Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford

Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford

Traveller (104)
view of front
Room & Suite (48)
Denny's
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#3 of 13 hotels in Abbotsford
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Situated in the heart of Abbotsford, this Sandman is steps away from the city's most popular malls, businesses, and local attractions. Close to Trans-Canada Highway, Abbotsford International Airport, and the Canada/US border, Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford is the smart choice.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:Make Summer Memories | Save Up To 40%

Location

32720 Simon Ave, Abbotsford, British Columbia V2T 0B8 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 69 out of 100
69
Vancouver Intl Airport
64.6 km
See all flights
Abbotsford Airport
332Reviews11Q+A62Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 231
  • 76
  • 13
  • 6
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Erich T wrote a review Aug 2022
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Haylie is always warm and welcoming. My "Go To" place when staying in Abbotsford for business.

Treated well every visit. Thanks again. Keep up the good work


Also great place to stay if you have a pet!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vik Goraya , General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford
Responded Oct 22, 2022
Hello, Thank you so much for the 5-star review, we very much appreciate you effort and time to review us. Also glad to know that you are enjoying your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jj R wrote a review Oct 2020
Abbotsford, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
4 night stay due to home renovations. This all suite hotel is ideally located to most amenities and is well suited for extended stays. Clearly Management and staff are focused on customer care as evidenced by our 1st night negative experience with housekeeping issue which was promptly dealt with via reduced rate for night + complimentary upgrade to full service kitchen suite for remainder of stay.
This is a relatively new build in comparison to most similar hotels in area and as a general comment I would say property presents well both externally and internally. Suites are reasonably large with separate bedroom area. Slightly misleading is the term “kitchenette” as not all suites include a cook top, but that is clearly identified at booking. The only minus I would identify would be the bathroom low end amenities, including smallish white stock type bath towels which I would usually identify with lower end hotels and perhaps the smallest “king” bed I have encountered – which was perhaps the only disappointment of note for our stay. Hotel is priced at higher end of local competition but in my view the premium is warranted by all suite nature, location, and customer focused staff. In our case, pricing specials n effect for our stay was an influence in our selection.
Recommendation: Choose king suite with cook top for any extended stay. Larger with better layout.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vik Goraya , General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford
Responded Oct 3, 2020
Hello Jj, Thank you so much for your time and effort to review us, we very much appreciate the feedback along with the details, this helps us to improve and work on our errors for a better guest experience. Most of the suites are avaialble with Full kitchen and we always are happy to allocate one to our guests on request at the time of reservation. The washroom amenities are Natural and Organic Products made with organic Aloe vera, we only keep them in small sizes so that they are wisely used and not wasted , but we are more than happy to supply more to our guests rooms on request for no additional charge. Thank you for your kind words for the team and the staff, I will pass this on and i am sure this will make their day. Once again I would like to thank you for staying with us and hope to accomodate you in future. Regards, Vik Goraya , GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aaron C wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had another reservation fall through and booked this one from the side of the road on my phone. In the end, this was an upgrade over the other hotel.
The staff was great, they did their best to accommodate all the requests of my kids and pet. The hotel was clean and my kids, who compare covid safety measures to end of the school year, seemed content.
The room was spacious and featured a kitchen, laundry service and a bedroom for a very affordable price.
We were close to two grocery stores so we had the choice to have our own food or go to restaurants like the Denny's that was on-site, great pizza that was close by, or many other great local restaurants. In the end, we tried The Keg (3 km away) and Bavarian Restaurant (closer and really good).
This hotel had everything we needed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vik Goraya , General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford
Responded Aug 25, 2021
Thank you so much for your feedback and are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, we really appreciate your time and efforts to review us, also hope to see you again sometime in future. - Vik Goraya, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alishia B wrote a review Jun 2020
Port Coquitlam, Canada
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Horrible - Do not stay at this hotel I booked a king Suite and was put in one On the first floor. It was noticed immediately that the bar stools for the kitchen looked torn and shabby. It was really early like 1am when we arrived so we were tired we looked around and figured we would tough it out as it smelled like cleaner so I thought. However as we started to get ready to sleep we did the normal checks as one does when staying in a hotel. The bed seemed ok and clean. As we settled in we began to notice flying bugs first one then another then a bunch more so we got up and inspected the rooms more closely the room condition was absolutely deplorable. I have pics I will attach. the couch was broken and filthy it had a caution do not use sign there was hairs and dirt on it. The floors were disgusting and had not been cleaned. The window sills and pretty much any nook and cranny has dirt, grime, etc. The chairs were the same and it was obvious the cleaning was not done correctly or at all so what was that smell? The flying bugs would come out and fly around and low and behold what next bed bugs not on the bed in the bathroom in the hallway coming out from walls or under carpet so needless to say I packed up got the manager to show him the issue. He confirmed they were in fact bed bugs and proceeded to tell me the room never should have been rented do to air intake not open and some sort of spraying done (which caused me to have a swollen throat for three days) as I reacted to either dirt or spray also had allergic reaction on stomach which left rash for a week. Also informed no deep clean done I received a refund but out of our two day anniversary getaway we then had to find new accommodations and take our bag sealed stuff to be treated as well as having our vehicle treated so we did not bring any home and we got no time together for our trip. I have send numerous messages and calls to try and get some of my expenses reimbursed however not even a return email apologizing was sent. I’ve given this time as I was hoping upper management would be in touch so we could work out some repayment or compensation and was hoping that with it’s name being well known as a hotel chain that the management would have good standards and respond appropriately however no such luck...... I’m absolutely horrified and am now considering legal action! Have more photos and videos then allowed to attach....
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vik Goraya , General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford
Responded Jun 18, 2020
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. Our goal is to always satisfy our guests and to provide positive experience. We are really sorry that you were less than satisfied with your accommodation with us. As a gesture for the inconvenience, we generously refunded your charges for full in regards to your negative experience and being known for our great customer service, it came as a surprise, that this was not satisfactory for you. Also for your and our peace of mind, we got our industrial level Pest company to do a comprehensive inspection of the room. As the report dictates no sign of bed bugs were reported in the room, we always implement an aggressive strategy when situation like these are reported to us by our guests. Also my sincere apologies for no returns to your call or messages, we always make sure that the guest calls, messages, request are monitored with efficiency and effectively. Can you please confirm where are the messages or email being sent to, in order for us to know if we are missing them? As we have not received any emails, messages in regards to the concern. Your feedback will be addressed to the team immediately, and also taken as a coaching for our team to perform better next time and improve our standards to please our guests. Kindly let us know how we can have you return with us and we would like to make things right. I can be reached @ 604.556.7263 or by email- gm_abbotsford@sandman.ca for any more issues or concerns you may have. We value your feedback, and really appreciate for bringing this to our attention.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GeoffC01 wrote a review Sep 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is comfortable but you can tell that it's an old building that has been renovated because the floors are wavy, especially in the room we had (I almost stumbled once when my foot unexpectedly brushed the floor).
We were disappointed with housekeeping. With only the two of us we only requested new towels every 3 days and left two coffee cups in the kitchen sink each morning, so I don't think that we were any kind of a burden at all. However, the housekeeper that we met was not very friendly, and even skipped cleaning our room on one day (we removed our Do Not Disturb sign by 11:15 am). We normally only tip housekeeping on the final day of our stay, but perhaps this housekeeper was expecting a daily tip? After our experience, we decided not to tip at all.

We're also curious as to what energy savings are being reaped by not cleaning towels every day when 2 coffee cups are placed in a full dishwasher cycle every day by the housekeeping staff?

Our issue with housekeeping skipping our room was reported to the front desk who said that they would inform the manager, but we heard nothing after that.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vik Goraya , General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford
Responded Sep 1, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for rating us, we appreciate your feedback to review us. This will be used to coach our Team , in order to improve our housekeeping standards. The team has been instructed to minimal use of Dishwasher , until and unless a big load of dishes is to be done. We will make sure the housekeeper are reminded ,instructed and coached on this again. The towels can be changed daily as requested by our Guests, apologies that we missed that for your room. Once again thank you for staying with us and we really appreciate your feedback. Regards, Vik Goraya General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
limar999 wrote a review Jul 2021
Vancouver, Canada
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights, booked through Expedia a king suite. The unit was a nice condo with fully equipped kitchen (no woven), washer/dryer, a lot of space for storage, balcony, separate bedroom with it's own Tv. Very clean unit. We received a 20$ card (gold status with Expedia) to use at Denny's which is actually part from the same building. There are a lot of parking places. Across the street there is a Canadian Superstore and the SevenOaks mall is nearby. We recommend gladly this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vik Goraya , General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford
Responded Jul 4, 2021
Thank you for a 5-star rating, we very much appreciate your effort and time to review us. Also very glad to known that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you - Vik Goraya-GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jackitipton wrote a review Dec 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a pleasure staying at this hotel. I got a free upgrade to a deluxe suite (which was massive-bigger than my appartment) and the staff went above and beyond to make my stay pleasant. The room was Immaculately clean with a cute fireplace and very reasonably priced. It even had a washer and dryer so if you need somewhere to stay long term or even just if your traveling through and get sick of laundromats while traveling this is the place to go. It’s also Central to downtown Abbotsford and easy walking distance to everything with free parking too (a rarity these days)! I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Loved my stay here, a perfect little place to stay in the winter.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vik Goraya , General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford
Responded Dec 29, 2020
Thank you so much for such a great review, we really appreciate your time and effort to review us. We are really delighted to know that you had a nice time at the Hotel and had great interaction with our staff. Once again thank you for staying with us. we hope to see you again !!!!!!!!!!!!! Vik Goraya - GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jalandhar Wala wrote a review Dec 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife & I went to visit my parents in Chilliwack and booked this hotel because we weren’t going to drive home late at night during a snowstorm. The worst mistake ever made!! The most disgusting, filthy & underwhelming hotel room I’ve ever had the misfortune to spend a night in. The couches are covered with nasty stains ( we didn’t even sit on them after seeing the nasty condition). The baseboards were covered with mould and floors are in no good condition. The stench of the room was unbearable. I paid $250.00 for 1 night. This place is in desperate need of renovations, desperate need for some good housekeeping, desperate need of cleaning. 🤢🤮
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vik Goraya , General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford
Responded Dec 24, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Clearly we did not meet your expectations and would love the opportunity to discuss this further. Can you please contact us at gm_abbotsford@sandman.ca , Sincerely, (Vik Goraya -GM )
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
awacsgal2016 wrote a review Mar 2020
Chilliwack, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A great room that was comfortable and well appointed. The staff here are very accommodating as I witnessed on this trip and previously with an event where I had multiple reservations for aircrew visiting for an airshow. I thought the noise level from the highway would cause a problem but I didn't notice it at all. It was nice to be able to leave my car here for free while I was away and it was a short trip by taxi to the airport.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SandmanAbbotsford, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford
Responded Mar 10, 2020
thank you for kind words and feedback, we appreciate your time and are really pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. we hope to see you back again in future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tina G wrote a review Jun 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have stayed here many times and have always been impressed. Clean rooms. Friendly staff 2 restaurants on site . Walking distance to many amenities.Pet friendly and will be back again . Kitchen has everything you need for in room meals and laundry can be done in room as well . Thank You
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vik Goraya , General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford
Responded Jun 22, 2023
Hello Tina, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ann G asked a question May 2019
Renton, Washington75 contributions32 helpful votes
Do your kitchenettes include cookware and utensils?
Answer from Michael B
95 contributions20 helpful votes
Yes there are several suites with kitchenettes fully stocked with utensils but they will provide whatever else you need.
MadTraveller66 asked a question Oct 2018
Vancouver6 contributions
Are there pay per view movies? Adult ones?
MadTraveller66 asked a question Oct 2018
Vancouver6 contributions
Are there pay per view movies? Adult ones?
Answer from Vik Goraya
Abbotsford, Canada
Hello, we currently do not offer pay per view movies at the Hotel. Thank-you
Stacey Holt asked a question Jun 2018
Vancouver Island, Canada17 contributions13 helpful votes
Wondering if the family suites (with bunk beds) have balconies or outdoor space? Thanks :)
Answer from Rick S
8 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes it does have an outdoor balcony for smoking use as all unit to my understanding are non smoking. I do not know of bunk beds but I think the couch is a pullout, or a cot could easily be accommodated.
Wendy W asked a question Nov 2017
Vancouver, Canada2 contributions
witch rooms are pet rooms with king bed.
Answer from Huguette M
West Kelowna, Canada68 contributions38 helpful votes
I suggest you call the hotel directly for that question.
eric c wrote a tip Dec 2023
Langley, Canada18 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Hotel is close to many amenities, location is excellent "
Read full review
Greg Mattson wrote a tip Jul 2023
Vancouver, Canada73 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking spots nearest the entrance fill up first."
Read full review
Kiki wrote a tip Aug 2022
Woodbridge, Canada257 contributions77 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking"
Read full review
Sandy D wrote a tip Dec 2021
12 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pleasant meeting spaces. Carefully check meeting room floor plans to ensure sight lines are uninterupted."
Read full review
SachanDeep S wrote a tip Dec 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take a room on north side for sunny experience"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Abbotsford area.
PRICE RANGE
C$229 - C$290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sandman hotel and suites abbotsford
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaAbbotsford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
139
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford
Which popular attractions are close to Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford?
Nearby attractions include Mill Lake (1.0 km), The Reach Gallery Museum Abbotsford (0.8 km), and Fishtrap Creek Park (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford?
Conveniently located restaurants include Greek Islands Restaurant, Spice Kitchen The Indian Palate, and Nikko Japanese Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford have airport transportation?
Yes, Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Abbotsford.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Abbotsford HotelsAbbotsford Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AbbotsfordHotels near Sandman Hotel & Suites Abbotsford
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars