Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel

The pool
Traveller (44)
Guest Room
Room & Suite (45)
Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#2 of 7 hotels in Whitby
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value

Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Whitby/Oshawa located in the heart of Durham Region. We are excited to bring great accommodations to our guests while they are visiting the Whitby/Oshawa area.

We pride ourselves on having a great location whether you are travelling to a local business, participating in a sports tournament, attending a wedding or just visiting the area; we know how to meet your needs. Conveniently located off of the HWY 401, we are within walking distance from Restaurants and Entertainment such as Kelsey's, The Tap and Tankard and The Greek Tycoon (to name a few). We are also within walking distance from the Whitby GO Station and an hour train ride from downtown Toronto.

Before heading out to explore the area, come and enjoy our signature Hot Buffet Breakfast. We also provide complimentary parking, a fitness room, Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

180 Consumers Drive, Whitby, Ontario L1N 9S3 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 50 out of 100
50
Toronto Pearson Intl Airport
59.8 km
See all flights
Toronto Island Airport
43.7 km
See all flights
227Reviews1Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 93
  • 28
  • 19
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Krista8944 wrote a review Aug 2020
Ottawa, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is excellent, hotel is clean etc but the the COVID measures in place were not well thought out at all and need adjustment. First, the plexi in the front is fine of course but don't have someone at the front desk who speaks so quietly no one can hear her. Also again fine that you have to fill out the screening online form, but why not send that to customers 2 hours BEFORE checkin??? My check in too 20 minutes or more because of this and then after you are done they give you papers to fill out in person with the exact same info you just gave online! Its absurd.
In terms of the rooms, I have stayed at a Hilton during COVID as well and Holiday Inn Express has some work to do. i did not feel the same level of safeness there as I did at the Hilton. At the Hilton everything was stickered that was sanitized, so you knew the room had been cleaned, right down to a seal on the room, the TV remote etc it was fantastic and people were made to wear masks.
Also, our cream on the counter had been used so I knew it was not freshly cleaned.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and it was very quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel
Responded Aug 31, 2020
Hello Krista8944, Thanks for choosing to stay with us among your many lodging options. We also appreciate your candid remarks. We’re always committed in providing our guests with a place to relax and create festive moments, and I am happy that you found our location accessible and our hotel’s cleanliness adequate. I understand your dismay on the check-in experienced, and I am also sorry to hear that the room’s cleanliness did not exceed your expectations. Trust that our hotels do their best to ensure an exceptional experience for all our guests, and we will immediately share your remarks to our hotel’s front office and upper management for improvements on our amenities and services. Again, thanks for your comments, and we hope that we can win back your heart back and try us again. Best, Kenneth F. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicasio C wrote a review Aug 2020
Mississauga, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hotel. It would have a bit better if we had had more time in the outdoor pool but we were time slotted because of covid 🤬. Beautiful clean rooms. Highly recommend it. Did a great job with all the covid protocols and made sure customers felt protected from all the covid measures.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scenic820943 wrote a review Nov 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel while attending our niece's wedding. Check-in was quick and
courteous. The room and bathroom were clean. Breakfast next morning was quite good. I didn't get their names but the two people working in the dining room were so friendly and quick to take away your used dishes. I must give a special thanks to Marsden for helping me resolve an issue with patience and a smile. I would recommend stay at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian A wrote a review Mar 2023
Vancouver, Canada
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed in this hotel several times. this time was to attend a funeral, Our first room was a little noisy being next to the elevator, asked to be moved. The staff was so very sympathetic and acted promptly to relocate us to the quietest room possible. the hotel is clean and quiet. The staff is polite friendly and acts promptly to any requests. This remains our go-to hotel when in the Whitby Oshawa area. Great and convenient location,
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Best room in y opinion 428 or 328
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Miranda Hinsey , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel
Responded Nov 16, 2023
Hi Brian, Thank you for taking the time write a review. Our team takes pride in providing the best experience during your stay. I am very happy to see we were able to ensure you were comfortable and the issue was resolved in a timely manner. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Miranda Hinsey General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nat_Hrynuik wrote a review Mar 2020
Regina, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff at this hotel were wonderful and the included breakfast is a real breakfast with bacon & eggs, not just dry tost and stale buns like the "free" breakfast at so many places. Unfortunately the facility here is very poor. The bed is very high and so soft that you sink into a hole that feels like a booby trap and is almost impossible to get out of. We will certainly never return here and that is too bad because the great staff here deserves to have a much better facility to run.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel
Responded Mar 29, 2020
Hello Nat_Hrynuik, Great to have you at our Holiday Inn Whitby Oshawa. IHG wants to make sure that our hotels are always clean, our service is always friendly at a dependable value. Thank you for affirming that. I am glad that you had a hearty breakfast and allow me to send compliments to our staff. It made me smile to know you had a good night's sleep. We wanted that your stay was a combined sense of comfort and delight and I am sorry that there were some setbacks on room comfort. Your comments bout the height of the bed and the mattress will not go unheard Worry not because I have noted all of these and will be sharing your insights with our hotel management. I know they will look into these and strive to make things right. We hope you will join us again in the future and impart a better stay. Safe travels, Deborah R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Glen C wrote a review Oct 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Quickly in need of a place to stay for a few days and popped into The Holiday Inn Express on Consumers Drive in Whitby.

I couldnt believe the lovely greeting i received from Ali, he was friendly, welcoming and accommodating. He checked me in quickly and gave me a good rate for the room which was so clean, I was impressed! A massive tv, two large beds, and a big shiny white bathroom greeted me. The hotel hallways were vacuumed every day and the housekeepers kept me in fresh supplies. I wanted for nothing - including a toothbrush, which they supplied!

I had the pleasure of meeting Tammy and Bob (front desk staff) as well, both treated me like a friend and I had a wonderfu chat with Bob. What a nice guy!

I felt like Id met friends who let me stay in their fabulous home.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steph 2005-2015 wrote a review Dec 2023
Vineland, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very courteous front desk staff. My son and I came to for a hockey tournament yesterday and I was going to pick up my daughter Freon the Go station. When we entered our room I noticed that there was only one King size bed. I went back to front desk and they were able to manover rooms around so we could have a pullout in our room. As well
We ended up with a huge room. The front desk brought in extra bedding and comforters and even cleaned the room we were in previously because all the cleaning staff had gone home. They went above and beyond. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Miranda Hinsey , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jan 29, 2024
Hello Odyssey629359, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also happy to see the team at the Front Desk did a great job to ensure you were comfortable. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Miranda Hinsey General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
R_P wrote a review Jul 2022
Ottawa, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here to avoid staying downtown Toronto and get a little better value for money. I was a quick 10 minute walk to the GoTrain station for a $10 ride (1hr) to Union Station. This is a viable option to avoid driving downtown. There are a number of restaurants in walking and a short drive away too.

Check in was fantastic and quick with a nice employees who were fantastic. In fact, we left our car there for the day before checking in that night, and they had no issues. We would certainly say, the employees we interacted with were top notch.

We had a nice room on the second floor and it was clean and comfortable. It was obviously recently renovated. We had a great nights sleep. There is a weight room and outdoor pool too, that looked good, but we didn't get a chance to use them. While the breakfast area was tight, it was clean, maintained, and had a good selection of food you normally see at a Holiday Inn Express.

This will be an option the next time we are in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Miranda Hinsey , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel
Responded Nov 17, 2023
Hello Famluvtravel, We truly appreciate your review. We are are happy you found our location convenient for your trip to Toronto. We will also share your wonderful feedback with the team regarding the great service you received. We hope to see you soon! Regards, Miranda Hinsey General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SciGuyMrD wrote a review Jul 2022
Park Ridge, Illinois
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nothing remarkable here. Lobby area is smaller than some properties and separated from room hallways by double doors. Staff was friendly. Rooms were clean. Beds were firm and comfortable. We would probably choose to return on another trip through the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TLG444 wrote a review Feb 2020
Canada
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for 3 nights and found it to be very clean and conveniently located seconds to the 401. There are a couple restaurants and many fast food choices all within walking distance. The service was good and the complimentary breakfast was better than most I've had at other Holiday Inn Express hotels. My only complaint and reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is due to a drainage issue in the shower. By the time I finished showering each morning the water was up to my ankles.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon T wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"DO NOT GO WHILE STAFF IS STRIKING no breakfast"
Read full review
Ramchan B wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel lobby is so unclean. Sticky messes everywhere. Hotel staff is on strike and hotel has fallen too pieces. Do not go here!! Dirty!"
Read full review
Flyer21889659431 wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go! Currently on strike! Workers are currently outside suffering and hotel doesn’t care! Do not come here! Not getting any breakfast!"
Read full review
PoliticoHeather wrote a tip Oct 2023
Ontario, Canada44 contributions52 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Yes. Don’t stay here."
Read full review
Venture59818425142 wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free breakfast included and outdoor pool available."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Whitby area.
PRICE RANGE
C$197 - C$255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express whitby oshawa hotel whitby, holiday inn whitby, whitby holiday inn
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioWhitby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
93
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Durham Escape Rooms (1.0 km), Station Gallery (1.0 km), and Kids Zone - Indoor Party and Play Centre (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Greek Tycoon Restaurant, The Lake Grill, and Sunset Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parkwood National Historic Site (6.6 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Whitby HotelsWhitby Hotel DealsHotels near Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars