We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Tappattoo Resort

Save
Share
30 Tapatoo Trail, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 0B2 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
US$158
US$150
View deal
Official Hotel
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$158
Expedia.comUS$150
TravelocityUS$150
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (79)
Dining (7)
View from Room (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#5 of 19 hotels in Parry Sound
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A beautiful, quiet, relaxing getaway for all ages. A short drive from Toronto at only 2 hours and a quick drive from Barrie at only 1 hour, Grand Tappattoo provides great service and a relaxed country atmosphere. Truly a great place for family and friends to begin lasting traditions.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Hiking
Evening entertainment
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Great View
230Reviews4Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 96
  • 77
  • 25
  • 16
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Daniel H wrote a review Jul. 19
Toronto, Canada5 contributions19 helpful votes
It is a cute enough place, with some real potential. The resort has a lovely little, sandy beach area with a very easy walk out into the water. There is a floating dock, too. There are not enough chairs or umbrellas though, so bring your own if you are coming here. There are enough kayaks and paddle boards and oars for sure. The rooms were pretty clean, but they are outdated. Not such a big deal. We did have a stained sheet that was never changed, despite our request. The rooms are large and the bed (the one with clean sheets) was pretty comfortable. The curtains are not good at blocking out sun, so i draped a sheet over them and that helped. Wifi and the t.v. were fine. The tv is a large screen. Little fridge and microwave in each room is a great help. Breakfast was fine, especially for an included breakfast. However, unless some big changes are made, DO NOT eat at the resort for dinner. The restaurant is not even mediocre. The server was very poorly trained and inexperienced, and she had no supervisor on a Saturday night. For a new management team to leave a restaurant to a very young and inexperienced server seemed a poor choice. The food at the restaurant was for sure pre-cooked and from a box, and then just warmed. We could likely tell you the brand even. The price was pretty steep considering the poor portion size and obvious lack of actual cooking involved. The warming, too, resulted in very overcooked everything. And because it was all pre-cooked, it is no wonder the problem could not be fixed with a second attempt. Also, seasonal vegetables in the summer in Ontario should never mean frozen beans. Rice also should never be dry and overcooked, but again, this appears to have been an issue because of their use of the pre-made type. The resort website was linked to different restaurant information and reviews, and a different menu. We were definitely catfished about the menu and the restaurant. Very few choices. Perhaps it was the 'old' restaurant that we saw. I would make the 10 minute drive (at most) into Parry Sound. The only redeeming part about the restaurant is the view. Overall, I am pretty sure we are not going back. Sorry.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
SaraJaneC5 wrote a review Jul. 5
Toronto, Canada163 contributions56 helpful votes
Read the reviews about Grand Tappattoo Resort and decided to stay- we were just my husband and myself. The place over all is lovely the staff were super friendly. We rented a King suite with the meal plan. The king suite was large- a few minor things needed attention, the fan in the bathroom was so loud that it was uncomfortable to be in there and the screen for the patio was very hard to open- both were easy fixes, Sure the bed was a little hard but you cannot have everything you want. The beach area was great - loved that you could take a canoe, row boat, paddle board out for free and there were lots of chairs here for the guests. There is a large grassed area where we enjoyed watching people play soccer and cricket. Yes this is a family resort but we were always greeted by guests and staff. Covid has impacted the resort but the staff are trying to manage the changes. As mentioned we opted on the meal plan- my husband liked the food, for me it was "meh". I consider myself a proficient cook and review restaurant foods all the time, so for me next time I go I will not take the food option- maybe just the breakfast. Parking is ample here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Sonni V wrote a review Jul. 3
1 contribution
Great weekend at the resort. The entire staff was amazing and made sure that we always had everything we needed. Beach is beautiful and our kids spent the whole day swimming, kayaking and paddle boarding. The food was amazing and the restaurant is wonderful. Highlight of our weekend was the wonderful fireworks on the beach in front of a bonfire. Can’t wait to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Mahjabeen M wrote a review Feb. 2021
7 contributions23 helpful votes
Absolutely terrible experience so far. I booked my "Confirmed" reservation at booking.com for this place with whatever was posted. few days later they came back and said it was a wrong rate and they cancelled my reservation. SO i messaged booking.com and they said this rate was entered by the resort. so whoever made the rate available that person should be liable to pay for the difference. now they are asking me to pay for the difference. This is such a bad example of customer service. to me since i booked it at the published rate with my confirmed reservation, they should honor that no matter what, if they were good business. since they are terrible business that's why they just went ahead with the cancellation without even have the decency to give me a call to discuss. Absolutely disgusted by the service even before going there.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Jalonen, Owner at Grand Tappattoo Resort
Responded Feb. 21, 2021
Good morning Mahjabeen. Please let me start by apologies for the misinformation that you have received. The rate received by booking.com was not from a rate that we entered manually. It was a problem in our system that was transferred between two software programs and as you aware, when it came across, we did not take your deposit as we knew the information you received was incorrect. We immediately fixed the error and reach out to your travel provider of choice. Sometimes problems arise and it does not reflect poor customer service, it is just a mistake that happened and was rectified immediately. All of your dealings were with booking.com during this unfortunately situation and at no time did you attempt to reach out to us directly to voice your concerns about the responses you received from booking.com. When we reach out to you to explain what did happen you felt it necessary to not accept anything we had to say. You abruptly hung up the phone. I do feel that we are not a good fit for you and your family as it is important to us to have happy customers that can enjoy what we have to offer and appreciate it. If you like the area there are many hotel in Parry Sound that can accomodate you and you can still enjoy the beauty of Northern Ontario.
Read more
lucjelena wrote a review Dec. 2020
1 contribution
Loved this quaint little resort, great view from top floor of lake and resort. Access to non-motorized water equipment with no charge was nice to have. Loved having a balcony to sit and enjoy the fresh air with the morning coffee. Restaurant on site, and breakfast was included. Wish we had better weather but the resort was just what we needed!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$119 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioNortheastern OntarioParry Sound
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Tappattoo Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Tappattoo Resort?
Nearby attractions include The Museum on Tower Hill (7.9 km), Massasauga Provincial Park (2.1 km), and Tower Hill Heritage Garden (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Tappattoo Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Tappattoo Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Tappattoo Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Tappattoo Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Tappattoo Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Log Cabin Fine Dining, Kate's Kart, and Glenn Burney Lodge Patio Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Tappattoo Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Grand Tappattoo Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Grand Tappattoo Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.