We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chimo Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cochrane
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Chimo Motel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Moosonee, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a father of eight children, I can't tell you how fortunate it is to find a clean and affordable motel while travelling with your family. Chimo provides that. It has all you need. It is clean, comfortable, nice washroom/shower/tub, tv, and free internet. Who needs fancy hotel amenities and a continental breakfast when you just want to sleep, shower,... More 

Helpful?
Thank runcoachcanada
Slave Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

The owner was incredibly rude to me, I had a small pug and he called me as I was sight seeing to say my dog was barking and I needed to get back immediately. I stood outside the door listening, when he called again. He said my dog was barking, I was right there. The concrete floors were freezing at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Compasswild
Elmira, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We were catching the morning train to Moosenee and needed a bed to sleep on. Well this is just that a bed. The place stunk of flooding. The main hall between the rooms smells like they have had water issues. Our room smelled like strong perfume to cover up the other smells. Don't get me wrong it was clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank RobMcNall
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

July 31 rented a room for minute, my husband brought the luggage in and my small dog didn't stop going underneath the desk I tried to remove her from there so I removed the chair and I surprisingly saw a 4 inch big sausage rotten she almost took a bite out of it but I had time to grab 3... More 

Helpful?
Thank Francine B
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2016

we've stayed there many times over the last few years. great place for a great price. the kitchenettes are spacious and very handy.They have heated, secure snowmobile storage on site which is great. its close by to all amenities and you can ride from the motel.

Helpful?
Thank Josh S
Chimo M, Manager at Chimo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your good words. It is our pleasure to accommodate you. We had not TripAdvisor account, just registered today to respond. Thank you and we hope to see you next year. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Horrible, don't go there. Owner not pleasant. bathrooms have mould. Rooms are cold. We had an absolute horrible time getting to Cochrane, broke down on route in North Bay. Had to stay in North Bay and also pay for our room in Cochrane as our kids were already at the Chimo Motel. we spoke to the owner via phone, explained... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob N
Chimo M, Manager at Chimo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sorry for late respond,I just registered to day to respond.. I understand your frustration as your car broke down and you had to pay for one room at our place for your son and one for yours in North Bay, but that was something not under our control. I was favouring you by giving... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed a night here. The owner was very pleasant and accomodating, as well as the housekeeping staff. The room and bathroom were both very clean and I had no problems with them. A/C worked great, cable TV kept me occupied, and the bed was fairly comfortable. Overall much better than I expected and will likely stay here again if I'm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Snafu S
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here needing to use the kitchenette so he only had one room that would allow a dog (our jackchi) it only had one bed we had our children with us who had to sleep on the floor. The bathroom door is to low my husband is 6'5 and cracked his head badly. He had a migraine for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shekinah R
Chimo M, Manager at Chimo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We showed our pet friendly room first before you checked in, you and your wife like it, She said" nice and clean room", The room has only one bed, while you are a family of 5 + 2 dogs, that's why we asked you if your family can not fit here try to other hotel... More 

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2015

I've been staying here for over 20 years. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, they have all the amenities such as fridge, microwave, coffee pot, etc. The owner is friendly & will do anything to help you. If you're looking for a reasonably priced room with all the comforts of home I highly recommend the Chimo Motel. I look... More 

Helpful?
Thank John S
Chimo M, Manager at Chimo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you john for your good words. It has been our pleasure to accommodate you for more than 20 years. More 

Northern Ontario
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2015

If all your looking for is a bed to sleep in then this motel will do. Its inexpensive and a usual you pay for what you get. The bathroom is very small as is the separate sink area. So small in fact there's no room for a shaving kit without blocking half the sink. AC didn't work. The blinds didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank TMac_10
Chimo M, Manager at Chimo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and point out drawbacks . The fridge's and Airconditions are changed and the problem you mentioned are fix. IT was nice if you mention us upon your stay we can change the room or gave you a full refund. Sorry for the inconvenience and hope to see you again. More 

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cochrane hotels
0.0 km away
Thriftlodge Cochrane South
0.0 km away
North Adventure Inn
North Adventure Inn
#4 of 7 in Cochrane
54 reviews
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Swan Castle Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Station Inn
The Station Inn
#3 of 7 in Cochrane
47 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Chimo Motel

Address: Hwy 11 West | On the south side of the road betweenSwiss Chalet, and Canadian Tire, Cochrane, Ontario P0L 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Cochrane
Price Range: $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Chimo Motel Cochrane, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chimo Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They have a variety of rooms with kitchenettes, just ask.”
 of 5 bubbles runcoachcanada, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“kitchenettes are great”
 of 5 bubbles joshsK2469LF, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Kitchenettes are the best because they have a full size stove & fridge.”
 of 5 bubbles johnsT2913UY, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
3 of 3