We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Presbytery Guest House

Overview
The Presbytery London Road Barkston Ash, Tadcaster LS24 9PU England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Golf Course
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
3 Star accommodation
About
Description
The Old Presbytery Guest House is in the centre of Yorkshire, Barkston Ash being the centre of the old Yorkshire Riding's between Leeds & York with good links to the M1, A1M & M62.We offer a friendly More relaxing stay in a 14th century lodge with all modern facilities whilst keeping the original features, set in woodland overlooking fields and parklandSolid gates are coded for your security upon entry Two good restaurants/pubs within easy walking distance.Genuine Yorkshire hospitality. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Golf Course
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
US$59 - US$115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Tadcaster
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
1,255 reviews
5.58 km away
South Milford Hotel
394 reviews
6.20 km away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
1,028 reviews
6.22 km away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
690 reviews
6.42 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 28 nearby restaurants
Sunar Bangla
109 reviews
2.25 km away
Elmet Kitchen
143 reviews
2.48 km away
The Rockingham Arms
329 reviews
3.59 km away
T-Post
23 reviews
4.50 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 6 nearby attractions
Towton Battlefield
115 reviews
2.82 km away
Hields Aviation
26 reviews
4.67 km away
Bert's Barrow
5 reviews
7.16 km away
The Angel and White Horse
55 reviews
7.30 km away
Reviews & more
34Reviews
17Photos
0Q+A
5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 12
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
I’ve been staying here for the best part of 10 months and have only ever found the place very welcoming. The rooms are great and the breakfasts even better. Chris and Chris make you feel so welcome and they cant do enough for you. I would highly recommend staying here.
Read more
Response from Presbytery, Owner at Old Presbytery Guest House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you Mark, fingers crossed for your return in January, Excellent Guest
Read more
I was met by rudeness to be honest. She kept having a go that I had kept her waiting all afternoon to check in???Even my friend who came to check in with me was really shocked. The room was tiny, no bathroom... read the small print! The walls so thin I was kept up all night by
Read more
Response from Presbytery, Owner at Old Presbytery Guest House
Responded 4 weeks ago
If this is the guest we think it is!!! Early entry booked 12..00am to 1pm, which is perfectly ok but not good to wait in till 5.30pm. We feel sorry that you did not listen to the intro as the single room has the original bathroom with bath and shower, sink plus toilet in a large room, the bedroom sink must have been very inconvenient! New mattresses last year and AA inspected in August 2018. You didn't get a cup of tea as you need to listen because we offered both you and your friend a complimentary cuppa. Your breakfast was what you ordered, exactly, which was a vegetarian with the requested items . We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay as we pride ourselves on quality and friendly service which was acknowledged by receiving the runner up AA / Evvivo award for the Friendliest well run establishment 2018.
Read more
Stayed with Chris & Chris for 6 months while working in the local area and couldn't have wished for better accommodation. The rooms are clean with lots of extras, breakfast is superb and the hospitality is fantastic. The location is good also as a base for travelling around York
Read more
Response from Presbytery, Owner at Old Presbytery Guest House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you Alan, would be nice to have you back even if only as a holiday. You were a wonderful guest.
Read more
This was a stop-over on a trip to Scotland so we needed somewhere close to the route but out in the country. This fitted the bill perfectly. The welcome was warm, the room was lovely, there was plenty of parking and it felt safe and secure. It was easy to get an evening meal i
Read more
Response from Presbytery, Owner at Old Presbytery Guest House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you, we have recently fitted a EV charging point for travellers passing through Chris & Christine
Read more
Lovely guest house and greeted with Tea and home made cake.
The room was comfortable and well equipped a brilliant shower and the breakfast set us up for the day. I would highly recommend this guest house.
Read more
Response from Presbytery, Owner at Old Presbytery Guest House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you, the new eco shower heads are working well! Christine & Chris
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementOld Presbytery Guest House
Double room, Walnut
Photo provided by managementOld Presbytery Guest House
Family Room, Oak
Photo provided by managementOld Presbytery Guest House
Single Room, Yew
Photo provided by managementOld Presbytery Guest House
Twin Room, Holly
"Various rooms available (twin, double and single)"
"All Rooms are fully equipped with tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, water. Towels, shower gels, soaps, etc TV, Wi-Fi, Radiator, Electric blankets. Your hosts have thought of everything, believe me."
"We like Walnut!"
"Would prefer not to overlook road just in case of hot weather but this was an exceptionally nice room with wi-fi."
"The Double Room has On-Suite"
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing