We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bull on The Green

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bull on The Green
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 112: English reviews
Start your review of The Bull on The Green
 Click to rate
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great breakfast venue on a Sunday (and Saturday) morning. Food is good, inexpensive and they serve earlier than 10, (from 8:30 I think) unlike most other breakfast venues in the area. Service is prompt and friendly and they have great coffee!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

there was a power cut when we were there, which was unfortunate, so we used another local pub, however the staff are the biggest issue, customer service is non existent, and I would avoid as they were rude and unhelpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alis0nbate
Philip G, Manager at The Bull on The Green, responded to this review

They had a room only deal. But wanted a discount as the pub had a power cut. This did not effect there rooms at alll . It's funny how customers can be rude to members of staff but if we answer back we're the rude ones.unhelpful oh yes we didn't give them the discount

England
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Stayed for one night August Bank Holiday weekend. Would have been a great room had it not been for the broken bed which led to a very uncomfortable night. We had the last room so we just had to suck it up. Can see that this has been mentioned before on here so am surprised it wasn't fixed before. I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank UKGirly
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We stayed for two nights, using three of the rooms. One evening meal, which was excellent. Warm greeting from all the staff. We regreting not staying for breakfast as the evening meal was so good! The secluded accomadation at the rear is cosy warm, with TVs, Kettles and refeshments, brilliant shower in the morning. It's the perfect place to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
Philip G, Manager at The Bull on The Green, responded to this review

thank you great having you for the 2 nights

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Very friendly place. We were given a choice of tables on arrival great atmosphere and very cosy. Staff apologised for the wait as they were extremely busy but it wasn't a problem. Food was lovely and plenty to eat. All in all a nice relaxed evening and will be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buddy1372
Philip G, Manager at The Bull on The Green, responded to this review

thank you for your kind words,,we look forward to seeing you again

derbyshire
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Had one night here to see friends and was a lovely place. They were a bit short staffed when we arrive but I really friendly bloke called Ronald saw to us and couldn't do enough to help us. Room was nice and food and beer in the pub was great, highly recomended!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank therams_1884
Philip G, Manager at The Bull on The Green, responded to this review

thank you for your kind words

Reviewed 16 September 2016

Away with work this week, I booked two nights here - it was my third or fourth stay so I knew what to expect - the double en suite room in the outbuildings could do with a coat of emulsion, a new mattress and some new net curtains but it suits me because of its location and ample parking. Got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
Philip G, Manager at The Bull on The Green, responded to this review

can only apoligise ,,and say it will never happen again

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Well this was a popular room at some point. Huge leather sleigh-type bed, comfortable mattress, clean enough, but for the black mould around the junior-size shower, and the lifting lino behind the sink- there's obviously been some water damage in the past, but it's ok. The bed however has been through the mill. As has the chandelier, possibly. One side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Philip G, Manager at The Bull on The Green, responded to this review

we did apoligise for the faulty bed,,in fact gave them a £70 refund which they forgot to mention also a member os staff gave them a lift to brighton as they couldnt get a taxi,,,also something they forgot to mention

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

accommodation was spacious and clean with a huge comfortable bed. Meals in the pub are of great quality and at a good price. Great location in rural Sussex with easy access to Brighton, Eastbourne, Haywards Heath and Tunbridge-Wells. At £45 a night for the room and inclusive breakfast you can't go far wrong. Highly recommend and will stay here again!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJBooCollins
Philip G, Manager at The Bull on The Green, responded to this review

thank you for your kind words

Titchfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for one night between business meetings. The welcome was warm and friendly, the service throughout was excellent. The food was good, priced OK for the area. They had Sam Adams on tap, which made a nice change. The room was clean enough, some mould in the bathroom, but nothing serious. I booked a 'luxury ensuite room' and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy H

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newick
7.8 km away
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
377 reviews
11.1 km away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 1 in Ditchling
216 reviews
11.3 km away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Griffin Inn
The Griffin Inn
#1 of 2 in Fletching
387 reviews
8.5 km away
The Buxted Inn Hotel
The Buxted Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Buxted
199 reviews
5.5 km away
Chequers Inn
Chequers Inn
#1 of 2 in Maresfield
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A lovely old country pub ideally situated in a picturesque village in the heart of East Sussex, right on the A272. Under new management as of the beginning of April, we have recently undergone a refurbishment and have also taken on a new Head Chef. Serving a new, re-vamped menu and a large selection of fine wines and ales makes us a great stopping place for any occasion.In addition we have eight rooms, all equipped everything you need for a comfortable and peaceful night's rest should you find it hard to leave at the end of the night! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bull on The Green

Address: The Green, Newick BN8 4LA, England (Formerly The Bull Newick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Newick
Price Range: $72 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull on The Green 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bull on The Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bull on The Green staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Bull on The Green staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Specify en-suite”
B1775JSjohnc, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is probably the least favorite option being close to the car park access”
jobberdave, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay. Just visited the pub”
684nigelh, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Didnt ditsy here so can't comment on rooms”
Mosesandpenny, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
ChristinaR591, 29 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5