Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel

beach
Traveller (246)
208 Lakeside 2 queen suite
Room & Suite (119)
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#5 of 5 resorts in Osoyoos
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The team at Osoyoos Holiday Inn & Suites extends a friendly welcome. We pride ourselves on being one of the finest lakeside hotels in British Columbia. Located on a scenic peninsula, our hotel sits at the heart of Lake Osoyoos. Beautifully appointed standard rooms and suites promise guests stunning views. Situated near one of the busiest border crossings in Canada, as well as the junction of highways #3 and #97, our location is perfect for business travelers and holiday adventurers alike. Osoyoos boasts Canada's warmest lake. With a beautiful private beach and private island, our hotel gives its guests unparalleled access to warm waters and summer fun. Situated beside its own Marina, the Osoyoos Holiday Inn & Suites offers boat moorage, as well as water craft rentals to its valued guests. Spend a day paddle-boating, rent a motor boat or sea-doo from our on-site Marina and enjoy Lake Osoyoos in style.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beach
Boating
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Secured parking
Wifi
Water sport equipment rentals
Aerobics offsite
Archery offsite
Bowling offsite
Raquetball offsite
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi, Portuguese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

7906 Main St., Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V0 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
Penticton Airport
49.7 km
See all flights
Vancouver Intl Airport
271.7 km
See all flights
562Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 89
  • 182
  • 114
  • 75
  • 102
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Scott Y wrote a review Jul 2020
calgary, Canada155 contributions26 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in to this hotel was very fast and easy, front end staff are friendly and helpful. After entering our room I found they upgraded us. The room was very clean but they aren’t doing cleaning during visits which is fine by me right now, less people in our room the better( I sanitized after entering) but the price doesn’t really reflect this. A lot of people are using the stairway so they need to spend a little more time cleaning there. Unfortunately their version of air conditioning is a plug in the wall, in the bedroom that you have to climb over to get to the other side of the room. The beach area is nice but bring chairs, not a lot of recliners. Water is cold and a little rocky to get in but then your good. They people here are very accommodating considering the circumstances and I heard a staff member they they have less than half the staff
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Alexander, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jul 30, 2020
Dear 416scotty, Thank you for your review, and understanding the circumstances Covid 19 has presented us. Staffing is difficult to find, you're correct, we have less than half of the staff we had last year, and higher occupancy levels than ever before. We have a really good, core group, and we're working hard as we can to ensure you and all of our guests have a safe, enjoyable holiday. We have recently revamped the way our common area attendants operate, dividing them between service runners, common area cleaning, and beach cleaners, to more effectively ensure all of the work gets done in a more efficient manner. This new system is working well and we're seeing vast improvements in the building cleanliness. Disinfection is occurring in the required timely fashion, and we're trying hard to ensure that our presence is more visible to guests. Housekeeping service during the stay is suspended due to brand, interior health authorities, and the Canadian Hotel Association directives. We will gladly replenish amenities on request, simply call the front desk and your items will be delivered to you. We appreciate you choosing our hotel during your visits to Osoyoos, and we hope to see you back again soon. Sincerely, Jennifer Alexander Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carolle S wrote a review Oct 2020
4 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Not respecting Covid-19 precautions

This was our final stop on a 7 day trip though Okanagan and the Columbia Valley so we had experience with Covid-19 precautions at 3 other places. This by far was the most uncomfortable. In general there appeared to be a casual attitude to the gravity of the current situation with Covid-19. The first clue for us was when a customer, who had just checked in, at the front desk asked for his money back because the room he was assigned had not been cleaned. Unflushed toilet, dirt on the bathroom floor, coffee stain on the wall,etc. front desk just offered to send housekeeping up to clean the room!!! Waitstaff in the restaurant wearing their masks under the nose thereby just covering their mouth. No adherence to their own policy of mask wearing in public spaces, even by their housekeeping staff. In addition to this the room was "shabby". The vanity, which was located beside the bed was held up by unfinished 2X4's and the white PVC piping exposed. A random office chair was in the room, not sure the purpose as there was no desk. The only thing going for this Hotel is the location. Would not recommend or stay there again. Go to the Coast Hotel next door for the same price.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Alexander, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 5, 2020
Thank you for your feedback, Carolle.. I'm sorry to hear that your stay had some issues. I'm glad to hear that your room was clean, but yes, we are under renovations. New vanities will be going in once they arrive. We are following covid protocols, and remind the staff daily to ensure to wear the masks for their own protection, as well as guests. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and will continue to monitor the staff, and will forward your comments regarding restaurant staff to their management. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again after the renovations are completed. Sincerely, Jennifer Alexander Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Norman F wrote a review Jul 2021
Burnaby, Canada73 contributions39 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We over-nighted there whilst traveling from Trail back to Vancouver and although the room was a little expensive the view of the lake was well worth it.

Make sure you book a room on the North side if you want an unobstructed view of the lake. South side rooms I believe are cheaper but if you still want a lake view (over the road) then choose the top (4th) floor.

Check in was friendly and smooth and the underground garage excellent – keeps your vehicle cool and secure. Note that some larger trucks may not fit in the garage in which case there is off street parking out front.

Room was spacious and very comfortable but cleanliness in hidden areas could have been improved – had to move the fridge to check if it was plugged in and the areas exposed were dirty and had not been cleaned for a long while.

Hotel Restaurant was open for breakfast (not included) which was standard Canadian fare and was reasonable.

We would stay at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dennis07 wrote a review Sep 2022
Victoria, Canada284 contributions179 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We travelled in mid September so there were fewer people in the hotel. Our room also faced North so we had a wonderful lake view right from our room and deck. Check in and check out worked well. The room was clean and everything worked. The one thing I would improve was the toilet as it was very low. The beach is right out front. It is easy walking distance to a grocery store.There are walking paths along the lake so we had a few walks even in the evening. Parking is below the building and there is no extra charge for it. Staff were pleasant and would greet us when we met.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelly P wrote a review Jul 2021
Vancouver, Canada9 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We came as a family with 2 black dogs. We requested an early check in which was promised, on arrival at 11:30 am they said we had to wait until 4 pm and was told in a rude unpleasant way. We expressed that we were promised an early check in or we wouldn’t of arrived early they responded “ you can use our beach until 4 pm”. We were upset, hot, had our dogs and all of our groceries and belongings. Once on the beach we were kicked off by another hotel employee stating that the beach isn’t dog friendly.. this left us confused by the poor communication and service by the hotel staff. We were able to check in “3:50 pm”.

Throughout our stay, our experience was unbearable with the front desk staff. No one was helpful, no one knew what was around for local restaurants or activities and when we asked for help we were constantly told “no”. Our room was never serviced or cleaned, we were left with no clean towels or toilet paper, and when we asked for our room to be serviced, again it was promised it would be done, hours later we came back and nothing was done.

One particular staff member was extremely rude, hung up the phone on my partner 2 x when he was asking for assistance and when we told management, the manager just made up excuses for the poor service and did not take any ownership.

