We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Basecamp Lodge Canmore

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (120)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 29 hotels in Canmore
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Basecamp Lodge Canmore is a hotel centrally located in Canmore, Alberta surrounded by elevated peaks. Offering cozy rooms, modern amenities, and a meeting space. Basecamp Lodge offers easy access to Banff National Park. Be sure to book direct for the best rates!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Skiing
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles229 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Basecamp Lodge Canmore earns rave reviews for its cleanliness, with guests frequently lauding the spotless rooms and modern touches. The service at this lodge receives high praise for its friendly staff and thoughtful amenities, such as breakfast baskets and local toiletries. Its prime location is popular among travelers, offering easy access to nearby attractions. While most guests are pleased with the spacious and well-equipped rooms, a few have encountered less satisfactory conditions. Opinions on value are mixed; some commend the reasonable prices, whereas others question the cost relative to their experience. The lodge's atmosphere and amenities, including the cozy fireplaces, contribute to an inviting stay.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Efficient
Amenities
Well-appointed
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
229Reviews1Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 151
  • 45
  • 12
  • 8
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Inspire45026 wrote a review Jan 2024
Toronto, Canada2 contributions
The staff were exceptionally kind. 8 interacted with Joseph and Julia. Their personal care shone through. Very attentive. Breakfast baskets are great - yogurt, muffins, granola bars, fruit, juice. Enjoyed each day with Keurig coffee pods in my room. Rooms are spacious. Sauna very hot. And room to lounge outside your room. Very good price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Thouas, General Manager at Basecamp Lodge Canmore
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed everything we had to offer. On behalf of Joseph, Julie, and the rest of the Basecamp team, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bernice P wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
The room was comfortable and spacious and everything was modern and clean. The virtual check in was so easy and convenient. Basket breakfast was a nice touch. Very reasonable rates. We will stay here again on our way through next time!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Lisa M wrote a review Jan 2024
5 contributions2 helpful votes
The room was immaculate and had a lovely fireplace with a balcony! The staff were all kind, friendly and very helpful. Joseph was so professional, engaging and made our 1 night stay worth it. The kitchen area and lounge space was a nice added touch. Check in- easy check out- easy! Highly recommend! Thanks so much!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cindy C wrote a review Jan 2024
Calgary, Canada11 contributions2 helpful votes
Good value for the price. (For Canmore). Nothing fancy, but nice & clean 😊 A bit of a walk to downtown if the weather isn’t nice. There’s a nice Pub right across the street, The George Town Inn… It’s great for breakfast or dinner. We also tried The Wood(s)? Restaurant d/t. The waiter was great, but the food wasn’t 😏
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not much parking.. I believe there’s one parking stall per room. However, when the ground is snow...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
charlesjef wrote a review Dec 2023
Vestby, Norway3 contributions
Helpful hotel staff, smiling, good clean rooms, good temperature, Quiet. I would stay there again, just a pity none of the airporter shuttles don't pick up here. A small negative that there is nowhere close to eat breakfast
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kris Doucet, General Manager at Basecamp Lodge Canmore
Responded Dec 19, 2023
Thank you for your positive feedback! We're thrilled to hear that our helpful staff, clean rooms, and quiet environment made your stay enjoyable. Regarding breakfast options, we'd like to mention that there are several great locations nearby, including Rocky Mountain Bagel and Chez Francois. We appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tynan s wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
BE VERY CAREFUL BOOKING HERE. I had a glitch on a booking system and it booked me twice in there for some reason, I never found out about this second room until after my stay when I saw my credit card billed twice! Most hotels can realize this and work with you either refunding you or working with you in some other way to fix this situation and satisfy the guest, however that did not happen here. Upon contact with them I was told it is solely my responsibility and there is nothing they can do to work with me and they do not care. Be careful booking here as they do not care about the guest or getting future business from you. And the parking situation is absolutely horrible if you drive a larger vehicle, I could barely get my truck around the insanely tight corners of that lot.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking lot is tiny, don’t take a big truck here. Walls and floors are thin you hear everything...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kris Doucet, General Manager at Basecamp Lodge Canmore
Responded Dec 19, 2023
We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the duplicate booking. Upon reviewing your stay, we observed that you filled out two digital registration cards, leading us to assume you were aware of both bookings. However, we acknowledge that communication about this matter could have been clearer. Regarding the billing issue, we genuinely regret any frustration caused. Our team is dedicated to guest satisfaction, and we apologize if this wasn't reflected in your experience. We value your feedback and will use it to improve our communication and service. As for the parking situation, we apologize for the challenges you faced with a larger vehicle. We'll assess how we can enhance the parking experience for guests with similar needs. We genuinely care about our guests and their experiences, and we hope you might reconsider staying with us in the future. If there's anything else we can do to address your concerns, please feel free to reach out.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mheljey P wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
We took the King Suite and it was spacious, cozy, and clean. The fire place during this winter months really made the room inviting. Easy parking, friendly staff, and convenient check-in and check out! Will come back again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: King Suite with the mountain view is a must.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kris Doucet, General Manager at Basecamp Lodge Canmore
Responded Dec 3, 2023
We appreciate your feedback and your support and we can’t wait to have you back again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hreaume wrote a review Oct 2023
Barrie, Canada1 contribution
Wonderful stay at Basecamp Lodge, Canmore! The rooms were very comfortable and staff were friendly and accommodating. The breakfast baskets were a special treat. I will definitely stay again on my next visit to Canmore!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kris Doucet, General Manager at Basecamp Lodge Canmore
Responded Dec 3, 2023
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay! We appreciate your kind words and your support. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Canmore and making your stay even more enjoyable.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Melissa N wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
The room was absolutely neat and clean! The room was decorated with high quality decorations and furnitures. The bed was very comfy and the linen and pillows were very comfortable. Blanket was light but kept us warm enough. I had a very good sleep. The common area was very cosy, I spent couple hours chatting with my friends there. We tried the dry sauna in the next morning and it felt so good. The breakfast was packed in a basket which can be picked up from the reception in the morning. It was more like a grab and go kind. The overall experience of our stay was positive and I would give a score 9 out of 10. I highly recommend this hotel to all of you :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kris Doucet, General Manager at Basecamp Lodge Canmore
Responded Dec 3, 2023
Thank you for your kind and detailed review. We hope to see you again soon and provide you with another positive and memorable experience. Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your high recommendation.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kelsey K wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
+1
This room was a complete bait and switch. We paid for a king suite, with a balcony, view and fireplace. Modern bathroom. We got a dark dingy, dated room with a view of the back parking lot where you couldn’t even open your windows and we were directly on the train line. The front desk had their hands tied as the room we were supposed to have was given to the people ahead of us - and they only had two of the rooms. It’s so disappointing but we would never stay here again. I’ve included photos of what we booked and what we got.. as well the bathroom fan didn’t even work and we had no view as cars were parked outside our window so we had to keep the blinds closed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Would not recommend staying here. It was a rip off and very loud mid night the trains roll by.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kris Doucet, General Manager at Basecamp Lodge Canmore
Responded Dec 3, 2023
I deeply regret that we fell short of providing the experience you anticipated. Your concerns have been shared with our team, and we are committed to addressing them to enhance our guest experience. I hope you may reconsider staying with us in the future, allowing us the opportunity to regain your trust and provide the exceptional service you deserve
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Canmore area.
PRICE RANGE
C$107 - C$407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Basecamp Lodge
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesKananaskis CountryCanmore
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Basecamp Lodge Canmore (C̶$̶1̶2̶4̶) C$105 - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Alberta) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Basecamp Lodge Canmore
Which popular attractions are close to Basecamp Lodge Canmore?
Nearby attractions include Policeman's Creek Boardwalk (0.4 km), Elevation Place (0.1 km), and Bow Valley Provincial Park (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Basecamp Lodge Canmore?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Basecamp Lodge Canmore?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Basecamp Lodge Canmore?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Basecamp Lodge Canmore?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Basecamp Lodge Canmore?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rocket Pie Inc., Stirling Dining Room and Lounge at the Malcolm Hotel, and Tank310.
Is Basecamp Lodge Canmore located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Canmore.
Is Basecamp Lodge Canmore accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.