We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
29 Findlay Dr, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 0G6 Canada
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (20)
Dining (25)
Room & Suite (8)

About

#4 of 6 in Collingwood
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
86Reviews1Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 16
  • 9
  • 5
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
beachbum1414 wrote a review Sep. 2019
Toronto, Canada33 contributions132 helpful votes
As written in many reviews below the host lacks customer service and is extremely rude refers back to the price which is a lot more money than it is worth. You cannot speak to Tanya without her being warm and supportive which again many reviews state below. As soon as we pulled into the drive way we knew that we had made a big mistake booking here. The yard was not taken care of and you can see there was just no care to the place. Inside was not very tidy. There was hair in the bath tub which clearly wasn't cleaned that day. Expedia does not portray how this place actually looks. Over all within pulling into the driveway then speaking to the host right away ruined what was suppose to be a relaxing night. I would not recommend this place at al.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
JenA wrote a review Jul. 2019
12 contributions3 helpful votes
reasonably close to down-town. Quiet stay in a suburban neighbourhood. House is nicely set up for a comfortable stay. Bikes are welcome which was great for us on our bike tour. Breakfast was fine and our morning host was friendly. Calling in to check-in was easy.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Manju C wrote a review Jun. 2019
Toronto, Ontario, Canada2 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed here for 2 nights for the MAY 24 long weekend. Tanya is an excellent host, easy to communicate and book with. Her home is gorgeous. We arrived just after 11pm. There is street parking and the driveway allows parking for up to 6 vehicles. It is located on a very quiet street and very close to Walmart, dollar tree, and other amenities. The main door is locked using a pin pad. Key in the code provided by Tanya and you are good to go. We highly recommend staying in the Annex room, which is in the basement. Lot of privacy, a large spacious living room, a quaint yet modern bathroom and access to the bar. You may bring your own wine and food and may store it in the refrigerator upstairs. Free WIFI is also present. They have cable and access to tons of channels, they also have lots of movies and DVDs as well. The bedroom in the basement is a double bed* with a large closet and a tall dresser. There is also a night stand and fresh towels and bedding. The room also came with a folder of recommended places to see, visit, dine at, shop.at,.etc which was very helpful. (*the mattress is on the soft side, and swallows you when you sleep. Ideal for one person but if there are two people, be prepared to sink in. I think it might be time for a new one. I also recommend they get rid of the plastic tree and put a fan in there to help circulate the air) Please book what time you would like breakfast as there are other people staying as well and it ensures less crowding. Breakfast ends around 10.15am but they are also flexible, depending on your situation. If you miss breakfast, A&W is around the corner. Breakfast by Kerry is standard - scrambled eggs, roasted potatoes, a piece of ham and some oranges. The backyard is spacious and comes with a firepit and patio. Feel free to dine outside when the weather is nice. This house is only a 10 minute drive away from Blue Mountain and 5min away from Wasaga beach. There isn't a safe or lock box on site, so we kept important items with us when we were out and locked our door. That's a personal preference. The area is very quiet and a safe friendly neighbourhood. I didn't see a wheel chair ramp, but there are only a couple of stairs to climb at the front main entrance. Overall, a great experience and I highly recommend everyone stay here. We look forward to visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Johnny C wrote a review Mar. 2019
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada126 contributions64 helpful votes
and I cancelled from Expedia, it is well before free cancellation time,they wouldn't refund me. still in the process of getting my money back. Wouldn't recommend such a practice. Expedia is no help either.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tanya C, Owner at The Findlay House
Responded Mar. 21, 2019
Dearest Guest, We do not charge credit cards prior to our cancellation policy as it is done automatically through our systems. It is unfortunate that you are writing a review based on never staying with us and are only upset because you cancelled within ours and Expedia’s Cancellation regulations. To my knowledge it is March 21st, 2019 and your booking was December 30th, 2018. Trying to recover funds 3 months later is a bit strange and we do not hold rooms during the Christmas / holiday season nor increase prices. Your room rate was $105. We do wish you all the best but will connect with Trip advisor regarding your review as you never stayed with us. Nor contacted us directly to find solution. Best wishes always, The Findlay House
Read more
megz wrote a review Jan. 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at the Findlay House in the Annex room for New Years Eve. We had a wonderful stay! The host was so friendly and kind, the house and room were clean and the breakfast was absolutely delicious! I know we will be back to visit again soon! We were very happy with our stay. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Susan B wrote a review Dec. 2018
2 contributions
I recently had family from out of town stay three nights at the Findlay House and they loved it. Lovely accommodations, centrally located and very comfortable. They will stay there again. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Paul S wrote a review Nov. 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had a great time at the Findlay house, the room and house were nice and clean and each room was equipped with its own television. We had a wonderful host, Oksana, who was welcoming and helpful. She makes the best French toast. There are 3 rooms upstairs and one in the basement. A kitchen is also available for use by guests
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
TA D wrote a review Oct. 2018
Markham, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed @ Findlay House several times over the course of 2 months last year winter and are looking forward to staying there again this coming ski season. We found it great value for the money. Eclectically decorated cozy rooms with comfortable beds, lovely bed linens, complimentary terry robes, breakfast choices and a couple of areas for relaxing in the evening with other guests made it easy for us to feel right at home.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
thujaoccidentalis wrote a review Oct. 2018
Collingwood, Canada4 contributions
Wife and I wanted to get away from the kids and work for a weekend so we chose collingwood to visit. Looked up some places to stay and the findlay house BB popped up. Never stayed at a BB so thought let's try it. Best decision ever! Did our research and booked online, got some helpful info from the owner,Tanya and met Oksana, hope I spelled it right, when we checked in. Cozy BB, amazing beds, lots of patio space for a beer, close to down town and not far from Blue mountains...lots of restaurants out there as we discovered. Breakfast was lovely and conversation with the other guests was nice. Thank you for a great stay, Findlay house! Drew
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
mary m wrote a review Sep. 2018
4 contributions5 helpful votes
In reading other reviews, I think maybe Findlay house 'used to' be better than it currently is. Previous positive reviews raved about the wonderful hosts and gourmet breakfast... which was why we chose Findlay house. However the hosts were not on site at all when we were there (as a few recent reviews have noted). The breakfast was average and served by a really sweet young girl but it was not the 'experience' we have come to associate with good B&B's. The rooms were very small, close to each other and if there had been other guests it would have been TOO close in terms of noise and shared bathroom use. In her responses to other reviews, I find the owner to be defensive and always refers back to the low price ($120.00). I have been to much cleaner, better B&B's for that price. I don't usually write reviews, but I did in this case because I found the highly rated reviews no longer relevant and hence misleading.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioCollingwood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Findlay House
Which popular attractions are close to The Findlay House?
Nearby attractions include Crock A Doodle Blue Mountain (7.9 km), Georgian Trail (2.4 km), and Sunset Point Park (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Findlay House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Findlay House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Findlay House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Findlay House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Tremont Cafe, Brunello at 27 on Fourth, and Fish & Sips.