We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Spur Inn

PricelineUS$112*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Black Spur Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 81: English reviews
Start your review of Black Spur Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in at the Black spur inn for some afternoon tea. Very disappointed by the reception we received by the ladies behind the counter. They were serving lunch to a group of 50...but clearly hadn't planned on walk ins and how best to cater to us (and others) . We were told to go to the bar... And after looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
Dianne K, Manager at Black Spur Inn, responded to this review

Hi Victoria, You are correct in your comments that we were not prepared for a group of 90 (not 50 as you state) arriving for lunch when they had only booked for 35 people and to top it off they were 30 minutes late, this indeed caught us unaware, understaffed and chasing our tails. As our region was without power...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Lovely room although a bit dusty in places, bath didn't drain very well. A bit of humming noise during the night,we think it was the restaurant fridges as our room was above it, room 9. The staff was very helpful and nice. The restaurant food was to die for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rae S
Dianne K, Manager at Black Spur Inn, responded to this review

Hi Rae, Many thanks for your review and feedback regarding the humming. We had the systems checked yesterday and found that a support had broken on one of the compressors causing a vibration to feed through to a couple of rooms. This has now been rectified. I have also passed your comments onto the relevant department regarding the dust in...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Yes - I understand that restaurants (incl. hotels) can charge a surcharge on Public Holidays. Yes - I understand that is due to penalty rates that have to be paid to staff. But to get to the Public Bar and get told that it is an extra 15% AND on top of that, I'm going to get hit with another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank riteoh
Dianne K, Manager at Black Spur Inn, responded to this review

Dear Riteoh, Many thanks for taking the time to review our business which we appreciate when it is constructive feedback as it allows us to make forward business decisions. I wish to clarify a couple of points you raised in your comments; one there is no credit charge surcharge applied on public holidays as this is absorbed into the public...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 March 2017

On our way to play golf in Marysville so decided to have a counter meal at the Narby Pub, after waiting what seemed like forever our meal arrived chicken parmigiana, what a let down it was dry, hardly any sause, chips were soft not appetizing even to look at, last time we were there the meal was lovely, lets hope...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woofaandpodge
Dianne K, General Manager at Black Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal and also that you did not bring your concerns to our attention at the time of your visit. We take pride in the standard of our meals and would have immediately responded as a matter of priority, to determine and rectify...

Beechworth, Australia
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We are always happy to stay at the Black Spur. Rooms in the Hotel are as you would hope. Even dressing gowns if you are in room 6 or 7 ( shared bathroom). There are many accom options at B.S. Best of all, we know the meals are excellent, and breakfast is included in the room price. Meal prices are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017

If anyone is traveling to Healesville it is well worth travelling into the Black Spur, a beautiful drive which is unsurpassed for scenery. The Black Spur Inn is set in bushland. The meals are generous and tasty. Ask for a table with a view .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneCazzie
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 December 2016

The staff are all great, and very accommodating - from the owner, to the waiters, bar tenders and cleaners, right through to maintenance people. The facilities are rustic, but very comfortable. The food is excellent, and the chefs take great pride in their work. We stayed for 4 nights, ate breakfast 4 mornings and had 3 dinners at the Inn....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulhb
Portarlington
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We planned a weekend in the Yarra Valley, based on a 70th birthday in Healesville on Sunday. We tried, without success, to find accommodation in Healesville but no luck. Looking at other options in the area, we lucked upon the Black Spur Inn at Marketing. To use the classic Aussie vernacular, WHAT A BLOODY RIPPER !! The room is palatial...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bigjules53
Dianne K, Manager at Black Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words which are greatly appreciated and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to our staff. We totally agree that living and operating in rural Victoria has many splendid advantages and we certainly enjoy every day. We hope to welcome again in the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We booked 6 rooms as it would have been our dads 100 th birthday, this was his pub all our lives so it was fitting to celebrate here, rooms were awesome and our table at dinner and breakfast was perfect, we sang dad happy birthday in the bar and reminisced the old days, thank you for your hospitality 🙂

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woofaandpodge
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We checked in early due to our golf being washed out. Staff were welcoming, King room toasty and warm on a freezing day. A beautiful dinner with complimentary bubbly for our wedding anniversay, attentive but not over bearing staff. Wagyu Rump and Chicken Parmi both delicious and large serving. I ordered chips as I love chips - they were excellently!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank viv H

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narbethong
10.0 km away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
1,783 reviews
35.8 km away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
522 reviews
20.8 km away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Tower Motel
Tower Motel
#2 of 2 in Marysville
263 reviews
1.3 km away
Woodlands Rainforest Retreat
9.9 km away
Marysville Garden Cottages
Marysville Garden Cottages
#1 of 6 in Marysville
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautifully appointed and luxurious boutique hotel accommodation offering personal air conditioning, ensuite bathroom with luxury amenities, minibar, large flat screen TV with DVD, free wifi and parking, and access to a relaxing day spa. A la carte restaurant or casual bar dining featuring sumptuous and freshly prepared local produce by a team of highly skilled chefs, offering breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days per week with log fires, relaxing atmosphere, premium local wines and personal service. Located at the top of the Yarra Valley and just 85kms from the city of Melbourne, set amongst five acres of open gardens surrounded by flowing springs and state forest. Centrally positioned to enjoy the village of Marysville, the natural beauty of Stevenson's Falls, the family friendly snow resort of Lake Mountain cross country skiing or the recreational waterways of Lake Eildon and the Goulburn River. Let us not forget the awe inspiring views from walking the magnificent Cathedral Ranges or riding the Yea Rail Trail or Bicentennial National Trail, all a short drive away when you stay at the Black Spur Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Spur Inn

Address: 436 Maroondah Hwy, Narbethong, Victoria 3778, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Narbethong
Price Range: $162 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Spur Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get room 9, mainly for the noise but when you open door you face a brick wall a d not the lovely grounds”
  • Set out lovely
579raes, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We like rms 6 or 7 even though they share a bathroom. Both are quiet & very comfortable, & look out onto the veranda”
355kend, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 is the best, if you can get it. It is on a corner and has great views.”
paulhb, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No tips; all rooms seem to be well appointed and with nice views.”
TechTraveller, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in the Heritage Deluxe room spacious with beautiful bathroom”
frella123, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$112* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates