We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

430 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 372: English reviews
Placerville, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I think this hotel is good for the price and location. The rooms have everything you need like a fridge, coffee maker and microwave. They also have a small breakfast. They are in walking distance from everything. The actual design of the place is nothing to write home about. I think people need to temper their expectations because this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenn259
berlin
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lucked out and got the very last room for a busy MLK weekend as a last minute booking. Front desk check in was quick, friendly, and informative. The room gave a good 1st impression upon entering, as the fireplace was blazing, making the room welcoming and warm on a cold day. This was weirdly romantic since I was there with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karen h
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Karen, Thank you, thank you, thank you.... Please come back soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

TERRIBLE service and average room, not worthy the price! Hotel was too full so they couldn't provide us a spot in the parking lot (even if I paid for a room with parking), when I tried to complain or find a solution the staff was SUPER rude and told me to go find other hotel in the middle of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca M
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Bianca, We are very sorry about your experience. We take your feedback very seriously and we'll take steps to prevent this from happening again. Again, we are very sorry.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe two hours before our check in time. We were not allowed to check in early and if we would of been allowed to there was a fee of $20.00 for checking in early... Which is a first..The smoke alarm was beeping. Overall they did their best to to make it an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariaelena C
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Maria Elena, We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was big,we had all what we needed, all was good, we was content and we enjoyed our time here. First two days we can't see the lake because it was really two snow days. The third day was really beautyful, the sun was shining. The breakfast was really okay and enough. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rolf S
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Rolf, Thank you, thank you, thank you....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to go to Tahoe last minute for Christmas. We booked over the phone on Friday and arrived on Christmas Day. We brought our dog and toddler. We enjoyed our 2 night stay. The room was nice and warm with the fire going when we arrived. The walls are thin, but the neighbors tried to keep it down. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Jessica, Thank you so much for your business and support! Please come back soon!

Carlsbad, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Given we came up over the Christmas holiday everything was booked and prices of course reflected this. The room itself is a nice size with an electric fireplace and nice size kitchenette. There was no phone in the room but it tells you to dial the operator if you have questions. It was not dirty but I wouldn't say it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kendall H
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Kendall, Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Fremont, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed two nights in December. We originally only booked one night but a snow storm was coming in and so we needed to avoid driving home in the storm. When we checked in the staff was super nice and upgraded us to the fireplace room (which we had already booked for 2nd night) and this way we didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pambers1
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for your business and support! We are a family business and we love your feedback, we will keep improving until we gain your full satisfaction! Thanks again!

Reviewed 19 December 2016

2 queen one bedroom with electric fireplace and kitchen for less than $250 (not including dog fees), i loved it. It was a big room. awesome location, 10 min walk in each direction: the beach, harrahs, and the gondola. free breakfast was kinda lame (bagels and cereal kinda thing) but we just bought eggs and cooked in the cool kitchen!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Laura, Thank you, thank you, thank you... Please come back soon!

Fresno, California
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Eveything was awsome and great i would even come back the beds were great and i can count on them and i Will love to come back i lobee the parking lot and the restrooms were very clean the heaters were working very good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lomeliflores2014
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi, We truly appreciate your business and support! Please come back soon. Thanks!

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
2.3 km away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
802 reviews
0.3 km away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
246 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#16 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#31 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
199 reviews
0.9 km away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#8 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
355 reviews
0.2 km away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Big Pines Mountain House is conveniently located in the center of South Lake Tahoe, within walking distance to major attractions - Heavenly Ski resort, the casinos and the Lake itself. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. Free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast, heated seasonal pool and the location make us the best value in town. Do not leave your pets behind, we will be happy to accept them in our hotel. Come visit us! Our friendly staff is always here to help you to make your Tahoe getaway simply fun! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Address: 4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6979 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $71 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pines Mountain House Of Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain Lake Tahoe
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper, or choose a room on the 2nd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 617karenh617, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Good place, big rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles rolfs698, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs back corner all walls are paper thin in a very old hotel you can hear everything everywhere.”
 of 5 bubbles KendallH_11, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get a room on the first floor if you don't feel like taking the stairs!”
 of 5 bubbles lauracP7040NK, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Non smoking room with a nice bed.”
 of 5 bubbles lomeliflores2014, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay