The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse

The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse

4540 Cowley Crescent Vancouver International Airport, Richmond, British Columbia V7B 1B8 Canada
Incredible dining experience
Traveller (178)
Dining (28)
Room & Suite (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 2 lodges in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Clubhouse is our flagship lodge and is one of our two Pacific Northwest resorts. Located in majestic Haida Gwaii (Islands of the People), formerly known as the Queen Charlotte Islands just south of Alaska, it is situated on Langara Island’s highest point, surrounded by ancient rainforest and the best ocean fishing experience in the world. The Clubhouse defines fishing luxury, offering the world's best ocean salmon fishing experience. Enjoy our warm resort setting, unsurpassed guest service, exceptional dining, and of course world-class trophy salmon and halibut fishing. This British Columbian resort is no less than first class, making The Clubhouse experience truly a trip of a lifetime.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Centre with Internet Access
Internet
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury

Location

4540 Cowley Crescent Vancouver International Airport, Richmond, British Columbia V7B 1B8 Canada
321Reviews2Q+A83Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 317
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mark H wrote a review Apr 2021
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada8 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having traveled extensively most of my life, I have high expectations. The West Coast Fishing Club is unquestionably the best wilderness, fishing, culinary, hospitality and service experience one will find most anywhere...let alone 550 miles north of Vancouver BC. Their customer service team from planning, to coordinating hotels, even dining in Vancouver, to the airport check in staff are exceptional. Our flight north was great, the helicopter to the Lodge spectacular, greeted with a smile, spotless , nicely appointed rooms were ready on our arrival. Their boats are best in class Boston Whalers with experienced guides - we were served wine and prawns on the water!! The dining experience was excellent and numerous selections. The Lodge atmosphere is warm, laid back and very comfortable. Anything you needed, all you had to do was think about it and a staff member tended to it right away. The fishing was really good but the experience on the water is simply incredible. You wont be disappointed. Going back as soon as we can. MJH
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Have lunch on the water at least one of the days
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The West Coast Fishing Club, General Manager at The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse
Responded Apr 27, 2021
Hi Mark, Thank you for leaving a review! We truly appreciate when guests share their experience with us. It sounds like you had a fantastic time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Tight Lines The West Coast Fishing Club
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ziolkoski wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nothing but the best in service, dining, atmosphere both in personal or corporate settings. I have been fortunate to visit clubhouse in June/July/August and September. Each month has been special within the events the Clubhouse brings to their clients, amazing food, end of year trip has been known to be one of the best with a 5 star culinary experience combined with bringing together musicians to create an amazing trip. Fantastic mix of clients brings brings everyone together within a short time. Have been around the world, visiting high end resorts and The West Coast Fishing Club is truly one of the best. Fantastic for corporate bonding! Even better for a mom-son(s) trip!!! Nothing seems to be spared in the efforts of the staff for creating a very personalized experience from start to finish! Well Done and looking forward to many more!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: water view, but they are all great!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The West Coast Fishing Club, General Manager at The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse
Responded Sep 30, 2020
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of your experiences. We're always trying to raise the bar for our guests and we're glad to hear that our culinary program and live music trips have been standout experiences for you. It always a true pleasure to bring guests together over good food and live music. We hope to welcome you again soon! Tight Lines, The West Coast Fishing Club
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cam m wrote a review Aug 2021
Calgary, Canada4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I just cannot say enough about this lodge, and this "wilderness" experience. I consider myself so fortunate to have had the chance to stay at numerous lodges, and fish, up and down the west coast of Canada. There truly is no comparison to the West Coast Fishing Club, and the Clubhouse experience. From the moment your helicopter ride sets down on a postage stamp you recognize you are somewhere unique and so special. The rooms are beautifully equipped, the facility has everything you want or need. The food is absolutely 5 star and non-stop (your waistline will suffer) and then of course, there is fishing. The real bonus of this resort is the run time to the fishing grounds.... 10 minutes and you can be lines in! No one hour runs and because you can fish so close you can elect to go in if weather gets rough, or go in for lunch if you wish, then go back out again. All of this however would not be possible without the most amazing staff.... from the kitchen to the guides, the Clubhouse could give lessons to any top service organization about customer service, absolutely top shelf, you will be amazed! You will not be disappointed and will want to return many, many times.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The West Coast Fishing Club, General Manager at The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Hi Cam, Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience and thrilled to hear it was such a great experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Tight Lines! The West Coast Fishing Club
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joey K wrote a review Jan 2020
19 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been very fortunate over the last decade to visit the Clubhouse at WCFC on a yearly basis and without question it's the hi-lite trip of my summer. No matter if the weather conditions are sunny & warm or rainy & windy, no two visits have been the same...but they all provide amazing memories (both on and off the water).

The fishing experience around Langara Island with the guides from WCFC is always entertaining, regardless of how many fish I'm able to bring into the boat! The crew are knowledgable, easy to deal with, and always keep safety a top priority.

At the lodge, Terry and his team always do an amazing job, from the moment guests arrive right through until they depart. The chef and kitchen staff are prompt and courtesy and the food & beverages provided are world class. The accomodations are top notch and after a long day on the water, getting to sleep is never difficult.

I haven't taken advantage of some of the ammenties offered at the Clubhouse, but I know many who have. I have never heard a negative word about the expereinces guests have had with the gym, massage or hot tub.

I can't say enough amazing things about all the Clubhouse has to offer. It truly is a world-class destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Canada. I can't wait to make my next visit!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WCFC, Guest Relations Manager at The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Hi Joey, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Clubhouse. We are beyond thrilled to hear that our hard working staff has helped to make some unforgettable experiences for you. We hope to welcome you back this season! Tight Lines! The West Coast Fishing Club
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Faf1966 wrote a review Aug 2021
Maple Ridge, Canada6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Once Again its the most precious wonders of Western Canada.It all starts at the south terminal where your greeted by friendly people and then board a plane for a short flight to the next pick up point before a short turn around and off to the clubhouse. Shortly after your on the ground your greeted to a beverage of your choice and a nice lunch before heading out on the water for day 1 of fishing.

The nice part of this lodge and location is your never short on choices of where to go in such a short period of time as you can fish around the entire island depending on weather.

The staff, equipment, boats, accommodations are all spectacular. If you have never been and are thinking of a place to go you need to do this trip and will almost guarantee it won’t be your last to the clubhouse.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The West Coast Fishing Club, General Manager at The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Hi there, Thank you for leaving a 5-star review. We're happy to hear the small details helped create fantastic memories during your stay. Thanks again for fishing with us and we hope to see you again soon. Tight Lines! The West Coast Fishing Club
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CDM traveler wrote a review Mar 2021
Irvine, California38 contributions82 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place checks a lot of boxes for a fishing experience that isn't roughing it,
Food is good, rooms are nice service is pretty good inside the clubhouse.

Our letdown was the actual guides, we had two different ones that we swapped back
and forth and we all agreed we wouldn't go back. It was mainly down rigging and you're sitting all day waiting for strikes. The guide had an attitude and ruined our experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The West Coast Fishing Club, General Manager at The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse
Responded Mar 22, 2021
Hi there, We would like to respond to the review that was left. The date that was listed as visiting The Clubhouse is not consistent with our 2020 season. Our lodges were not open in June 2020 due to the Government of B.C.’s public health orders to remain closed due to COVID-19. We began operating on July 6, 2020 in accordance with the province of B.C.’s phase 3 of re-opening plan and only welcomed Canadian guests due to the US/Canada border being closed. We are unfamiliar with the trip that has been reviewed, however if you visited us at another time we would like to hear more about your experience. Please feel free to give us a call at 1-888-432-6666 or email us at info@westcoastfishingclub.com to provide more information. Thank you, The West Coast Fishing Club
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scooter6009 wrote a review Aug 2022
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico26 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been going to the WCFC for years but this was my favourite trip. I missed the last two years because of COVID restrictions. The owners have made a lot of upgrades to the facilities and the outdoor areas at the Clubhouse are now protected from the elements. As usual the food and beverages were outstanding. The outside pizza oven and the guy running it was right out of Italy. So good. A lot of the guides were new but all of them did a magic job of getting lots of big fish including a 42 lb Chinook that was released. Our guide Paul put us on some monster halibut and a steady supply of salmon for three days. Already booked for next year. Can hardly wait.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Whistlerlover wrote a review Jun 2015
Vancouver18 contributions73 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Simply put, this might be the finest fishing lodge in North America.

Using the term 'lodge' to describe the West Coast Fishing Club is sort of like using the term 'house' when referring to a 20,000 Sq ft mansion.

WCFC is a 5 star resort with some of the finest salmon and halibut fishing anywhere in the world. The staff, the food, the guides, the simple yet well thought out amenities; sitting and eating areas, bars, pool table rooms (there are 2 if you can believe it), private dining room, fireplace, outdoor fire pit, the actual hotel rooms, and the best patio / deck with view you will likely find anywhere on the West Coast.

For everyone who has a trip to Haida Gwaii on their bucket list, this is THE fishing lodge to visit!!!

To the staff at WCFC for my trip last week... Thanks for everything, this was the best fishing trip I have ever had!

One final thing... as a potential first time visitor to the WCFC (and for the only possible improvement that the WCFC could make) the website for WCFC absolutely, unequivocally, does not due this resort justice. So... don't base your decision just because another lodge might have a better website. A mistake I only made once!

Helpful tips for those who are undecided about which lodge to visit. i.e. What I wish I knew before my first trip to Haida Gwaii (this was my fourth)
Ask the lodge the following...
1. Do they use herring or fishing lures (you will absolutely catch more fish with herring)
2. Are the boats equipped with downriggers. If you're forced to mooch for your trip, you won't be able to get your bait down to the fish on some days. There are days when you'll be fishing at 120 ft and if the seas are rough your problems will be compounded.
3. Is beer/wine included.
4. How many hours a day will you be able to fish.
5. How far are the fishing grounds from the lodge.
6. How much fish can I bring back before I have to pay extra.
7. Which fish processing companies do they use. You will likely catch some 20+, 30+ lb salmon. These are quite hard to cook but can be easily canned or smoked and then sent to you several weeks after you return home. Some places will even cut the filets into smaller, more manageable size pieces (i.e. 1 lb vacuum sealed packages that you can take out as needed). Very helpful if you catch a 20+ lb halibut!

Hope this helps.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WCFC, Guest Relations Manager at The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse
Responded Jan 20, 2016
We are happy to hear you’ve enjoyed your time at The Clubhouse! Thank you for sharing your fantastic tips to our first time visitors or guests looking into a trip. Our Client Services Team does a great job at making sure our guests are well informed before they arrive. Hope to see you again in 2016. The West Coast Fishing Club
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn B wrote a review Sep 2015
1 contribution5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Shawn and I have been on a bit of a roller coaster with media, travel, being in the public eye, and always on the go. We wanted a little get away, where we felt at home, with good food, nice people and know we were off the grid. It was exactly what we needed. They had top chefs flown in for us to be able to enjoy every meal, even when we slept in, they some how found a way to accommodate us. The staff felt like they were longtime friends, and although we aren't fisherman, we enjoyed being out on the water catching salmon knowing we could bring it home and eat it whenever we wanted!!! They did all the work when it came to sending home our fish, and we just went back to the lodge, had a glass of wine and listened to an amazing live band. If you haven't been, I HIGHLY suggest it. It was the most relaxing, fun, different, rewarding vacation I've had.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WCFC, Guest Relations Manager at The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse
Responded Jan 20, 2016
Hi Kaitlyn, We are so pleased to hear that you and Shawn enjoyed your escape to Haida Gwaii. Whether it’s relaxing at the lodge or out on the water we will always do our best to accommodate our guests. It was a pleasure having you both at The Clubhouse and we hope you’ll be back to see us again soon. The West Coast Fishing Club
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Greg98053 wrote a review May 2013
Redmond, Washington3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a trip of a life time. If your entertaining clients, hanging with friends, or enjoying family, this is the ultimate fishing experience. The lodge, staff, and beautiful landscape make this fishing trip one for the bucket list. Words and videos do not do enough, you must experience this lodge for yourself. The fishing is the reason I started coming to the Clubhouse in the late 90's, and have returned every year. Your clients will talk about this trip for years. You have their undivided attention for 10 hours a day, you can't get this back at the office.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from WCFC
Vancouver, Canada1 contribution
Hi Cindy, Unfortunately we are unable to accommodate pets at our lodges at this time. If you would like to know more, please give us a call at 1-888-432-6666. Thank you, The West Coast Fishing Club
Mark H wrote a tip Apr 2021
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada8 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Have lunch on the water at least one of the days"
Read full review
ziolkoski wrote a tip Sep 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"water view, but they are all great!"
Read full review
chuck G wrote a tip Jan 2020
11 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"note---all lodges post list prices...but at certain times you can negotiate better prices"
Read full review
tilac123 wrote a tip Oct 2019
Vancouver, Canada109 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are no bad rooms"
Read full review
canadian175 wrote a tip Sep 2019
Vancouver, Canada495 contributions344 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"request ocean view rooms away from bar deck area"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Richmond area.
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaRichmond
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse
What are some of the property amenities at The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse?
Top room amenities include a view of the mountains, a seating area, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse have airport transportation?
Yes, The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Richmond HotelsRichmond Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Richmond
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars