We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Askham CA10 2PF England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (45)
Dining (7)
Room & Suite (7)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Askham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
We are a Restaurant, Pub and Bed & Breakfast located in the picture postcard village of Askham. We offer Twin and Double Rooms all En-suite and would like to take this opportunity to welcome you to escape the mundane pressures and stress of everyday life and enjoy a wonderful break with us in this picturesque region.We serve food from 12 noon through 'til 9pm every day (service hours during winter may vary). Finally, dogs (and children) are always welcome!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
291Reviews3Q+A27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 162
  • 75
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Pamela B wrote a review Sep. 5
10 contributions
We called at the punchbowl for lunch today we chose to eat outside . We had starters of prawn pil pil and pate both were excellent the chutney with the pate was beautiful 😍 for mains we had beef and pork sunday roasts excellently presented , meat was full of flavour and tender ,real yorkshire pudding beautiful mashed potatoes carrots cabbage and to top it all really good gravy.the service was prompt and the staff are lovely very friendly would love to review puddings but we were so full we couldn't manage one 😋 will definitely be back probably next week
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Mel S wrote a review Sep. 3
Huddersfield, United Kingdom78 contributions23 helpful votes
We had some really great food here when we called in the off chance during a day trip to Askham to escape Pooley Bridge for a bit. Just ordered some sandwiches and a bowl of chips but they were all really tasty and freshly made. The fish finger sandwich was my favourite.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Paul M wrote a review Jun. 2021
Essex, United Kingdom17 contributions3 helpful votes
My Fiancé and I took a trip to the lakes when we had a trip abroad cancelled due to covid. Turned out to be an absolute blessing in disguise as this place is an absolute gem! So you have to remember this is a pub with rooms and not a hotel as such. Having said that the room was as good as any hotel I have stayed in minus a couple of things. Our room was spacious and clean with a great view over the village green. As I mentioned earlier…it is a pub…I was surprised to find reviews where people seemed shocked that other humans were drinking and talking outside their room until 11:30pm….this is to be expected and took nothing from our stay. The room was really lovely with a great tv as well as tea and coffee and a hair dryer. My only complaint is the lack of clothes iron..but a helpful member of staff located one when we asked. The en-suite was really lovely with a great shower. The Punchbowl is in the beautiful location of Askham. Its well located for anywhere you want to be in the Lakes and it’s close to some lovely walks. The pub itself is amazing so staying right above it is a great bonus. They have a great selection of drinks including guest ales etc... We had dinner in there one night and it was absolutely stunning. Do be sure to book though as it gets very full and being a resident doesn’t guarantee a table. The breakfast was incredibly good with excellent coffee and some nice touches in there. The staff here are absolutely brilliant! Ever single person who looked after us was so so friendly and could not do enough for us. They really did help make this a truly enjoyable stay. Overall I would highly recommend this place to stay in. It was great value for money in an area where some establishments are out to rip off tourists and holiday makers. When we return to the lakes we will 100% be booking a room at the Punchbowl.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book for dinner. Bring an iron.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Punchbowl Inn Askham, Owner at Punchbowl Inn
Responded Aug. 11, 2021
Thank you for your review, we look forward welcoming you in the future
Read more
Roundy wrote a review Jun. 2021
Horsham, United Kingdom2539 contributions484 helpful votes
We chose this Inn for an overnighter in the Lake district, midway between Scotland and our home in Sussex, as it had good reviews and was within easy access of the motorway. We were not disappointed. On arrival we were shown to our room no 2, which had a view out over the front patio of the pub and the village which was very peaceful. Nice bedroom with very modern decent sized ensuite with good shower over bath. I did struggle to get anything more than warm (not hot) water out of the sink tap though. We booked dinner and the staff explained that it was a reduced menu during Covid due to limited guests, but it looked nice so we went ahead. We then came down early and enjoyed a drink in the sunshine on the patio which was lovely. Drinks were being ordered and served through a side hatch, rather than at the inside bar. We also enjoyed our starters outside but moved inside for our mains as it got cooler. We enjoyed garlic prawns and an excellent chicken liver pate with apricot chutney and caramelised onion for starters. For mains we both had the fish and chips with mushy peas. We both struggled to get through the huge portions but they were tasty. Sadly no room for desserts. Another table across from us had burgers and were raving about how good they were. There's a separate lounge where they had the football on. Unfortunately it seemed nearby Askham Hall had an event on that evening as music started soon after, and carried across the village, but we were shattered after the long drive so I'm not sure whether it went on after midnight as still managed to sleep well. Breakfast was slightly disappointing, in that the "restaurant" room (not where we had eaten dinner) where it was set out was cold and rather dark and soulless, and at the same time full of cooking smoke (there's an open style kitchen at one end) - they must have had an extractor issue. Not very pleasant. Breakfast itself was fine. I had French toast with bacon and maple syrup and my husband had a full Cumbrian. We didn't use the communal pub toilets as we had our own bathroom upstairs, so can't comment on the earlier reviews about these. Sadly it was raining next morning so we didn't hang around to explore the village area but it looked nice, with the nearby castle too, so would be happy to return as not too expensive for a stopover.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Punchbowl Inn Askham, Owner at Punchbowl Inn
Responded Aug. 11, 2021
Thank you for your review. Please you enjoyed your stay and eating with us. We have passed on your comment about your breakfast to the kitchen.
Read more
pamdevlin33 wrote a review Jun. 2021
Carlisle, United Kingdom14 contributions25 helpful votes
A beautiful setting within a lovely, tranquil village - that’s the positive. Having looked at the menu prior to arriving was disappointed to find was somewhat smaller. I ordered the chicken,ham & leek pie. The pie to be fair was quite tasty, however, the over done homemade chips were rather brown and slightly greasy. Feel the chip fat needs replaced! Sticky toffee pudding was dry, on the small size for the price and slightly burnt. One of my friends ordered the cheese board, stale crackers.com!!! Did not want to over indulge in drinks as did not want to visit the cloakroom again before setting off home. Could not believe the state of them. The bricks were visible behind the cistern, there was no toilet paper, chewing gum hardened in corner of floor, no soap, no paper hand towels and very little hand sanitiser. On looking round the pub itself the potential is there for a truly lovely establishment, but to see filthy electric sockets, cobwebs and curtains hanging off tracks Rishi Sunak’s handout obviously did not stretch to a deep clean. One wonders what has been done in lockdown when time and money could have been spent. Unfortunately won’t be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Punchbowl Inn Askham, Owner at Punchbowl Inn
Responded Jun. 13, 2021
Thank you for your review, sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us. Your comments have been passed onto to management.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$121 - US$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
punchbowl hotel penrith
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictEden DistrictAskham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Punchbowl Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Punchbowl Inn?
Nearby attractions include Chestnut House (4.5 km), Crafty Monkeys (6.1 km), and Ullswater Lake (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Punchbowl Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Punchbowl Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Punchbowl Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Punchbowl Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Casita, Four & Twenty, and Taste Of Bengal.
Is Punchbowl Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Askham.
Are pets allowed at Punchbowl Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Punchbowl Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Brougham Castle (5.3 km), Mayburgh Henge (4.7 km), and Penrith - The Eden Millennium Monument (4.9 km).
Is Punchbowl Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.