High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark

High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark

50 Brodie Cres Rr#2, Bracebridge, Ontario P1L 1W9 Canada
Mice poop in drawers
Traveller (70)
High Falls
Room & Suite (24)
Pool & Beach (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

2.5
#10 of 10 hotels in Bracebridge
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Situated in the heart of Muskoka, High Falls Bay is a place like no other. At 50 feet tall, with crests of up to 100 feet, the iconic High Falls Waterfall is one of the largest and steepest in Ontario. It is known as the "Niagara of the North". Along the perimeter of High Falls Bay, you will find 3 other Waterfalls, smaller in size but equal in beauty, that can be accessed through scenic walking trails on our property. Also encircling the bay is our beach front, 1500 ft of sandy beaches bathed in sun from the sky above High Falls Bay. ​ We offer: Chalet rentals - 1 to 5 bedrooms Camping & RV sites - Beachfront & wilderness Beachfront waterpark - Day Passes Wedding & Event Hosting Rent a chalet or set up camp and relax while listening to the falls, enjoy some privacy in our wilderness campsites along the Muskoka River. Spend the day at our beachfront waterpark, lay on the beach, go for a boat ride on the river or to the falls, and much more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Hot bath
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Budget
95Reviews2Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 26
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Caitlin B wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I’m a bit shocked to read some of the poor reviews . I was there this past weekend with my husband and 5 year old son . We stayed on the beach front campsites . I didn’t find them to be dirty. The owner Brian did come to our campsite to see us but he was just inquiring if we were enjoying our time and if we had everything we needed . I found him to be very polite and friendly . The young man who works there also was very friendly . They never gave us a hard time about anything . I felt very welcomed by them . I think Brian’s been through a lot there and is misunderstood by many people . Over all we enjoyed our time there as a family and would totally go back !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Staff High Falls, Owner at High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark
Responded Jul 3, 2021
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We love engaging with our customers in order to make their experience as enjoyable as possible. We also pride ourselves on our privacy, peaceful atmosphere and the many amenities that we offer. We do our best to offer a great family-friendly nature experience in a one-of-a-kind location. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
courtney l wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Really not a great experience, was not what was advertised, no pump out station unless you have portable pump out, after we were told we could. “water park” is run down and a lot of broken things on shore..even guest have to pay for the beach. Dog poop on the beach, our lot didn’t have hydro it had to be ran from another site..had to take children off site to use a proper clean beach. very unorganized. Not once did we see Owner to speak to or ask how things were.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yetta52 wrote a review Aug 2020
Cambridge, Ontario47 contributions28 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Thoroughly enjoyed our week at this place. Very safe and the owners were friendly. Lots of activities for kids and close to Bracebridge. Appeared to be popular for true campers. Probably not great for those who who are expecting Provincial Park standards.
Lovely kayaking on the river and given a good deal for the day doing any and all water sports.
Will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
867Nancy wrote a review Aug 2020
Peterborough, Canada10 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our waterfront campsite Aug 2020. 5 adults and 4 children ages 4, 6,8 and 17. We all had a great time despite some rain. Rates were reasonable and the owner was so helpful including a car battery boost! Water park provides all day fun for kids in the children's safe play area and reasonable rates for all day use of water park kayaks and paddle boats. $20 for adults & $10 for kids wristbands. Great that you can try more than one throughout the day. We had friendly camping neighbors, and we all commented on how we appreciated that owner enforces the rules to keep everyone safe & comfortable. Don't expect to party all hours and make your own rules. Children enjoyed sand play and we all had fun playing free volley ball on the wide sandy beach. I do recommend you bring your own life jackets if possible, as sizes are limited and many of theirs are old and well worn. This campground is a perfect place to get out on calm, clean water, relax, swim or float while enjoying the beautiful falls. This was a 3rd visit for some of us and we are already planning for next year!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Staff High Falls, Owner at High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark
Responded Jul 3, 2021
Thank you for your fantastic review. We love engaging with our customers in order to make their experience as enjoyable as possible. We also pride ourselves on our privacy, peaceful atmosphere and the many amenities that we offer. We encourage guests of any age to come stay with us, and also have many child related activities, like our playground, available on our premises. We apologize that the life vests were worn. We have addressed this issue and purchased new life jackets in adult and child sizes for this year. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mateya W wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Camp sites are **very** small. We rented 2 sites for 8 of us on the beach. They put us directly beside the office and public beach which meant people kept walking through our sites both on our beach and where our tents were. Each site was only about 20 feet wide and 30 feet deep maybe. The sites had some garbage on them when we arrived so we cleaned them up and refused to pay the security deposit that the owner asked for when we arrived which we didn't know about (not listed on the booking website page or told to us when we had spoken to an employee on the phone). We decided to stay and try to make the most of our trip since we drove over 3 hours to get there. The next morning we woke up to the owner in his birthday suit walking around the office area and beach (again right beside us). He lounged on the beach for a while which made us very uncomfortable until he finally decided to put underwear on. The whole time his grandchild(?) who was maybe 2 years old was wondering into our campsites and running around unattended. We tried to keep directing him back to where he should be but it was super annoying to be worrying about someone else's child on our holiday. The bathroom areas we not maintained very well half were dirty and clogged by our second day. I felt even more so disappointed because of the pandemic that nothing was being cleaned. We were told over the phone that the showers would be closed due to covid but they were used as well. The public beach was also lined with paddle boats, canoes etc. which normally would be nice but again no sanitizing or social distancing measures were in place so we opted not to use any of them.The redeeming factor was the water fall and the swimming was nice. Other then that I found it to be a poorly operated and disappointing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mateya W wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Camp sites are **very** small. We rented 2 sites for 8 of us on the beach. They put us directly beside the office and public beach which meant people kept walking through our sites both on our beach and where our tents were. Each site was only about 20 feet wide and 30 feet deep maybe. The sites had some garbage on them when we arrived so we cleaned them up and refused to pay the security deposit that the owner asked for when we arrived which we didn't know about (not listed on the booking website page or told to us when we had spoken to en employee on the phone). We decided to stay and try to make the most of our trip since we drove over 3 hours to get there. The next morning we woke up to the owner in his birthday suit walking around the office area and beach (again right beside us). He lounged on the beach for a while which made us very uncomfortable until he finally decided to put underwear on. The whole time his grandchild(?) who was maybe 2 years old was wondering into our campsites and running around unattended. We tried to keep directing him back to where he should be but it was super annoying to be worrying about someone else's child on our holiday. The bathroom areas we not maintained very well half were dirty and clogged by our second day. I felt even more so disappointed because of the pandemic that nothing was being cleaned. We were told over the phone that the showers would be closed due to covid but they were used as well. The public beach was also lined with free paddle boats, canoes etc. which normally would be nice but again no sanitizing or social distancing measures were in place so we opted not to use any of them.The redeeming factor was the water fall and the swimming was nice. Other then that I found it to be a poorly operated and disappointing experience.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Website says $50 security deposit but was charged $100. It had to be cash, if I put it on my credit card he would charge me 13% tax and would only refund the initial $100 if site was clean. He was walking around almost nude, only porta-potties you could smell the bathroom before you could see it. DO NOT GO HERE!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Go somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Staff High Falls, Owner at High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark
Responded Jul 3, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn that your experience was less than satisfactory. We apologize that our fees were not clearly communicated to you through your our website. Our policy is a $100 security deposit is charged on check-in, all of which is refunded on checkout if all the campground rules are followed during the stay. We have done a review of our webpages and online policies to make sure all sources display the correct and up to date information, as well as reviewed policies with our customer service staff to ensure guests are served with professional service. We are sorry that your experience at our campground washrooms was not satisfactory. The campground washrooms are clearly displayed in photos on the campground webpage, and consist of portable washroom units and outdoor shower stalls that are cleaned and disinfected regularly by our staff and pumped regularly by the company that provides them. We have added additional washroom units this year in different areas of the campground to better serve the campground guests. We want to assure you we are working with staff to ensure these bathrooms are kept as clean as possible for our guests, and are looking into larger upgrades in the future to larger bathroom/shower stations. We hope that you will consider our location again and have an improved experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maggie B wrote a review Aug 2020
Oshawa, Canada3 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I been been camping all my life and this is by far the worst place I've ever ever been too. No bathrooms just Johnny on the spot and absolutely dirty. I'd rather pee in the woods, it's cleaner Showers are open but worse then bathroom. With Covid still happening no kayaks, canoes or any water craft is not santized. No people control. There were hundreds there and no masks no distancing. $100 cash deposit they don't tell you on there website after you've already paid to camp there which is extra. Plus $20 per person to rent unsantized water crafts which they don't tell you. Kids toys everywhere uncleaned. Nudity they DON'T tell you about. Pictures on there website show beauty. THEY LIE. Don't waste your money or your time. This place is HELL.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Al wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I'd say it's best to come here with a "Provincial Park" mindset. Very good for camping, dark skies great for stargazing, and a short trail to the falls. A beautiful location.

We came as 4 families with 8 kids total. We also set up a 2 bench food setup. Despite that, we were able to keep our site clean and get back our deposit. Not a good fit for people with the cleanliness of children.

However, it is a campground 5 minutes away from Bracebridge, so there are some amenities. Additional supplies are easily stocked up from the nearby Walmart, or possibly some more local stores if you're willing to go into Bracebridge proper. Depending on the volume, the main washrooms can take some time to be cleaned. It IS family run though, with a majority of the staff being the owner's family. Hot water is readily available, for both the shower and the communal sink at the front of it.

The owner, Brian, was friendly and professional, coming by campsites to check on guests, set up the waterpark for the kids, or chat in the early morning before doing the day's campground and cottage upkeep.

Since the staff is family run, it can take some time to bump into staff to get some assistance. Good to be proactive in asking, as they are responsive.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
petrbr557 wrote a review Sep 2020
Toronto, Canada7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
People will always trash these types of places . Our cottage was spotless , everything worked even the 3 burners on the barbeque . Our cottage looked newly renovated . The hiking around the falls is worth the trip . This place should be a provincial park it is so beautiful . The paddle boats and kayaks looked new and the staff seemed very helpful . The best part was that we could bring our dog along with us , she had as much fun as my kids . We had a great labour day weekend and next year we will be returning .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erin Coldin, Owner at High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark
Responded Jul 3, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our team took care of your needs. We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Staff H
Hi there. My name is Erin and I have recently (July 2016) taken over management of this business and pages. I was also dismayed at some of the responses to customers reviews on this page. I would like to apologize for the conduct of the staff member who responded in such a way, and ensure you and all future customers that our business and new team of staff will be held to a high standard of accommodation as we move forward through this transition in management. Thank-you for you comment.
Steve M asked a question Jul 2015
Is there still a nude beach ??
Answer from Krystal M
North Bay, Canada1 contribution
Was there last night, there still have nude sections
Tamara G wrote a tip Jul 2023
Huntsville, Canada1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"This campground is not what they advertise it to be. They even directed my son down a Billy goat trail which damaged his car. "
Read full review
C27 wrote a tip Aug 2022
27 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sites you book into can get moved around. Campground fire pits are shared Tiny camping sites by beach. Poor management. Washrooms dirty"
Read full review
Jennifer wrote a tip Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go somewhere else"
Read full review
S.H. wrote a tip Sep 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"go somewhere else. many options in the area under better conditions."
Read full review
RippedOff wrote a tip Aug 2019
Mississauga, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not book this place - you will be disappointed"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bracebridge area.
PRICE RANGE
C$180 - C$221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
high falls cottage hotel bracebridge, high falls chalet hotel, high falls chalet bracebridge
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioMuskoka DistrictBracebridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark
Which popular attractions are close to High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark?
Nearby attractions include Bracebridge Falls (5.0 km), Norwood Theatre (4.8 km), and High Falls (1.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Old Station Restaurant, El Pueblito, and Fresh Kutz Market & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Bracebridge HotelsBracebridge Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BracebridgeHotels near High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars