public access beach open June 1 - September 30. The hotel is working with the City of South Lake Tahoe to provide a more enjoyable experience for both our guests and the members of the public who utilize the beach in front of our property. Your comments have been reviewed by management and will be used to continue improving our operations.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul Kealey wrote a review Sep 2020
Danville, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
WE drove up from the Bay area to drop off some things for our daughter, but decided the day before that we wanted to stay in a beach side resort or hotel. The Beach Retreat & Lodge has rooms that are literally on the sand and we grabbed one the evening before arrival. Excellent location! Enjoyed the evening beach bar Rum Runners, excellent salads and a beautiful sunset. Some unexpected visitors stopped by later (ducks), or were just passing through. In the morning we enjoyed cappuccino's (from a local coffee shop across the street) sitting outside our room. relaxing with very calm water, the quiet of the early morning and a flock of geese swimming by close to shore. Did not want to leave but we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathan Beaudoin, Guest Services / Front Office at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Responded Sep 6, 2020
Dear pakealey, Thank you for your fantastic review of the Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe on TripAdvisor! We're thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy your relaxing stay with us and that you were able to visit our Tiki Hut Beach club for food and drinks. As you mentioned, we are located directly in front of Connolley Beach on the southern shore of Lake Tahoe, providing our guests with easy access to the beach, and stunning views of Lake Tahoe and the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vandana J asked a question Jan 2022
Is this resort is pet friendly
Answer from Andrea Toomay
Lake Ozark, Missouri13 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes!
Anet P asked a question May 2021
San Francisco, California111 contributions41 helpful votes
How far is it to the boat rental place
Anet P asked a question May 2021
San Francisco, California111 contributions41 helpful votes
How far is it to rent a boat . I can’t remember the name but it was 15 minutes to walk from stateline
Brieanna T asked a question May 2021
Clementon, New Jersey7 contributions8 helpful votes
Is parking free?
Answer from Rachel T
Hyannis, Massachusetts5 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi, One parking space per room is included with the resort fee. Please let us know if we can assist you further and hope to see you soon!
Answer from Nathan Beaudoin
South Lake Tahoe, California
The pool is currently closed for the winter season. Our hot tub has been closed since the beginning of the year for social distancing.
Lorraine C wrote a tip Jul 5
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not come here!"
Read full review
Timber L wrote a tip Jun 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"See sunset on the beach. Try both restaurants. Tiki bar right on the beach and open late! Refreshing pool. "
Read full review
nvmar333 wrote a tip Mar 2024
San Francisco, California75 contributions45 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hallways on 2nd and 3rd floors are narrow if you have stroller/ wheelchair. Regular rooms also look not spacious for people w/ disab."
Read full review
Jill F wrote a tip Feb 2024
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Drive…we were on a bus."
Read full review
jigripokri wrote a tip Jan 2024
San Francisco, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t book this hotel. They will refuse to believe you even if you have evidence."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the South Lake Tahoe area.
PRICE RANGE
C$324 - C$493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western plus timber cove hotel south lake tahoe, best western lake tahoe, lake tahoe best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Timber Cove Lodge
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLake Tahoe (California)South Lake Tahoe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
261
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including any mandatory fees. Taxes not included. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Which popular attractions are close to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe?
Nearby attractions include Trapped in Tahoe, Inc (0.4 km), The Idle Hour (0.2 km), and Tahoe Bowl (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe?
Conveniently located restaurants include Macduff's Pub, Boathouse On The Pier, and Heidi's Pancake House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All South Lake Tahoe HotelsSouth Lake Tahoe Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in South Lake TahoeHotels near Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars