We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunset Resorts Canmore

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Resorts Canmore
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 142: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to stay in Canmore instead of Banff in summer cause hotels were much cheaper in Canmore. And we picked Sunset Resort which was great. Great location. Rooms were big, clean and modern. We had two connecting rooms with full kitchen and dinning area. There was also a BBQ machine on the balcony which is great and we used... More 

Helpful?
Thank maximroy
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are happy that you chose Sunset Resorts Canmore as your vacation spot. Our goal as a resort is to try to make our guests vacations as relaxing and convenient as we can. It is always nice to BBQ and enjoy time with friends and family. We cannot wait... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Front desk people are all new, did not know answer to our questions, asked to pay extra $30. for use of pool across in the actual resort, room not properly cleaned of previous peoples ice bucket, drape rod no longer connected to wall, lamp button not working, no room service next day, still paid over $100. per night, as required... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond in regards to your promotional stay with us. Although it may not be for everyone we feel that it’s the best club program on the market and most guests are excited to receive the information. We offer an alternative travel plan which allows our members not only the ability to vacation more... More 

Travellers are raving about these Canmore hotels

1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the resort twice now and both times I absolutely loved it. Both times I stayed in a two bedroom suite and the decor and furnishings were top notch. The building and the rooms are very well maintained and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable about services in the area and things to do. The only reason I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine T
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

RESPONSE; We are happy to hear that you had a good vacation with us twice. Our staff is always happy to help with anything they can to make our guests stay enjoyable and stress free. We are fortunate to have fantastic restaurants close by. We cannot wait to see you again! More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in a suite and were very happy with the accommodation. The ambiance, fire place, sparkly clean bathrooms and well stocked kitchen made our stay easier. It is closer to Banff and is more pocket friendly, yet easily accessible to all the main attractions. This is crucial as during the peak season accommodations... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yogaprasad
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

RESPONSE; Thank you for your comments we appreciate all feedback from our guests. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to relax in front of the fire place as it can get a little chilly in the mountains at night. Our housekeeping team is really good at their job to make... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a comfy bed and a clean room this place is for you. There are no huge frills but we didn't expect any! The staff were great and really helpful. The location was great. Not in the centre of town but within easy walking distance. I really enjoyed my stay.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our staff prides themselves on making our guests feel welcome. We can’t agree with you more the location is perfect with easy access to downtown Canmore and all of the activities in the area. To make things even more convenient for you we now have a full service... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

The resort is within close proximity of the downtown area, which was very handy for dining and drinks in the evening. However, we found the facilities at the resort rather disappointing. We travelled as a couple with my parents and booked a 2 bedroom suite with balcony. The second bedroom was absolutely tiny and we struggled to fit 2 people... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank feebee106
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments as it helps us improve on our services. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the downtown area and I agree that it is very nice for guests to be able to safely walk to and from the resort. I am surprised to hear that you didn’t enjoy the facilities as we not... More 

1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Good housekeeping. Within Canmore and close to lots of stores. Near Banff but more affordable. We rented a room with a balcony, and enjoyed multiple sunsets and views of the mountains. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was 15-20 years old but very well maintained with fresh paint, fresh flooring, good lighting, good heat and air conditioning. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation here in beautiful Canmore! Our staff works hard to make your vacation with us enjoyable and relaxing. Our housekeeping team prides themselves on their work but we’ll remind them to check all of the areas a little better. We do get a lot of visitors... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This was a wonderful find. Canmore itself is a great place to base yourself to tour Banff National Park and the surrounding area. Sunset Resorts had very friendly staff. The unit was recently remodeled and very well done. The unit was spacious and everything in great shape. The location was convenient to shopping, dining and sight seeing (hiking), etc. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank BusTrav365
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that your vacation was enjoyable! Canmore is surrounded by the mountains and we are situated right in the middle of all of this beauty. Our hiking and bike trails lead you through the most fantastic views of the valley. We hope to see back again soon! More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Pros: Very friendly staff, comfortable beds, large room (we had the 3 bedroom suite), pool/waterpark was great (half outdoor hot tub would be perfect apres ski!), alcohol friendly entertainment areas, great location, laundry facilities and full kitchen in each room Cons: Entrances/elevators are far and few between, WiFi was spotty at best, too many keys and swipe cards (elevator room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenna L
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments as it helps to improve on our services. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities that we offer inside and outside of your room. The reason that we have so many codes and keys is for security purposes we want everyone to have a happy and safe vacation, however we have worked... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Check in went great gentleman was very friendly. Then it went downhill. We stayed in room 230. At first glance it looked immaculate made everyone take their shoes off. 5 mins later our feet were black had to wear shoes remaining time of our visit. Requested playpen for the kiddos. Sets it up and Playpen was broke wouldn't lock on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney S
Alain C, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments as it helps us improve on our services. I am glad that your check in went well but please in future report any deficiencies to our Front Desk team immediately so that we can resolve them for you. On occasion the slate flooring in the unit needs to be coated so we will check on... More 

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
2.5 km away
Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
494 reviews
0.1 km away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 29 in Canmore
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 29 in Canmore
889 reviews
0.1 km away
Grande Rockies Resort
Grande Rockies Resort
#21 of 29 in Canmore
249 reviews
1.3 km away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Sunset Resorts Canmore

Address: 1151 Sidney St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Price Range: $170 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Resorts Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Resorts Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Resorts Canmore Hotel Canmore
Sunset Hotel Canmore
Canmore Sunset Hotel
Sunset Resorts Canmore Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Resorts Canmore staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower room numbers (ex. 202, 302) are on the end and are far away from the elevator”
 of 5 bubbles jennaaclee, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Mountain view only comes with a 2 bedroom suite.”
 of 5 bubbles TriciasTrips, 13 Nov 2015 | Read review
“read the review for some overall tips”
 of 5 bubbles Imthatguytcb247, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“I understand that if you book with the Grand Rockies, which is part of the same complex, the rooms are the more desirable ones.”
 of 5 bubbles Beautifulbluewaskesi, 20 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles 895gabrielled, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay