We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Resorts Canmore

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Resorts Canmore
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 145: English reviews
Start your review of Sunset Resorts Canmore
 Click to rate
New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Horrible stay. Wouldn't recommend this to any traveler. You can find better accommodations at other hotels and also on Airbnb. Staff is unfriendly and facilities are poor. No air conditioning in early May despite warmer temperatures.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CoreyjRo
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

We normally appreciate feedback from our guests whether it be good or constructive criticism but in the case of this guest his intent doesn’t meet the spirit of this forum. We personally don’t believe that threats of a bad review should ever be used to extract an unwarranted discount. We hope forum readers will learn to overlook comments such as...

Foster City
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although in a good location and within walking distance to town center we found this a second class resort. We were first put in a one bedroom that was tiny and no view. This is the older part of a larger resort, Grande Rockies Resort, across the parking lot which is much nicer and houses the pool, sauna, fitness center,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richb210
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments as it helps us improve our guests stay. We also manage units at Paradise Resort Club at Grande Rockies Resort which gives our guests a wide variety of options and rates that suit your needs. Whether you stay at Sunset Resorts Canmore or Paradise Resort Club you are able to use the amenities at both...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 26 February 2017

I don't generally give bad reviews and have in fact given a positive review to this property a couple years ago. We booked through Sunset Resorts (Paradise Resort Club), but our suite was located in the Grande Rockies Resort. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite (room 345) We have stayed in the same type of room at the Grand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canuck2009
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review but we wish that you would have notified us immediately of any issues that you came across so that we could have fixed this for you. For instance the center post on king beds can on occasion tip over but is an easy fix for our maintenance team if we...

Reviewed 2 January 2017

We just spent 3 days at sunset resort in Canmore right after Xmas 2016. So, long story short, the hardware or facilities of sunset is not in great condition, but, it's fare and you will have pretty much all you need for your stay. However, the service or I call it soft power of it is poor, if it's not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mi l
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, however if you have any issues during your stay please always report them immediately to our front desk so that we may rectify them for you. We pride ourselves on a quick check in service but during peak periods it’s difficult to predict when our guests will arrive and unfortunately...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We decided to stay in Canmore instead of Banff in summer cause hotels were much cheaper in Canmore. And we picked Sunset Resort which was great. Great location. Rooms were big, clean and modern. We had two connecting rooms with full kitchen and dinning area. There was also a BBQ machine on the balcony which is great and we used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maximroy
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are happy that you chose Sunset Resorts Canmore as your vacation spot. Our goal as a resort is to try to make our guests vacations as relaxing and convenient as we can. It is always nice to BBQ and enjoy time with friends and family. We cannot wait...

Reviewed 22 November 2016

Front desk people are all new, did not know answer to our questions, asked to pay extra $30. for use of pool across in the actual resort, room not properly cleaned of previous peoples ice bucket, drape rod no longer connected to wall, lamp button not working, no room service next day, still paid over $100. per night, as required...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanne W
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond in regards to your promotional stay with us. Although it may not be for everyone we feel that it’s the best club program on the market and most guests are excited to receive the information. We offer an alternative travel plan which allows our members not only the ability to vacation more...

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the resort twice now and both times I absolutely loved it. Both times I stayed in a two bedroom suite and the decor and furnishings were top notch. The building and the rooms are very well maintained and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable about services in the area and things to do. The only reason I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

RESPONSE; We are happy to hear that you had a good vacation with us twice. Our staff is always happy to help with anything they can to make our guests stay enjoyable and stress free. We are fortunate to have fantastic restaurants close by. We cannot wait to see you again!

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in a suite and were very happy with the accommodation. The ambiance, fire place, sparkly clean bathrooms and well stocked kitchen made our stay easier. It is closer to Banff and is more pocket friendly, yet easily accessible to all the main attractions. This is crucial as during the peak season accommodations...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yogaprasad
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

RESPONSE; Thank you for your comments we appreciate all feedback from our guests. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to relax in front of the fire place as it can get a little chilly in the mountains at night. Our housekeeping team is really good at their job to make...

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a comfy bed and a clean room this place is for you. There are no huge frills but we didn't expect any! The staff were great and really helpful. The location was great. Not in the centre of town but within easy walking distance. I really enjoyed my stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our staff prides themselves on making our guests feel welcome. We can’t agree with you more the location is perfect with easy access to downtown Canmore and all of the activities in the area. To make things even more convenient for you we now have a full service...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

The resort is within close proximity of the downtown area, which was very handy for dining and drinks in the evening. However, we found the facilities at the resort rather disappointing. We travelled as a couple with my parents and booked a 2 bedroom suite with balcony. The second bedroom was absolutely tiny and we struggled to fit 2 people...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank feebee106
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments as it helps us improve on our services. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the downtown area and I agree that it is very nice for guests to be able to safely walk to and from the resort. I am surprised to hear that you didn’t enjoy the facilities as we not...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.1 km away
Grande Rockies Resort
Grande Rockies Resort
#18 of 29 in Canmore
330 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
518 reviews
0.1 km away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,035 reviews
1.0 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.5 km away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Sunset Resorts Canmore

Address: 1151 Sidney St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Price Range: $236 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Resorts Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Resorts Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Resorts Canmore Hotel Canmore
Sunset Hotel Canmore
Canmore Sunset Hotel
Sunset Resorts Canmore Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Resorts Canmore staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the mountains”
Richb210, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“get top floor !”
550mil, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lower room numbers (ex. 202, 302) are on the end and are far away from the elevator”
jennaaclee, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Mountain view only comes with a 2 bedroom suite.”
TriciasTrips, 13 Nov 2015 | Read review
“read the review for some overall tips”
Imthatguytcb247, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Hotwire.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates