We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Noir

Expedia.comUS$69*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Noir
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,059 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Noir
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,047: English reviews
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2015

The hotel is situated on Clifton Green on the A19 about ten minutes walk out of York city centre. There is private parking at the hotel, which is locked at night, but it is limited so don't leave it too late if you want a space! There is plenty of parking however on nearby side streets. Check-in was straightforward and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

Nice enough place to stay and ten minute walk from York city centre. Staff are friendly, rooms are clean, breakfast is on the simple side but this is stantard for this type of hotel. Quite functional and presentable. Would recommend for quick stay? Yes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saulo R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

Apologies for the late review... I can't praise the staff here enough. So kind & helpful. An unscheduled emergency stop for 2 weary travellers. Clean & comfortable with modern bathrooms, nice wee bar area & a cracking good breakfast. Absolute Godsend! In my exhausted state I left some gift items in the room which were quickly found by staff who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy A
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

Room was really small, so much so that the temperature became too much to bear even with the window open. A lot of noise from other guests in other rooms made it a little uncomfortable as we didn't dare speak in case others could hear us. However the staff were lovely, especially the older lady serving in the restaurant on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helziebubs84
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I stayed in Hotel Noir in early June 2015. The weather was great and I love York so I was really pleased to be getting back there. The reviews i had read were pretty average so i wasn't expected anything brilliant but i have to admit that i was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is a 5 minute bus journey or...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Phil J
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

Hotel not as what it looks like from the pictures. Mucked rooms up paid for a double got a cheap twin room the shower plug was blocked and the whole place was full of dust not clean, the customer service was very bad staff arguing with us and the place is not worth how much we paid for it very...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lottey24
uk
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Location very good 10-15 minute walk to to wall, free car parking but if full can park on adjacent street. We had a room at the back which was very bright and quiet, free mini bar and chocolates, fresh milk, tassimo machine plenty of sugar etc, a safe which was good, iron and ironing board, free newspaper of our choice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sinders
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Robbing swines, lied about complimentary drinks and took from my account without authorisation. I was not given an invoice at check out, neither had I given my card details for expenses. They had retained my details from booking and reused them. Never been so appalled in all my life at being so lied to so thoroughly. Can't believe that I...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank ef993
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear ef993, You booked a room over the phone, and later called back asking to join our Friends Of Noir club which gave you a 10% discount, and at your suggestion it was agreed that instead of giving you this refund, we would give you complimentary drinks during your stay, and I left a note on your booking to this...

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Booked via booking.com for a Friday night. Due to work not letting me have time off we then had to change our booking which via the booking.com website was very easy. Checked the booking a bit closer to the time and found that I had been changed for the Friday night stay and not Sunday as was now the case....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluehobbit
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

We came back last weekend as we'd had a great stay a couple of years ago. Sadly things haven't moved on. We had a room at the front with a 4 poster bed, which was completely wrong for the room. The room was quite small so felt overpowered by the bed. Also you couldn't watch tv from the bed as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo6406

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Classic Room (22)
Viewed
Compact Room (23)
Viewed
Family Room (27)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Room (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.0 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,145 reviews
1.1 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 km away
The Churchill Hotel
2.1 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Price Range: $102 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Noir staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Noir staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“302 is a corner room at the tip Top of the stairs. ”
MegRawlins, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“top floor very quiet”
dolsie, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“see main review”
stephenw825, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 205 gets quite a bit of traffic noise in the morning if you have the window open it might disturb some people.”
MD1915, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pre-book breakfast is cheaper than PAYG.”
RupertT_11, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$69* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$69
Hotwire.comUS$69
Booking.comUS$69
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates