We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Trailhead

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Trailhead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 40: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2016

First off, the staff makes this place stand out above the rest as they are friendly, down to earth & fun to chat with. the rooms are comfortable & make you feel at home. the location is prime & you have everything you need just a few blocks away at most including casinos if you'd like. the rooms are off... More 

Helpful?
Thank JYOUBEI (
Brian A, Front Office Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and sharing your feedback with others. Hope to see you again soon! More 

1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

As far as motels go this one nailed it, reasonable, clean and the staff went above and beyond bringing us candles when a storm intermittently knocked the power out. They made our doggies feel very welcome as well!!!

Helpful?
Thank Jeanine O
Brian A, Front Office Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We enjoyed hosting you! We appreciate you bearing with us during the big storm that knocked out the power throughout the weekend. At the Trailhead we strive to be pet friendly and encourage people to bring their furry family members. Looking forward to your next stay! Hope to see you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Just stayed one night at a ridiculous rate but it was a Friday night in August in Lake Tahoe so I expected rates to be double. I did not expect the room with an uneven floor. The bathroom door did not stay closed because that entire side of the room slopped, furniture and all. The bathroom was the size of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erin E
Brian A, Guest Relations Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not like the accommodations, but to be fair, we do not advertise a pool - only our Jacuzzi. The pool has been non-operational for over 10 years. We are also very competitive with our rates, actually slightly cheaper than most hotels in South Lake Tahoe, especially with the amenities of having a mini-fridge and microwave... More 

Travellers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here the weekend before July 4th, we were attending a concert at Harvey's outdoor amphitheater. The motel was great. We had a Jacuzzi tub in our room and loved it! The motel is perfect walking distance to food and all the casinos. We definitely will stay here again next time we are in the area. Everything was clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brandi M
Brian A, Front Office Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to post your review. July is always the busiest time of the year for us, glad you could stay with us during the excitement! Hope to see you again! More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We had a king room: it was a quaint, comfortable room, large enough for all of our ski and board gear too. After a day on the slopes, it was great to get back to the room and relax. It's very centrally located to walk to everything. Our room was clean. It could use some updates, but to us it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christina L
Brian A, Front Office Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and for staying with us! We are trying to modernize the hotel as well as keep the Tahoe cabin vibe. We look forward to hosting you again, fingers crossed for another good Tahoe snow year! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the cute room photos, this place is not good. The carpet in the rooms is filthy (made grosser by the fact that they are pet-friendly), I was burned by the broken shower, and the light didn't work in our room. When I let the "management" know about these issues on our way out and gave them... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey W
Brian A, Guest Relations Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

We are sorry for your bad experience. We are aware of the weekend in question and have since changed management. Unfortunately, we cannot police every situation, but I can assure you this is not the norm, as far as our clientele. In the future, if you could let us know about issues - i.e. the lights and broken shower -... More 

toronto
Level Contributor
86 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Stayed 1 night - Queen room. Cleanish - clean linens but Interiors and fixtures were very worn and in need of updating and paint. We had a leaky tap but the water was really cold. It can get loud and the walls are thin. Garbage cans outside fill up quickly and get knocked over - assistance of the two-legged kind... More 

Helpful?
Thank 905
Union City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Central located. Walking distance to the ski resort and heavenly village, close to casino and beach. The view on second floor is very nice. I drove up from bay area and this place is on the right side of highway 50 with a tall sign. The decor in the room is unique and nice. New AC Unit in my room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank RR12340521
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2016

The hotel was a complete disappointment for the price (~$150). Location of the hotel is good and it stops there. The hotel is more like a motel were people just grab rooms on the fly. There is a passageway to the rooms which is also more like a common patio. people were blocking the way, partying loud and smoking. Rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank marirsk
Brian A, Front Office Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hello guest! I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our quaint hotel. Thank you for addressing any issues we may have, and were not aware of. I have gone over this with the staff to ensure everything is in working order. And for future reference, we do in fact have rooms with tubs, upon request. We have 36... More 

california
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2016

I was in South Lake Tahoe to do a bit of gambling and enjoy the snow, and chose The Trailhead motel for my two night stay. I checked in on a Thursday, the 14th of January, and checked out on the 17th. My single King bed room was clean, had a good heater for the main room, and also included... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank firedog13814
Brian A, Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hello Guest! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and for your next visit, we do offer coffee pots to take to your room at no extra cost. Just let Front Desk know at check in. This building was built in 1947, so the bathrooms tend to be a bit smaller than what we are used to, we... More 

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#53 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
189 reviews
0.1 km away
No photo provided
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#47 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
15 reviews
0.9 km away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#72 of 122 in Lake Tahoe (California)
56 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
#43 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
24 reviews
0.7 km away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#26 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Trailhead in South Lake Tahoe is located in a picturesque area of California in Lake Tahoe, just a few minutes from the Casinos, Lake Tahoe Beaches, and Heavenly Ski Resort. Adventure awaits, exploring all this great area has to offer. The opportunities are endless, from hiking, biking and skiing, to fishing, swimming and sailing the clear blue waters, Lake Tahoe is truly America's playground. When you stay with The Trailhead in South Lake Tahoe, you can unwind in one of our newly renovated rooms, watch cable TV with HBO and enjoy free high-speed WiFi. The Trailhead promises to serve you with our friendly and knowledgeable staff, ensuring a memorable Lake Tahoe experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Trailhead

Address: 3892 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8906 (Formerly Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $116 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Trailhead 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your The Trailhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Trailhead staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Trailhead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the jacuzzi rooms are awesome & the sweet Is one of my favorite rooms they have here. they even have rooms with bunk beds for the kids :)”
 of 5 bubbles jyoubeij, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the second floor are quieter, there is good lighting in the walkways.”
 of 5 bubbles firedog13814, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“It's good for the price! And pet friendly!”
 of 5 bubbles 516tarunp, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“For those looking for a romantic vacation, request a room with the in room hot tub.”
 of 5 bubbles lindahO100PE, 29 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Some rooms have jacuzzis with tiny bathrooms; some have huge bathrooms with regular bathtubs - your pick.”
 of 5 bubbles Bouncy_8, 30 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay