We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Askham CA10 2PF England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (162)
Dining (50)
Room & Suite (35)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Askham
Travellers' Choice
A stunning grade I listed Pele Tower dating back to the 13th century, Askham Hall has recently been transformed from a stately family home into a stylish and contemporary luxury retreat. Each bedroom is totally unique and individually named. A Michelin starred restaurant and private gardens are also available.
Read more

Location

Full view
Contact
Askham CA10 2PF England
Getting there
Newcastle Airport83 kmSee all flights
Carlisle Lake District Airport37 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
186Reviews3Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 147
  • 31
  • 4
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
rambosmum wrote a review Sep. 10
Manchester, United Kingdom43 contributions29 helpful votes
I booked a 2 night dinner, bed & breakfast special, staying at the queen's head with an evenings dining at Michelin starred Allium. It was supposed to be a birthday treat and we enjoy good food. 3 weeks after booking I received a phone call from Askham hall explaining (no apology) that they couldn't honour the dining elements of the booking at either restaurant- no explanation or alterative provided. Agreed to change to a bed and breakfast rate. 2 days later, received a phone call explaining they accidentally cancelled the whole booking, but that they'd rebooked the same room and forfeiting of the deposit already returned by way of apology. They also managed to find us a table at the queen's head for one evening, so not too bad. However I never received email confirmation of this, and when chased, the deposit discount hadn't been applied. Fast forward to the night of our arrival. We were en route when we received a call advising that they'd double booked our room at the Queen's head. Clearly the other party had already arrived. We were informed they managed to persuade the bride and groom who had booked exclusive use of Askham hall to allow us use of one of the rooms there. However we wouldn't be allowed in the restaurant for breakfast or to use the bar or facilities as these were reserved for the wedding party (fair enough, not the bride and groom's fault). We didn't feel comfortable essentially crashing someone's wedding and found alternatives accomodation and had a fantastic meal at 1863 - I really recommend it. I do not understand how such a place can mess up.quite so badly with one booking! And the customer service was just awful. Won't be attempting another stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marie-Louisa Raeburn, Owner at Askham Hall
Responded 4 days ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent experience. All feedback is very much appreciated so that we can review our procedures where necessary. Firstly, having read through the details of your experience and discussed the situation with my colleagues, I'd like to apologise for the system and administrative errors which led to your booking issues. These errors are completely unacceptable and we have reviewed processes with the team members involved to ensure that this type of thing doesn't happen again. Secondly, I'd like to let you know that the solution that was offered to you, being a room at Askham Hall with breakfast at the Queen's Head would not have impacted on the wedding at all as the room in question is out of the way in comparison to where the wedding guests were, with the Queen's Head being just a short walk away. We pulled out all the stops to find a solution for you given our mistakes and I understand that at the time you said you were happy with this and accepted it. We also left a bottle of champagne in the room for you as an offer of apology but you wouldn't have known this, as after having accepted the offer you then disappeared and did not return our calls. We therefore cancelled your booking and refunded you in full. If you had not accepted the offer we would have completely understood and refunded you too but unfortunately you did accept it but then disappeared and left us a review online. We accept that errors were made on our part and can only apologies for this but the team also did all the could to rectify the situation given the circumstances. Nevertheless we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at 1863. Kind Regards
Read more
Mowys wrote a review Aug. 2021
Cardiff115 contributions75 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights for a family wedding. Lovely old building with the most amazing vegetable garden and gardens. Our bedroom was very comfortable and the bathroom was good. The food was sensational as you would expect. The staff were all wonderful....nothing was too much trouble. It really was a fabulous location for a wedding. It made for a memorable couple of days.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Marie-Louisa Raeburn, Owner at Askham Hall
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Mowys, thank you for your review following your recent stay at Askham Hall for a family wedding. It's wonderful to hear that you loved the building, gardens, bedroom, food, location and also found the staff to be fantastic. All the best.
Read more
Clive P wrote a review Aug. 2021
Luton, United Kingdom16 contributions5 helpful votes
We've stayed at Askham Hall before and really liked the place. This time I guess we didn't book a room far enough ahead and were relegated to the Queen's Head which they also run, which is about 400m away in the village. The room here was ok but no better than that. It was a ground floor room with a sash window opening directly on to the street so we didn't really like to leave it partly open at night, so the room was rather hot and airless. The bathroom was also a bit basic, e.g. no mixer taps for the basin so one had to wash one's hands either in extremely hot or very cold water. Walking back to the Queen's Head after dinner was no problem on a fine summer evening, might not be ideal if it rained. My marking of 4 blobs rather than 5 is because of the lesser quality of the accommodation at the Queen's Head - try to get a room in the hall, especially in the tower which we had last time, if you can. Dinner at the Askham Hall restaurant was as good as we remembered, and being able to wander around their gardens is a distinct bonus. The other thing they still haven't got right is making an online booking for room and dinner: one has to book the room and dinner separately, with a deposit required separately for each, and no obvious way of coordinating the two.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Try to get a room in the tower of the main hall if you can. Avoid Queen's Head.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Marie-Louisa Raeburn, Owner at Askham Hall
Responded 1 week ago
Hi, thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Queen's Head with dinner at Askham Hall, we really appreciate it. We are sorry that you were a little disappointed with the room at the Queen's Head in comparison to Askham Hall. We've been really busy this summer but next time perhaps you could try to book Askham Hall again. All the best
Read more
Leeann wrote a review Aug. 2021
Carlisle, United Kingdom1 contribution
Absolutely fantastic weekend,beautiful rooms,amazing gardens,fabulous food,and staff are a credit to Askem Hall,special mention to Steph who went above and beyond what a lovely lady. Hope to come back in the near future thank you all
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Marie-Louisa Raeburn, Owner at Askham Hall
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Leeann, what a wonderful review thank you! So glad you loved Askham Hall for a family wedding. Thank you for the recommendation. I'll pass your comments on to Steph and the team
Read more
anneliese03 wrote a review Jul. 2021
Loddiswell, United Kingdom69 contributions18 helpful votes
Really lovely trip for pizza and drinks yesterday lunchtime. Dog friendly, lovely setting, beautiful outdoor seating area. Staff not overly efficient or knowledgeable and bar staff a little slow, however pizza was tasty (although perhaps a bit sparse on the toppings). But all in all would return and would like to visit their accommodation too.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Marie-Louisa Raeburn, Owner at Askham Hall
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Annaliese, thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to the Kitchen Garden Cafe for pizzas and drinks. We are glad that you enjoyed the pizzas and outdoor setting, although we are sorry to hear that the service was a little slow. Hopefully we'll see you again soon!
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictEden DistrictAskham
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Askham Hall
Which popular attractions are close to Askham Hall?
Nearby attractions include Chestnut House (4.6 km), Crafty Monkeys (5.9 km), and Ullswater Lake (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Askham Hall?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Askham Hall?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Askham Hall?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Askham Hall?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Askham Hall?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Casita, Four & Twenty, and Taste Of Bengal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Askham Hall?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Is Askham Hall located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Askham.
Are pets allowed at Askham Hall?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Askham Hall offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Askham Hall?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Brougham Castle (5.1 km), Mayburgh Henge (4.5 km), and Penrith - The Eden Millennium Monument (4.7 km).