We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1102 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N6 Canada
E-mail hotel
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
Destinia.com
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (74)
Room & Suite (61)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 20-06-30 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Basecamp Resorts
Updated 20-06-30 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 36 Specialty lodging in Canmore
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Basecamp Resorts is your nightly accommodation destination in the Canadian Rocky Mountains. The perfect place for a cozy getaway with your friends and family to gather and explore beautiful Canmore, Alberta. -3 Bedroom, 2 Bedroom, 1 Bedroom + Studio suites -Can accommodate groups up to 10 people -Design allows for suites to be joined up to a 6-bedroom combination -Fully equipped kitchens for groups of all sizes -Comfortable farm tables provide a perfect gathering space for large groups -Unrivaled natural daylight and beautiful views of the mountains -Roof top patio featuring a hot tub to soak in while gazing at the stars -If your adventure involves Max the dog book one of our dog friendly suites!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Hiking
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
237Reviews3Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 121
  • 50
  • 29
  • 18
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Globetrotting99 wrote a review May 2022
Red Deer, Canada61 contributions54 helpful votes
Room was disgusting ( dirty) and it took over 45 minutes for the staff to find an alternative solutuon to the problem. I tried calling ( front desk doesn't answer) and so 2x I physiclaly walked to the front desk and there was nobody there. It's such a strange set up. Upon arrival, the front desk gal was unfriendly and seemed to be bothered by our arrival. The beds were terrible and uncomfortable ( infact, the worst bed I've ever slept in). They provide ear plugs.. hmm.. red flag! Now I know why. The rooms are so noisy-pipes with water-you can hear every trickle, trains going past all night and day, footsteps etc. It was horrible. I will never stay here again, nor would I recommend anyone else stay. This was WAYYYY over priced and poor attention to details. I was afraid to use the hot tub after how disgusting the room was and after reading about previous guests getting their bathing suits ruined due to hot tub chemicals imbalanced. Don't waste your money! Look elsewhere. I've stayed at everything between tents, hostels and 5 stars, but this was pathetic.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Miller, Guest Services / Front Office at Basecamp Resorts
Responded 3 weeks ago
As our Guest Services explained, and our follow-up communication, this is absolutely not our standard. What you experience was unacceptable and the reason we refunded your night. Our housekeeping manager is investigating and we will be working diligently to ensure this does not happen again. As you can see by are many outstanding reviews this is not the norm and would love you to give us another try. Please contact me directly in the future. Kim - Guest Services Manager
Read more
Gita Clarisse C wrote a review Apr. 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stayed overnight in this hotel and just an hour into our stay my 5 year old son ran to me crying and said that his foot got cut by a " sharp thing" , I looked at his foot and it was bleeding and the cut was about an inch, we searched the place to find out what type of sharp thing cut him and we saw broken pieces of glass on the floor, I wish I could upload the photos here! There were about 5 sharp tiny pieces of glass around the living room,. I called reception immediately and it took them at least 10-12 minutes to get to our room (imagine having an emergency in this hotel?! You will be dead before they get there!). The receptionist came and she did not even bring any first aid kit with her (good thing I am a nurse and I always bring first aid kit wherever I go) and the only thing the she said was "We will inform the management". Then, I asked her if they have a cleaner who can probably vacuum the area just to make sure that no tiny glasses were on the carpet and floor, and the lady said "we don't have a cleaner", so guess what?! I had to ask her for a vacuum and I vacuumed the living room! she did not even offer to help or anything! Before we checked out, we reminded them that we would like to speak to the management and was told that they do not have a manager on-site and that we should receive a call instead, 4 days passed we still haven't received a call. I called just before writing this review and was told again that they do not have a manager around, I told them that it is ridiculous that they did not even show that they care as to what happened to my son!!!! So please, before you check in to this hotel, check the floorings for hazards!! Also, when we arrived in our room, there was a dirty diaper in the 2nd floor bathroom garbage,, very unsanitary! Update: the manager called me and told me that we were informed that she was on holidays-- we were never informed, what we were told was tat no manager was around on-site, that's it.. Then she told me that 4 people checked the room before we got there and there were no broken pieces of glass on the floor when they checked--hilarious!!! she said it probably got stuck from our shoes and purse!! Instead of admitting their mistakes that they did not clean the living room area properly, it looks like she blamed it on us. Ridiculous!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Miller, Guest Services / Front Office at Basecamp Resorts
Responded Apr. 14, 2022
We were sorry to hear about this situation during your stay. As you can see by our many positive reviews we are a tourist favorite in Canmore, and this was an unfortunately situation. We in no way were made aware this was an emergency. Our front desk staff are not equipped to deal with these issues, and we would hope our guests would immediately call 911 when deemed necessary. We were glad to hear your son was fine and did not need medical attention. Our housekeeping manager has been informed of this situation and will be investigating further to ensure this situation is the one and only instance like this in our many years of operation.
Read more
Kelsey E wrote a review Apr. 2022
Saskatchewan, Canada84 contributions15 helpful votes
I assumed, when I read reviews prior to staying here, that the issues were exaggerated. They were not. There are rules and warnings posted all over the suites. Our room was not particularly clean. We noticed hair and dirt when we pulled back our sheets to look at the mattress. The hot tub was always busy which we were not comfortable with due to COVID. It was also dirty. I will forgive the extremely loud train noise that woke us up several times a night as we were expecting that. On the positive side, the place is budget-friendly and an easy walk to downtown Canmore. We appreciated the ability to bring our pet (although we were terrified the whole time about being charged extra if she barked or made too much noise due to the language in the agreement we signed). The self check-in and key code access were also convenient. All in all, we would probably stay here again as it is still the best budget-friendly option in Canmore.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be aware of train noise
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Miller, Guest Services / Front Office at Basecamp Resorts
Responded Apr. 8, 2022
Thank you for visiting and sharing your review Kelsey. We take our guests feedback and will always look at ways to improve our service and property when it is within our control. We do hope you were able to enjoy our beautiful town during your stay!
Read more
mamartin999 wrote a review Mar. 2022
2 contributions
Good location and overall good clean units. This is the third time I’ve stayed and each time there has been no soap in any of the dispensers. It’s one of the easiest things to do so not sure why it’s not done. It’s frustrating when your shower to find out no soap, shampoo and conditioner. A coffee machine would also be a great addition, at least you can make a pot and keep it warm. Although the unit we had us three bedroom there is only seating for four. Two of us had to sit on the dining rooms chairs which were uncomfortable after 4 hours. Some cushions would be a great addition. Overall great area for large groups with enough space that you don’t feel crowded.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Miller, Guest Services / Front Office at Basecamp Resorts
Responded Apr. 8, 2022
Thank you for visiting and sharing your feedback. We are so please you are a loyal repeat guest, and we apologize for the inconvenience with the soap. I have passed this information onto our housekeeping team to ensure this gets addressed. We look forward to your next visit!
Read more
Carter Eady wrote a review Feb. 2022
1 contribution
Three friends and I had the opportunity to stay at Basecamp resorts Canmore and loved every second of it! Rooftop hottub, clean unit, kitchenette style! We loved Canmore and are 100% coming back again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Miller, Guest Services / Front Office at Basecamp Resorts
Responded Feb. 26, 2022
We 100% want you back. We are so thrilled you enjoyed our Resort and beautiful Canmore. See you soon!
Read more
Debbie-Edmonton wrote a review Feb. 2022
Edmonton, Canada1 contribution
If you are booking during covid, I suggest trying another hotel chain. My family member booked, and had to pay FULL amount. He was doing his dilligence and covid tested because he had a cold, negative for 2 days then day before he was booked, he tested positive. He, and I on a separate call, appealed to the Manager, and asked not for a refund, but for a credit to book another time, even mid-week. This person, Kim, had absolutely no interest in helping us out. Although the hotel was "full" for the weekend, she would not take down her vacant sign or even consider thinking outside the box for our very respectful and undemanding request. She stated very firmly that the cancellation policy is 72 hours and there are NO exceptions. Most other hotels would make an exception on the 24 hour rule. She insulted me on the phone by telling me that is the chance you take booking during covid. Well if we did not try and book locally for something, the world would come to a stop. This is what we get for trying to do the right thing. Yes, its on us, but I would not deal with this hotel again, I know of many other hotels who would have at least tried to accommodate us.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Service
Room Tip: Book at a hotel that will have a better cancellation policy .
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Miller, Guest Services / Front Office at Basecamp Resorts
Responded Feb. 10, 2022
As we stated on your google review, Basecamp Properties has worked hard to accommodate our guests’ requests during this challenging time. We have made many sacrifices to ensure our doors remained open and our staff remained employed; however, as we go into the second year of this pandemic situation, we are needing to adhere to our cancellation policy. We are not a large chain, but a boutique hotel that has clearly stated our policy to ensure not surprises for people booking with us. As we all try to do the right thing during the pandemic, ensuring you we are aware of policies is priority. As people continue to travel, they have accepted to take a risk when booking non-refundable reservations. Respectfully, - Basecamp Properties Ltd.
Read more
Family weekend skiing wrote a review Jan. 2022
1 contribution
It is a lovely property, although compact. The parking is very limited. Do not expect to park a full sized SUV or truck on site. You will not even be able to drive around d the back of the Basecamp Lodge in anything of size. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. Text updates and communication were perfect. The check in and check out process was online and seamless. It has everything you need for a weekend of skiing, except the parking… something many properties in Canmore struggle with.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Miller, Guest Services / Front Office at Basecamp Resorts
Responded Feb. 19, 2022
Thank you for visiting us and for sharing your review. Parking is a challenge in our small busy town. We are always looking at ways to improve it, and our 24/7 front desk staff are always on hand to assist and direct guests as needed. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Kurtis M wrote a review Jan. 2022
1 contribution
I was part of a large group that rented two condos for the weekend. I organized the trip and the staff were very quick at responding to questions and concerns. The check in and out procedure was very easy. All and all the condos were great. We had a six bedroom condo which is really 2 three bedroom condos that were attached. There was enough seating for the large group. As well as enough dinnerware to serve everyone. All the bedrooms had queen beds which was a bonus. It was pointed out by some of the group that the hot tub was not very hot. And there were no garbage cans in the bathrooms. The group will most likely like this the location for our yearly trip.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Miller, Guest Services / Front Office at Basecamp Resorts
Responded Feb. 19, 2022
We are so pleased your group enjoyed their say with us. We will definitely investigate the heating issue with the hot tub.With<some of the frigid weather we've had everything has been cold. Get back soon!
Read more
Marion G wrote a review Jan. 2022
1 contribution
Everything are really great ! The bedding is very confortable, the kitchen was very well equipped; the bathtub it was really nice; thank you basecamp for a very enjoyable overnight stay. We will come back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Miller, Guest Services / Front Office at Basecamp Resorts
Responded Feb. 19, 2022
Thank you for the great review Marion. We love getting this feedback. Please get back soon!
Read more
Kevin D wrote a review Dec. 2021
Toronto, Canada28 contributions17 helpful votes
While the rooms are very nice, and the check in procedure was very easy and fast……..when we checked in, each bathroom had a jar of earplugs. Now we know why….. this hotel is not a resort, it is a roadside motel. On one side is a railway, and the other right on a major street. Our group (6 adults) heard every train and car passing by. Very noisy. The mattresses on the beds are not pillow top, they were hard beds, non of us enjoyed our sleeps. While it was very cold, the roof top hot tub was closed. It was the main reason for us booking here. Very expensive hotel night for the value Of a “resort”
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you want a quiet, comfortable sleep, book elsewhere
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Miller, Guest Services / Front Office at Basecamp Resorts
Responded Feb. 10, 2022
Thank you for visiting Canmore. We respectfully disagree with your description of our resort. As you can see by our many fantastic reviews a "roadside motel" has never been stated. Our beautiful town, like all small Canadian towns, does have the historic CP rail tracks running through the Bow Valley. This is beyond our control, as is the extreme cold warnings resulting in our hot tubs being closed for the safety of our guests. We do hope you were able to enjoy the beauty of our mountain town!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$199 - US$432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesKananaskis CountryCanmore
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Basecamp Resorts
Which popular attractions are close to Basecamp Resorts?
Nearby attractions include Policeman's Creek Boardwalk (0.5 km), Elevation Place (0.2 km), and Bow Valley Provincial Park (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Basecamp Resorts?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Basecamp Resorts?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Basecamp Resorts?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Basecamp Resorts?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Basecamp Resorts?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rocket Pie Inc., Tank310, and Stirling Grill & Lounge at the Malcolm Hotel.
Is Basecamp Resorts located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Canmore.
Are any cleaning services offered at Basecamp Resorts?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Basecamp Resorts?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Basecamp Resorts have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Basecamp Resorts accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.