Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa

104-1151 Sidney St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1 Canada
Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#8 of 9 apartments in Canmore
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
184Reviews3Q+A35Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 44
  • 36
  • 22
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bonnie P wrote a review Jan 2022
Edmonton, Canada53 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Solo woman traveller stayed a week in mid December on a time share exchange with Interval Int. Good location with in walking distance of many amenities. Enjoyed the Canmore museum and drove up for x-c sking at the Nordic Center ( one needs an provincial pass for parking there )

Had a two bedroom, second floor with jacuzzi which was relaxing and the fireplace made the ambience perfect. Well supplied kitchen. Appreciated second bedroom for family visiting on the weekend.

Sounds carry between units and some late night revellers next door could be heard.

An advance email sent about check in and would recommend calling to confirm. The resort is at times short staffed. During my stay however were very responsive to requests and have daily housekeeping knocks for emptying garbage. At one point a repair to leaky toilet needed and done promptly.

Underground parking included and one elevator not working but other one Ok with access to your floor. As several resorts together make sure you have the correct parking entrance.

Access to all areas needing a code and personally getting into my room at first was a challenge. Would cancel after 3 digit pressed. Staff came and helpful.

A daily resort fee for use of the nearby pool. The pool itself was good including and outdoor hot tub and good for families as had a water slide. No change rooms just washrooms. One had to cross outdoors and use a code for entry, The one time I used at night had to go to main check-in and front door frozen shut. Thankfully staff at desk.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sophieinsf wrote a review Jan 2005
San Francisco, CA7 contributions34 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Sunset Resorts last week for 7 days on a timeshare exchange. I had worried about staying in Canmore as opposed to Banff (I didn't know the area at all) but we were pleased that we stayed in Canmore because we found Banff too touristy and more expensive than Canmore. Canmore is a really sweet little town with lots of great restaurants. There isn't a whole lot to do at night, however, so we ended up renting videos (thanks, Avalanche Video!). It is very conveniently located - about 20 minutes to Banff. The resort itself is very nice - the view of the Rockies from every window is to die for, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom, kitchen and living room were all very nice. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. If it were a hotel, I would give it an excellent rating, but it was pretty much what we expect from a timeshare. We really enjoyed our stay there.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
game_misconduct wrote a review Jan 2013
Vancouver, Canada71 contributions92 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a 3 night winter stay at the Sunset Resorts for 4 adults in the 2 bedroom Jacuzzi room.
If you're an independent traveler looking for a functional condo and plan to self cater, this property will meet your needs. However, if you're looking for a full service hotel with helpful staff and all the typical niceties/services of a hotel, you may be better off looking elsewhere.

The front desk is hard to find, especially if you arrive at night, as the entryway is poorly lit. There is a sign on the west side of the property that indicates you are in the Sunset resorts but not a hint of where the front desk is. It's quite easy to get confused with the neighbouring rental condominiums too. Front desk staff are competent but not overly welcoming. They also state that there is an additional $25 charge to have access to the pool. I've only seen additional facility charges like that at some hotels with the facilities on an executive level or using third party facilities so it's irksome. Parking is underground, which is quite welcome during the winter.

The 2 bedroom suite is more than amply sized to host four adults. The living area is comfortable. The flat screen TV has 40 some cable and local channels. The electric fireplace is a nice esthetic touch but has an annoyingly loud hum. There is another washroom with just a shower and toilet. Water pressure was adequate and there were no problems with temperature. The resort only provides you with soap, shampoo and a warning to not use towels for anything like cleaning off makeup --surcharges apply if there is stained towels. There were obvious small touch-ups of paint and furniture needed in some areas --things weren't falling apart but they obviously weren't concerned with minor repairs.

The kitchen area should have enough basic cookware and utensils for you to do basic cooking and eat a meal in. There is a full size stove, refridgerator and dishwasher with a small supply of soap provided. We were left with dishtowels that I'm sure were clean but should have probably been retired to use as cleaning rags, so stained they were. No dishrack was available, which was an annoyance for those diligent enough to wash dishes but not needing to run a dishwasher load. Extra pots and pans are available upon request from housekeeping but be sure to catch housekeeping staff while they are cleaning to ask for them. Otherwise, the front desk is unlikely to be able to assist. There is a decent sized washer/dryer in the room.

The larger bedroom had a large king sized bed, Jacuzzi in room, and washroom. The smaller bedroom had a small double bed. Plus there was a sofa bed in the living area. The beds were quite firm (which I do not enjoy but that's a personal preference. Bedding was just barely functional and made me think of hospital linen in its sparseness and utilitarian nature. With the door closed and poor ventilation, the room temperature would increase in the night. Pillows were uniformly awful --thin, no pillow support and I woke up every day with a sore neck.

Wi-Fi strength was adequate during the stay. The front desk agent didn't bother providing a password to us so we had to call down to find out how to log in. Cellular phone reception could be fleeting in the complex. There are enough electrical plug-ins that you won't have any trouble finding a spot to charge your electronics.

Other Trip Advisor reviewers have noted quirks with housekeeping and their alternating service schedule. My observation of the housekeeping staff was that they seemed a bit understaffed, rushing to clean all of the bungalows in the complex. Service varied from harried curtness to warm smiles.

The complex is an easy 10 minute walk to Canmore town centre. Groceries and supplies are easily bought at Safeway, Sobeys and Canadian Tire. The Georgetown pub is across the parking lot and guests of the Sunset resort get a 10% off card to use there. The complex is very close to the Canmore hospital. Street lighting isn't the best so it's very easy to miss the Sidney Street turn-off.

If you're looking for an unforgettable venue to stay in, the Sunset Resorts will disappoint. It is utilitarian and will provide a clean place to stay. Stay elsewhere if you want to be pampered.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter S wrote a review Nov 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do you want to check-in to a hotel that requires a floor wash prior to putting your bags on the floor? Does the sight of water damage and possible mold next to a celling sprinkler cause you joy? Do you want to be forced to sit on the side of the pool while your children swim, because the front office staff repeatedly messed up on your booking? Are you looking for a dip in a hot tub with 17 other people in it during COVID-19? Does the thought of staying up til 4 AM because of a party on the floor above you sound appealing? (don't worry, they lit a microwave on fire to keep the place warm). If all this sounds like a dream vacation, then look no further! Sunset Resorts Canmore has it all. To top it all off, you will be offered a 20% off two night stay for any inconvenience that may have come your way during your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Find another hotel in your local directory.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SRC Guest Services, General Manager at Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa
Responded Nov 24, 2020
We appreciate your feedback but we are a little surprised by your comments as we have discussed some of this previously with you. If there are any unit deficiencies or noise complaints, we ask that you contact our front desk immediately so that we may correct them while you are here. According to our records there was no communication until after you checked out. The sprinkler in question was repaired there is no sign of water damage or mold, the ceiling stipple simply needs to be blended in better. We have contacted the contractor but appreciate your report. AHS has set pool limits for your safety which we agree with, however if any of our guests notice a lack of distancing please report it to the Covid Responsible Person so that they may help spread people out.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marisa P wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After contacting this hotel to inform them that we had been in a car accident and could not make it to the resort because our vehicle had been damaged, the hotel confirmed that they would cancel our reservation and that they would be refunding the amount.
They called 2 days after our trip and said that they changed their mind and would only be refunding us one night.
This hotel has very poor communication and after we asked multiple times to talk to a manager, no one was willing to help us. No sympathy for their guests and very unprofessional about how this was handled..
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SRC Guest Services, General Manager at Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa
Responded Jul 21, 2020
It is considered bad etiquette to post twice in regards to the same stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
graciella b wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I wasn’t happy staying on this hotel. They booked us for allotted time to go swimming but when we got to the pool, it was too crowded. No physical distancing. The attendant will just let you in without taking consideration the actual number of people in the pool and she was kind of rude. In addition to that, the pool was so hard to find. It wasn’t explained well by the front desk. It was so frustrating. The beds and pillows were very uncomfortable as well. I dont recommend staying in here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SRC Guest Services, General Manager at Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa
Responded Dec 4, 2020
We have never had a guest who had difficulty finding the pool. The attendant at the pool is counting as people enter the pool and we are following the AHS rules We hope you had a safe trip home. Guest Services.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob B wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have stayed at Sunset Resort at Canmore previously and have always enjoyed the four seasons of Canmore. We stayed at the resort from January 15-22, 2021 and we were very impressed with the recent renovations of the units. New flooring,countertops, sinks, paint, bbq area, appliances and decor have really freshened up the units and made it much more cheerful and bright. My understanding is that they have not completed renovating all of the units yet but when they are completed, they will make for an excellent home away from home.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Canmore is an amazing place to visit at all times of the year.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SRC Guest Services, General Manager at Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa
Responded Jan 26, 2021
We are working hard to complete the renovations and appreciate your kind words. We value our guests, especially the repeat guests like you! We hope to see you soon. Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
liesenluc wrote a review Nov 2023
Bruges, Belgium559 contributions362 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 3 nights in Sunset Mountain Inn. Big room with all you need, fridge, coffeemaker, tea, coffee pods, seating area... Very kindly and very helpful reception. When our domestic flight was delayed with almost 3 hours, the gave us the phone number for calling Air Canada and they gave me their own phone to make a long phonecall with the airline. Thank you for that! The hotel was quiet and clean and has a garden with seats and some loungers to catch the sun. They showed us the Spa, but we did not use it. Location is very good, about 600 m from the busstop for frequent busses to Banff. There are 2 supermarkets nearby, and some restaurants. It is a good place as an alternative of staying in an expensive Banff, and with a very good connection with Banff. We liked it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MayaTraveller86 wrote a review Jul 2020
Edmonton, Canada3 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in a car accident that was not our fault on our way to the hotel. We called to ask for a refund for circumstances that were beyond our control and the hotel repeatedly refused to refund our money for that night. Avoid this hotel if you don’t want to support a business that has no empathy it’s customers.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SRC Guest Services, General Manager at Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa
Responded Jul 21, 2020
We are sorry to hear that you were in an accident. Unfortunately, a last minute refund cannot be extended in these situations. Consider things from our perspective. People can report any variety of reasons that they cannot check-in, but we have no way to verify the veracity fo these claims. It is regrettable, but unavoidable. Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark K wrote a review Oct 2020
Edmonton, Canada400 contributions147 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were so lucky to get this hotel/condo for a week with our timeshare. What a great place, the suite was big and very nice, like a home away from home. We had almost no complaints, we even had a jacuzzi to soak in after our daily hikes. We will defiantly try and stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SRC Guest Services, General Manager at Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa
Responded Oct 5, 2020
We are so pleased that you had such a great experience with us! We will be watching for your return! Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob B wrote a tip Jan 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Canmore is an amazing place to visit at all times of the year."
Read full review
Peter S wrote a tip Nov 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find another hotel in your local directory."
Read full review
Clavie003 wrote a tip Aug 2018
20 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"A room on the south east end will be facing the 3 sisters mountain range. Absolutely glorious sunrises and sunsets."
Read full review
Bob on wrote a tip Jul 2018
Toronto, Canada24 contributions38 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"upper floor - good view - no noise from above"
Read full review
Pat Q wrote a tip Oct 2017
Caversham, Australia59 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"try for one with a view of the front we got one with a view of the car park"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Canmore area.
PRICE RANGE
C$182 - C$365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sunset resorts canmore hotel canmore, sunset hotel canmore, canmore sunset hotel
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesKananaskis CountryCanmore
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Canmore, Alberta) - Apartment - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Elevation Place (0.3 km), Bow Valley Provincial Park (0.3 km), and Shrine Church of Our Lady of the Rockies Parish (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rocket Pie Inc., Tank310, and The Sensory Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Canmore.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Sunset Mountain Inn & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.