Working in the hospitality industry and knowing right from wrong, good services, mediocre and poor this was by far the worst experience for my family and myself. I would not recommend this hotel or stay for anyone or any family. We would of been more comfortable staying in a tent and saving $2,000. I am extremely disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
harewoodwalker wrote a review Jul 2020
British Columbia, Canada5 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
at over $300 a night you would expect a great and clean hotel room on a reg day youd expect a pristine hotel during a pandemic. another couple we stayed with had to move their room due to mold but thats their story.
our story, patio looked like it hadnt seen a wash or sweep in months , food stains , bird droppings, cobwebs missing light covers.the couch looked and felt like it was from the 70,s
the bedroom had a ceiling fan that also looked from the 80s and that was the last time it was dusted . bathroom toilet had a 1 inch mold or whatever ring on the inside of the top of the bowl, so who knows when it was given a good clean with some sort of cleaner. the shower you get to stand in your waste water cause it doesn't drain, takes 10 min after your shower . the beach was wall to wall people , litter all over garbages over flowing . upon leaving talked to the front desk and she knew everything i had mentioned so im guessing im not the first to complain about this room , they just kept blaming the renos , but im not sure what someone cleaning the toilet had to do with renovations. they had mentioned they have passed on numerous times about complaints and it goes on def ears from management and owners.
my wife have stayed at numerous holiday inn locations all over canda, usa and mexico and this by far was the worst . theyre solution was to take 10% off the room,
what a disgrace to holiday inn name .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Alexander, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jul 11, 2020
Hi Jamie Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. I apologize that we did not measure up to expectations during your stay. We have purchased a different product from our supplier to handle the stains on the toilet that are stubborn and hard to remove. We do have a hard water issue in Osoyoos, and this problem is not specific to our hotel. I did receive the pictures you sent, thank you, we've shared that with the team for training and counseling purposes. I'm happy to hear that we did offer you compensation for the inconvenience and deficiencies in your room. We appreciate you staying with us and hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Jennifer Alexander Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daisy B wrote a review Jul 2020
Sherwood Park2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed two nights in a first floor road facing suite, beautiful lake Osoyoos beyond. Booked incorrectly as we did not request a 2 queen suite but rather a king hotel room. Overall cleanliness was not great. At check in, no staff were wearing masks There was no temperature checks, or questions regarding covid —- protocol for Covid did not seem to be strictly adhered to until we said our room was not what we had requested. Front staff said too bad you went In to the room so that’s the one you get! Hallway and room had a pet urine Smell. There were pets in room beside us. We did not request a pet room or have a pet. Road facing room extremely noisy no view uncomfortable chairs on small deck in parking lot. Trucks and vans doing Reno’s parking in front of room almost driving over where we were sitting to look at lake beyond traffic. Door locks not working correctly on either patio door or entry from hallway door. Maintenance had to come for both doors as we locked ourselves out unknowingly on patio and then door lock latch was bent and we became locked in. Stain on white bed cover. Stain on couch in living room. Pistachio shells found near dining table. Fuzz, fluff, dirt dust in corners of bathroom. Bathroom missing tiles of base boarding. Bedroom missing light fixtures just bulbs showing. Portable noisy air conditioning unit venting through front window which had to be opened posing a security issue. Dingy, dark, will never stay here again. When we approached front desk to inquire about a room change not helpful. In any way. Maintenance guy was friendly and helpful and we got to see him twice because of the door locks not working properly. Didn’t seem to be covid protocol on beach area access doors to and from beach, use of beach lounge chairs,Beach towels, bbqs. Must be avoided not worth the price. Disappointing for a holiday inn.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Alexander, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jul 11, 2020
Hi Lorne, You reserved a standard room with two queen beds. You may have requested a king bed, but requests are not guarantees. You were given a complimentary upgrade to a one bedroom suite with two queen beds, full kitchen and living area, and a patio with mountain views. There are concrete barriers, and large, tall planters in front of your patio, the trucks would definitely hit those before they hit you on that large patio. I'm happy to hear the maintenance guy was friendly while he helped you get into your room after you locked yourself out. He's a champ. I'll let him know you're happy with his service. I'm also happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a portable air conditioner, after the AC in the main building went down. Our website clearly states that we are under renovation. That alert has been on the website since October. Unfortunately, some product did not arrive, and we have delayed trim installation as the vinyl floor gets laid first, then trim. It is a minor aesthetic issue that really doesn't have a high impact on the stay. I apologize for the cleanliness issues, some fluff and stains (our new furniture also did not arrive, and we have had to put the old stuff back in), and we would happily reclean the room on request. I have brought these items to the Housekeeping team's attention and appreciate you alerting us to this issue. Unfortunately, when we're at 100% occupancy, there is no where to move you when a room move is requested. I'm sure the front desk tried to explain this to you. This is not an issue that is specific to our hotel, all hotels in Osoyoos encounter this problem during peak season. The staff are wearing masks when social distancing cannot be maintained. Temperature checks are not accurate, as if you have been walking, outside for a period of time, or doing any kind of activity you will be "hot". You'd be pretty upset if we turned you away because your temperature is high after you've been in the car all day to get here. We're not doctors, and ask that if you are sick, please do not travel or enter our building. At some point guests are expected to govern themselves accordingly as we are in the middle of a global pandemic. There is signage throughout the hotel, in the lobby, elevator lobbies, restaurant, elevators, pool, beach access, and beach area reminding guests to avoid crowds, social distance, wash their hands and use sanitizer. The hallway you're describing has brand new carpet. Less than a month old. Definitely no stains, or smells, other than new paint, new wall vinyl, and new carpet, and new light fixtures. Dingy and dark is not accurate. We are a pet friendly hotel. Pets may surround you on any floor. If you have allergies, please mention that at the time of booking so that we are aware and can ensure you're not placed in room near pets if we are able. Beach towels are brand new, and available at front desk. BBQs are outside, and we have placed antibacterial cleaner and paper towels outside for guests to sanitize their chairs and BBQ handles prior to use. We do have staff making the rounds sanitizing as well, and the BBQ utensils are sanitized in the industrial dishwasher at the restaurant. We appreciate you staying with us, Lorne. Sincerely, Jennifer Alexander Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gil R wrote a review Aug 2020
Sherwood Park6 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The only think positive I can think of to say is that the location is fabulous. I have stayed in Holiday Inn's in many countries and I am sad to report this stay in my home country and province was the worst.

