We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection

Save
Share
30 Tapatoo Trail, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 0B2 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct For Lowest Price!
Booking.com
US$99
View deal
Priceline
US$99
View deal
Expedia.com
US$100
View deal
Hotels.comUS$100
TravelocityUS$100
Trip.comUS$100
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (105)
Dining (7)
Videos (1)

About

#5 of 20 hotels in Parry Sound
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A beautiful, quiet, relaxing getaway for all ages. A short drive from Toronto at only 2 hours and a quick drive from Barrie at only 1 hour, Grand Tappattoo provides great service and a relaxed country atmosphere. Truly a great place for family and friends to begin lasting traditions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Hiking
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct For Lowest Price!
261Reviews4Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 110
  • 83
  • 28
  • 19
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mariejefferson136000 wrote a review Oct. 2022
Clinton, Canada
We really enjoyed our stay at Tappattoo;; Accommodation was satisfactory and the meals were excellent. We will consider staying there again in the future. Since it was early fall, and we are an older couple, we were there for relaxation and some dock fishing. My husband was disappointed that he didn't catch any fish. Otherwise we felt refreshed when we returned to our home in southern Ontario.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bccToronto_Canada wrote a review May 2022
Toronto, Canada52 contributions37 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Stayed for 2 nights. Only 2 hour drive from Toronto. Lovely beach, pool and sauna. Kayaks, canoes, paddle boats for free. Cottage was well equipped with lovely lake view-deck .The staff were helpful and accommodating to all requests. Lovely trail walk not far from property. Look forward to another retreat in this lovely resort
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Hikers wrote a review Oct. 2022
Toronto, Canada1 contribution
+1
Clean room, dining room, and beach Friendly cheerful management and staff Beautiful view of the lake from our balcony and the dining room Cozy fireplace and sitting area in our room Comfortable beds Pod coffee maker,Microwave and fridge Enjoyed paddling on Otter Lake Hope to visit again soon
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring layered clothing, hats and gloves for cool autumn sunrise hikes
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Tappattoo, Owner at The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded Oct. 21, 2022
Hello, Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate the feedback and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to share your comments with the staff! Safe travels - and we look forward to having you back soon. -Nicholas Assistant General Manager The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NicNP wrote a review Sep. 2022
Midland, Canada63 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
We just got back from Grand Tappattoo. Upon arrival, it really is a majestic spot. The views are beautiful. We arrived really early and were impressed we were able to get our room, a huge bonus. Checking in was easy and quick, customer service was great. Went to our room and upon walking the halls we started to wonder what we got ourselves into. Very outdated hallways and common spaces. Lots of carpet, in light colours that shows every stain. To be honest we were a little worried walking to our room. Once arriving to our room we were pleasantly surprised. The room was beautiful. The view from the room was excellent. We went to have a glass of wine on the balcony of our room and notice there was a empty alcohol can precious guests used as an ashtray on the ground. Ashes as well. No biggie, we left the can but cleaned up the ashes so we could sit out there comfortably. We took out a canoe, which was free of charge, and had an excellent time. Went back to the room to relax before dinner after and thought it would be nice to use the fireplace in room as it was on the cool side out. Fireplace didn’t work. A little disappointing but it was okay. Went to dinner at Forest Cafe and it was great. Service was really good and the food was delicious. We have nothing but good things to say. Pool was open until 10pm so we went for a swim. Pool was nice, the area was clean and it was nice and quiet was we were the only ones there. The next morning we found that there was no hot water for us to take showers. Spent a good half hour waiting to see if hot water would kick in and it never did. My husband braved a stone cold shower. I just stuck my head under the shower head and washed my hair that way - this was probably the most disappointing part of our stay. Our overall impression was that this resort has so much potential but falls a little short in the areas that could make your stay excellent. Especially for the price. We stayed in room 82, so if you stay and have this room - at current time expect no fireplace or hot water for showers.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Tappattoo, Owner at The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded Oct. 21, 2022
Hello Nicole, Thank you for your review and providing us this important feedback regarding your stay. We are happy to hear about the highlights of your trip, however we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We have worked with our maintenance department to ensure the fireplace and the hot water are working in the room you mentioned. We have continued to review best practices with our housekeeping department to ensure that rooms and the outside balconies and decks are tidy and ready for our guests. Additionally I can assure you that as resort renovations continue the flooring in all corridors will be replaced. I do sincerely hope you will consider returning to our location - as I am sure you will have a superior experience. Wishing you safe travels! -Nicholas Assistant General Manager The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mmcfaul wrote a review Sep. 2022
Ontario, Canada23 contributions18 helpful votes
Our group of 12 adults had dinner at Tapatoo. Our reservation was for 7 pm and the server took our food and drink orders at 7:10. The drinks arrived promptly but it was over an hour before our appetizers arrived. Our meals finally arrived between 8:50 and 9 pm. During this time the server did not return to our table to offer us more drinks. After the meals arrived the server did not return until we had finished eating and when we asked for our bills she went around the table and asked each person what they had ordered. We finally got out of there at about 10 pm. The mediocre food and slow service were not worth the ridiculous amount of time we had to wait and we will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Tappattoo, Owner at The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded Oct. 21, 2022
Hello mmcfaul, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience in our restaurant. I would like to extend an apology on behalf of our entire team for failing to meet your expectations regarding timeliness and service. We have used this feedback as a training opportunity for our staff to ensure that they are following the proper sequence of service and adhering to best practices. We do hope that you will join us again so that we can offer you a superior experience. -Nicholas Assistant General Manager The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brett B wrote a review Sep. 2022
Great spot for a family. Easy water entry for kids. Have been here many times and have stayed in the cottages and the suites both are great, very clean and comfortable. Tammy is great to deal with, she goes above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Tappattoo, Owner at The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded Oct. 21, 2022
Hello Y4471BCbrettb, We very much appreciate your kind review of our resort. We always love to hear this kind of positive feedback from our repeat guests. Looking forward to your next stay! -Nicholas Assistant General Manager The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lorraine V wrote a review Sep. 2022
Bolton, Canada266 contributions90 helpful votes
We had been looking for a resort, with a beach, that wasn't too far from home. Tappattoo fit the bill perfectly. We had a spacious room with a balcony overlooking the beach and the lake. We made good use of the pool and sauna. Staff were nice and the resort had an easy, relaxing atmosphere. The restaurant's menu is reasonably priced and the meals we had were good. Our room had a fridge and a microwave so it is possible to self cater if you wish. The only comment we would make pertains to breakfast. Unfortunately the sausages and bacon were overcooked but there were other food options. We would come back here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Tappattoo, Owner at The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded Oct. 21, 2022
Hello lorrainev87, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review regarding your stay. We 're delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at the resort and the facilities we have to offer. We will pass along your feedback about the breakfast to the kitchen management and continue to look for ways to improve our service. We look forward to having you join us again for a future stay. -Nicholas Assistant General Manager The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cocojumbo99 wrote a review Sep. 2022
London, Canada
We stayed for 1 week. There are lots of things to do at the resort: kayaking, swimming, fishing. There is a trail in the woods. You can make and sit at a fire. They have an indoor pool with sauna. They are all included. The restaurant is very nice, you can enjoy your meal inside or outside. I definetly recommend this resort.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Tappattoo, Owner at The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded Oct. 21, 2022
Hello cocojumbo99, Thank you for your review of our resort. We're so happy you enjoyed your time on the lake while kayaking, swimming and fishing. These are activities we always hope guests will partake in and have a positive experience with. We thank you for you recommendation and look forward to having you back again for a future stay. -Nicholas Assistant General Manager The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GJThornhillCanada wrote a review Aug. 2022
Toronto, Canada7 contributions5 helpful votes
We paid average $373+taxes etc/night for a few days stay. Low standard in rooms. Swimming area is lacking supervision and sometimes out of control: people flipping canoes beside swimmers and fishing in swim areas. Need to beg for room maintenance; room was in poor condition upon arrival and it was hard to get service. Most of the staff is really nice and hardworking, food is good, but the management is the problem. Heard similar stories from other guests during our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Take your chances because you want to be on a nice lake
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Tappattoo, Owner at The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded Oct. 21, 2022
Hello GJThornhillCanada, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at our resort. We are very sorry to hear that your stay wasn't up to your expectations. We will continue to work as management to ensure that guest experience is top of mind, and work to ensure that the rules at the beach for fishing and recreation are being followed. I am happy to let you know that the resort will be undergoing further renovations during this fall to update the rooms and facilities. We look forward to these improvements and we are certain our guests will be very satisfied. It is our hope you will join us again in the future so we can provide you with a superior experience. Thank you again and safe travels. -Nicholas Assistant General Manager The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan B wrote a review Aug. 2022
Brentwood, California17 contributions5 helpful votes
Nice resort, great scenery, good services and boating activities. Nearby is cute village and active harbor. The harbor has a nice cruise boat that goes on two and three hour cruises. We took the two hour cruise and it was very enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Tappattoo, Owner at The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded Aug. 13, 2022
Hello Dan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We always appreciate the positive feedback and I will be sure to share your review with our staff. Wishing you safe travels and we hope to see you again in the future! - Nicholas Assistant General Manager The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$104 - US$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioNortheastern OntarioParry Sound
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection - Reviews, Prices (C̶$̶1̶5̶9̶) C$135 UPDATED 2022 - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection
Which popular attractions are close to The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Nearby attractions include The Museum on Tower Hill (7.9 km), Massasauga Provincial Park (2.1 km), and Tower Hill Heritage Garden (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Log Cabin Fine Dining, Kate's Kart, and Grand Tappattoo Resort.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does The Grand Tappattoo Resort, Ascend Hotel Collection have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.