We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beechwood Close Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Beechwood Close Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Beechwood Close Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 372: English reviews
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Stayed here 24th May to attend an orienteering event Monday. Receptionist, (more than a receptionist) was friendly and helpful. We had chosen room 2 after reading reviews. Lovely bright room, bath with shower over, windows were open for fresh air, view out to garden. Two chairs right by window. We were able to sit and read listening to the birds,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irishblondie2010
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2015

Nice welcome when we arrived and the twin room we had (Room 15) was bright, clean and spacious with ensuite, tea and coffee and a useful iron/ironing board and an extension lead! Breakfast was very good with a wide choice and tasty sausages. We ate in the hotel for dinner and the food was good - not 'haut cuisine' -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janglemac
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2015 via mobile

We live close by to this hotel and were looking for a relaxed meal with family somewhere different from our usual local which we were planning to visit the following night. We booked in advance for 7.30pm arrival. As we walked in, the place was desolate with a receptionist who didn't acknowledge us at all, despite me lingering, and then...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Debs186346
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2015

My wife and I Spend a lovely weekend at the Beachwood Close Hotel at the begin of may 2015, On Arrival we had a great welcome nice and relaxed, the reception was nice and bright and we felt at home straight away, we were told of all the relevant info you need time etc and told that the restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank djdoris
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2015

We have just returned from two day stay ,lovely room good service and food ,on the negative side bathroom filthy on arrival and room needed a good clean so disappointed we had to wait for it to be cleaned on two occasions.Staff very apologetic and got onto it straight away but wasn't very pleasant to walk into .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2015

We visited this hotel recently for a two night stay with breakfast. On arrival we were greeted by a very nice member of staff who booked us in and showed us to a fairly nice room. The property is in need of refurbishment, ie old ill fitting windows and scotch marks etc on surfaces but the room was clean. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deeko247
beechwoodclose, Owner at Beechwood Close Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your comment We appreciate all positive and negative feedback. I very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the Beechwood Close. I am dissapointed to hear you had an issue with the 50% off food offer booked through a third party company. The terms of this offer is strictly at time of booking your reservation...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Great place for a base a bit of a walk to town takes about 20 minutes Had a meal in the restaurant steak was the best we've had in a long time Staff friendly and very welcoming told us there was a wedding on the Saturday night but finished at 12 midnight on the dot Comfy bed clean and bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kimmers48
beechwoodclose, Owner at Beechwood Close Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We stayed recently and the hotel staff were very pleasant. The bed was extremely comfortable although the duvet was a standard double on a king size bed. Breakfast was huge and really set us up for the day ahead. Just a shame that the shower was so filthy and mould dropped in clumps off the door of the shower and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank suzannahp2006
beechwoodclose, Manager at Beechwood Close Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments. We try very hard to make sure all our standards are kept very high. On this occassion we failed to meet your expectation on the shower quality. We have had a recent change of housekeeping, who are now trying very hard to make all our guests experience very good.

Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

I had to complain as we had an extra £100 taken out of our bank after we left, this was unauthorised, there was no damage to the room whatsoever and the hotel owner was rude when i rang and told me that i was lucky,because she could have took £250. Which is very fradulent. There fore my bank are raising...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank jackiekinnIrd
beechwoodclose, Owner at Beechwood Close Hotel, responded to this review

We did debited an extra nights stay from this guests card, this was not unauthorised when checking in you sign to adhere to all our terms and conditions! The guests decided to book a non smoking hotel room when they're smokers. This is breaking the law!!! we had to outbook the guests arriving that night to another hotel resulting in...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2015

We booked Sunday lunch for a family occasion, encouraged the the food descriptions on the website... but no mention on the website that Sunday lunch was a carvery, and neither was this explained on the phone when booking. I don't have a problem with carvery meals - but it should be made clear when this is the offering, as for...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mick O

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Double Room (23)
Viewed
Family Bedroom (24)
Viewed
Family Room (31)
Viewed
Family Room Double-Single (24)
Viewed
Family Room Single-Double (22)
Viewed
King Double Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Single Room (20)
Viewed
Superking Double Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
3.1 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
1,026 reviews
2.2 km away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
2.7 km away
Novotel York Centre
1.7 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Planning a visit to York? Whether it's for business, renowned retail therapy or sightseeing, the family-run Beechwood Close Hotel is the perfect location for your stay. Just a 20 minute walk from the historic city centre, with frequent bus services outside the door and the railway station easily accessible, the Beechwood Close Hotel is set in attractive gardens in the charming Clifton area. Individual and independent, the hotel has 14 comfortable and well-appointed en-suite bedrooms including singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. All have digital flat-screen televisions with Freeview, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and a well-stocked hospitality tray. There's free wi-fi and plenty of complimentary parking for guests, a cheerful bar and a licensed restaurant, offering a wide choice of dishes with a modern British twist. A warm welcome awaits at this family and pet-friendly hotel and husband and wife team Wayne and Clare McLeod, both York born and bred, are ideally placed to offer guests real insider knowledge about their stay in the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beechwood Close Hotel

Address: 19 Shipton Road, Clifton, York YO30 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Price Range: $90 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Close Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beechwood Close Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Close York
Beechwood Close Hotel York, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beechwood Close Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Gillingham, United Kingdom
england
over a year ago
5 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
5 months ago
uk
7 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Beechwood Close Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 10 very small double.”
 of 5 bubbles rhino25leeds, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 was extremely spacious”
 of 5 bubbles LeicestershireTull, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best to ask for back facing room as front facing can be noisy as hotel is on busy room”
 of 5 bubbles 544maggies, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Research on line or ring the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 294hughw, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room as shown on hotel website room 2 a must”
 of 5 bubbles iangorbutt, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5