I can live with outdated decor but not a dirty environment. Other than the lobby, the hallways, elevators and other common areas are disgraceful. The room was expensive i.e. $419. The previous night we stayed at Nakusp Hot Springs in an older chalet (70's vintage) which was extremely clean and puts this place to shame. I have taken some pictures of dirt accumulation in the bathroom corners and the filthy outdoor deck floor and walls. What a disappointment. To add insult to injury the phone didn't work and when I reported it to the front desk, nothing was done.

This hotel needs more than a renovation, it needs a management structure that cares and understands customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Alexander, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel
Responded Aug 12, 2020
Dear 183gilbertr, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your stay. I will be using your comments to coach our team to improve their service, and appreciate you bringing these items to our attention. I can assure you the management team at this hotel cares about our hotel, and our guest's satisfaction. Unfortunately this year with renovations and product not arriving on time has been a real struggle, in addition to acquiring adequate staffing in a global pandemic. I apologize this impacted your stay. The phones in the rooms are two line phones, and must have a line selected prior to dialing. There is a note on the phone that says this, but it is clear that you did not see it. We appreciate you staying with us and I hope you'll consider staying with us again, especially once the renovations are completed. Sincerely, Jennifer Alexander Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TeaZ wrote a review Aug 2020
9 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We read the reviews of this property prior to coming but, always go with an open mind. Yes, they are renovating and once the renos are done it will be good. The front desk staff were great and dealt with our issues quickly and efficiently. The rooms are sparce and dated even with the renos.. Cleaning standards are not up to meeting what is expected during a pandemic. The elevators were filthy ( especially ) the one to and from the parking garage. I saw the same piece of plastic in our hallway for the duration of our stay.
We did have breakfast at the restaurant, but stopped after the first morning when wait staff were not wearing face masks, and talking over our food that they were serving.
Most staff are limited in English, and that can be frustrating for guests when trying to get problems handled. As observed on numerous occassions.
It has probably one of the best locations in Osoyoos, but really needs to improve on many levels to make us want to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Alexander, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel
Responded Sep 3, 2020
Thank you for your feedback, Teatravels24. We are looking forward to completing the renos! The rooms are sparse as our new furniture did not arrive thanks to covid 19 and the resulting manufacturing / border closures. I'm glad the front desk handled your issues quickly and efficiently. I have forwarded your comments regarding the restaurant to their management team, I'm sorry you didn't have a good experience there. It is very difficult to find people willing to work in a pandemic. The government assistance program wasn't especially helpful to businesses, and people are paid to stay home. We are very lucky to have the staff that we do have, willing to work, despite a global pandemic with hundreds of thousands of deaths, in order to give people a place to go safely for a little respite. I'm certain next year will be a better year overall. We appreciate you staying with us, and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Jennifer Alexander Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RED95 wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of this place is ideal with a private beach and just a few minute walk into town. The beach was not overly crowded which was nice. And they have BBQ's and patio furniture for guest use.

The hotel has been recently renvoated howver, they did things quite cheaply. Overall still pretty nice.

However, we arrived to our room being kind of gross. The entire place is non-smoking yet our room smelled like an ash tray. The floors were filthy our feet turned black after walking on them. Dishes were not cleaned very well and we even found hair on some of the forks. WORST of all we pulled out the pull-out bed and there was 10-15 cigarette butts within the bed. With COVID cleaning protocols still in place at the time of our stay we were DISGUSTED by this. We called the front desk to complain twice and went down and personally talked to them and no one came to deal with the issue until our last night and another complaint. We were given air freshener to try to relieve the smell which did nothing. For the price we paid for this place we were not happy. They only offered us $40 off of our stay for our issues which in our opinion was not adequate. We also had to ask for bathroom towels about 3 times before actually recieving them as rhe room only came with 2 even though it was a 2 bedroom suite.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Linda Griffiths, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jul 14, 2021
Thank you RDER095 for taking time to review our hotel. I do apologize for the cigarette butts you found in your room. That should never have happened. I will admit that the staff should have handled it better, and that the safety protocols around entering occupied rooms may have added to their confusion. I am glad that we were able to offer you an immediate room change, and I am puzzled why you chose not accept that offer. We are working hard to improve the training of our team to avoid issues like this ever happening again, and to improve their problem handling skills to resolve any issues more effectively. Thank you James Young General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Norman F
Burnaby, Canada73 contributions39 helpful votes
I have corresponded with this address before when changing bookings but ended up having to phone.
Answer from HIOsoyoos
Hi there, I'm sorry to hear that your stay was not to up to par, and I have passed your comments to our housekeeping manager. Yes, we make the utmost efforts as part of our housekeeping regiments to clean cobwebs, railings, and windows daily so you can enjoy the fantastic view. it is true we live in a unique eco-system that has many species. Even the smallest of spiders here has the amazing talent of creating a web in less than three hours. We hope to have you visit again. Thank you. Sincerely, Arran, Sales & Marketing Rep
megsitter asked a question Jun 2017
Burnaby, Canada
Is breakfast included?
Answer from Arran B
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Hi there, Breakfast is not included with your stay. However, there is an onsite restaurant Sol Grill Room and Lounge open for breakfast 7days a week. The breakfast menu and pricing is posted on the Facebook page. The suites located in the hotel have fully equipped kitchens also, if you want to eat in.
lfolster1@icloud.com@icloud.com asked a question Jun 2017
Winnipeg Beach, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
Do you still have winter monthly rentals at the holiday inn
Answer from Arran B
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Hi There, Yes, absolutely! There are several Winter Snow Bird options available. Please call the front desk directly. They can assist you with pricing, for your proposed stay.
TWK999 wrote a tip May 28
Rock Creek, Canada14 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"STAY ANYWHERE ELSE!! Horribly managed with the most rude treatment I've had yet!!!"
Read full review
shelley r wrote a tip Oct 2023
North Vancouver, Canada27 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Excellent stay, makes you feel at home."
Read full review
wendy and woody wrote a tip Sep 2023
Union Bay, Canada7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont stay in room 434"
Read full review
Wiley1 wrote a tip Oct 2022
Edmonton, Canada9 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do yourself a favor if your in Osoyoos and stay somewhere other than the Holiday Inn."
Read full review
SaintDeWolf wrote a tip Sep 2020
3 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book at another hotel, skip this Holiday Inn completely."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Osoyoos area.
PRICE RANGE
C$166 - C$242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn hotel osoyoos, holiday inn hotel and suites, holiday inn osoyoos, osoyoos holiday inn
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaOkanagan ValleyOsoyoos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
118
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Osoyoos Lake (0.7 km), Rattlesnake Canyon (1.1 km), and Okanagan Art Gallery (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gino's Coffee House, Convivia Bistro Cuisine, and Campo Marina Restaurant Ltd.
Is Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Osoyoos.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Portuguese, and Hindi.
Does Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Osoyoos HotelsOsoyoos Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in OsoyoosHotels near Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars