We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 388: English reviews
Start your review of Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
 Click to rate
Newport Beach, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Old buildings but partially remodeled, clean. The room had nice gas fireplace which warm the room, what make nice because is quiet. So bad can not control it when fire up. The room had also good size kitchenette. The employee are very friendly and professional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngelMM01
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I have stayed at several hotels in the same area near stateline and felt that big pines was one of the better hotels at a very fair price. The room small but clean. My only complaint was that the bathroom door did not lock. The location was less than a 10 minute walk to stateline with small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daveytrain916
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Dave, Thank you very much for your business and support. We are a family business and work very hard to gain your patronage, your feedback is truly appreciate it. Please come back soon. Again, thank you.

Oakland, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel on a whim -- wanted to get out of town for a few days. Got a deal through hotels.com for $45 a night which was pretty good. At $45 a night, what can you expect? I have to say, more than you'd think -- the place is clean, everything works, location is convenient, the maid cleaning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 08750198740518723059
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you, thank you, thank you.... Please come back soon!

SAN FRANCISCO
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent service and well prepared for travelers. This is my second time staying here and I'm glad to see familiar faces. When the Heavenly gondola was shut down due to high winds, the staff had some great alternatives for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H5539FPdanielm
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Daniel, Thank you very much for your business and review, please come back soon! Again, thanks.

Oakland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family of four stayed in the 2 bedroom suite for a night. We were pleasantly surprised by the full size fridge and stove (including an oven). The kids loved the bunk beds and having their own closet & bathroom. There were plenty of dishes, cookware and cabinet space if we had stayed longer. We also appreciated that the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E9185WAdeborahm
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Deborah, We truly appreciate your business and support! Please come back soon.

Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff were very friendly. Room was adequate, nice size, laminate flooring. It needs some TLC but it's a good value for the price. Close to everything, walking distance to food, casino, ski etc. Breakfast was average. I would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mspenelope
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Penelope, Thank you very much for your business and feedback, we will keep working hard until we gain your full satisfaction. Again, thanks.

Oakland, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed there 3 nights it was nice but the bed bugs woke me up and would be nicer if the floor is a hardwood floor not carpet floor , the shower is good hot water the kitchenette is okay the staffing are nice and good location

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mariadiangirl
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi, We are very sorry to hear about your experience, we work very hard to gain your satisfaction and patronage. We take your comments very seriously, please contact me with further details. Please accept our deepest apologies. Cordially, Ruben Z Admin@thebigpines.com

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked two rooms for one night for a quick trip to Heavenly. You can't beat the location -- it's a 5 minute walk to the Heavenly gondola. The price is great. Not a luxury hotel, of course, but everything was clean and working, and the breakfast was good. There were no glitches in the reservation, and they were able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wc8
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you, thank you, thank you... Please come back soon.

Reviewed 19 March 2017

We booked this hotel because its location (close to Heavenly Gondola). However this hotel does not have enough parking space for their guests. And complimentary breakfast was very poor. They offer only bagels, serials, orange juice, milk, coffee, plain yogurt. They don't offer fruits, sausage, eggs, etc. And breakfast start at 7:30AM. It is late for guests who want to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hiroshi K
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Hiroshi, We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

My family and I went for a week of skiing. The location was great we walked around Heavenly Village and to the gondola. The room was clean upon arrival and spacious for 4 people. However breakfast was minimal and house keeping was HORRIBLE. Breakfast was a bagel or cereal. Housekeeping came one day took our towels, didn't replace them. Then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dunham4998
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi, We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

376 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Double Queen with Fireplace (27)
Viewed
Double queen with Kitchenette and Fireplace (39)
Viewed
King with Kitchenette and Fireplace (35)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen (28)
Viewed
Standard King (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 km away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#28 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
204 reviews
0.3 km away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#33 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
252 reviews
2.3 km away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,042 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
800 reviews
0.2 km away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Big Pines Mountain House is conveniently located in the center of South Lake Tahoe, within walking distance to major attractions - Heavenly Ski resort, the casinos and the Lake itself. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. Free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast, heated seasonal pool and the location make us the best value in town. Do not leave your pets behind, we will be happy to accept them in our hotel. Come visit us! Our friendly staff is always here to help you to make your Tahoe getaway simply fun! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Address: 4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6979 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $71 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pines Mountain House Of Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain Lake Tahoe
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you need parking spot, check in early”
hiroshik795, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper, or choose a room on the 2nd floor.”
617karenh617, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Good place, big rooms.”
rolfs698, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs back corner all walls are paper thin in a very old hotel you can hear everything everywhere.”
KendallH_11, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get a room on the first floor if you don't feel like taking the stairs!”
lauracP7040NK, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5