We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 82: English reviews
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Harbourfront one night in preparation for a ferry ride to New Foundland. The Harbourfront is across the highway from the ferry-an easy 2-3 minute drive. No only was the location excellent, so were the accommodations. We had an accessible room; the bathroom was very good. There was a walk-in shower and ample grab bars. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrBabs65
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

For those requiring accessibility, we do have portable ramps, shower chairs and of coarse the ramp to the building. I am also working on a few additional upgrades to make the room better for persons with individual needs but may not get implemented before nest season as we are already experiencing a number of early travelers. I am glad we...

Oshawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Great location - only minutes from ferry. We had a room on the second floor with a great harbour view. However, we had to carry our luggage up 2 sets of stairs. The room was spacious with a small couch to sit and read. It was spotless. The bed was comfortable. Heather was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bev k
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

I do try and remind my guests to unload on the front side of the property, so they only have one set of stairs to climb if their room is on the second floor. I wish I could have all rooms on the first floor but such is not the nature of the older heritage homes. Oh well, we do...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 28 May 2015

Driving up to the house, it struck me that the building was exactly like the photos on the website. I was greeted with a big smile by Heather. She quickly gave me the grand tour. This place has a lots of character. Not luxurious, just really comfortable. I really felt like I was home. Heather has a through knowledge of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert516
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Thanks a bunch. I am actually trying to do some upgrades (an ongoing process) so I will soon need to change some photos. Perhaps the Maritimes will have the pleasure of another visit from you in the future.

Sarasota, Florida, United States
Reviewed 15 October 2014

After reading all the great reviews, I was not surprised at how nice this place was. All the previous wonderful comments are true. Heather was great and very accommodating to our needs, the inn is close to the ferry terminal, and breakfast was wonderful. We stayed both on our way up and our way back and had two different rooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martha S
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

I can not say often enough that the pleasure I get from my guests and their personalities makes it fun to be a B & B operator. Love to see returns also. It is almost like family coming home.

usa
Reviewed 14 October 2014

This was our first time staying at a B&B. Heather is a charming hostess! Beginning with having to change our reservation due to a change in Marine Atlantic ferry's schedule and ending with our breakfast, it was a wonderful experience. We were warmly greeted and shown to our room. Heather also gave us advice as to places to go for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelladyusa
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

I always try and inform first time travelers that B & B's are as varied as the people who run them and the geographic areas they are in. I am so glad I have been able to share first time experiences with my visitors and that it has proven to be positive for those people. I hope you have continued...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 23 September 2014

Location was great especially if taking the ferry. Room was fine, sleep was good noise was not an issue, bed comfy. Breakfast a solid B+. Orientation was a bit long. Good recommendations on where to eat!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jay c
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

J. I know I am inclined to be a bit chatty. I guess I will need to learn to curb the impulse a little more. It was a pleasure to have you with me and 2015 has started so busy that I am just getting back to people now but I enjoyed having you with me.

London, Canada
Reviewed 8 September 2014

The décor is somewhat old and tired, and the building feels more like a boarding house than a typical B&B, but the hostess was warm and welcoming and the price was good. Expect a bit of a confusion finding the location when getting off the ferry from Newfoundland, but even with detour you'll be at your "home for the evening"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

I know we are challenged directionally and have tried to get signage through Marine Atlantic, the municipality, the province and the federal gov't but were unsuccessful. Since the layout at the terminal is changing we have put our efforts on hold. As to tired, it is I who is really tired because I had so many wonderful people this year,...

Wilmington, DE
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This is what you want from a B&B. Heather was an excellent host and provided us with a warm greeting, good conversation at breakfast, and just a good warm welcome feeling. Bedrooms were comfortable, and the breakfast area has ample room. Heather schedules the breakfast serving times to avoid traffic jams in the morning, and that seemed to work pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RickfromDE
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for providing your feedback. Sometimes as a property owner I feel like I have run out of things to say, but as a couple who have met me you know that really isn't true. What I will share now is the travelers I have had since I have opened has been amazing and I am glad you were...

Sackville, Canada
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night and would stay again. It was in the heat of summer and the air conditioner had just been installed. We were quite warm all night which resulted in a lack of sleep. Found out in the morning that the air conditioner was sitting inside of the window with huge gaps around it, not allowing the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iris M
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Sorry about the air conditioning. You are right it did have the gaps and I am working on fixing. Lost my maintenance person so had to install the best I could. Hope to be better prepared next time.

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Had the pleasure of staying with Heather for three weeks whilst attending Maritime Drilling School and can only say great things about the experience, I would highly recommend and was very sad to leave. Heather is really friendly and very helpful with nothing being too much trouble, the rooms are clean and very comfortable, WiFi works well! I don't think...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Warwick1977
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

W. I will miss seeing your smiling face before classes in the morning and after your hard day of training. My off season long term stays always result in a special friendship and I will look forward to the day you bring your overseas friends for a visit to Cape Breton. All the best in the future.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
9.4 km away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
11.0 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
10.7 km away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
63 reviews
39.2 km away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
9.2 km away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At The Harbourfront is a couple of blocks from the ferry to Newfoundland and across the street from the bus terminal. For travelers touring Cape Breton: we are approx 45 minutes from the start of the Cabot Trail. We are near the city of Sydney with all its entertainment events and casino, about 45 minutes from Glace Bay's Savoy Theatre and Miners Museum, the Fortress of Louisburg and East Bay the home of Rita MacNeil’s Tea Room. Also not too far from the many golf courses and festivals that are part of the summer events in Cape Breton. North Sydney offers free entertainment at the wharf in the summer season. New North Sydney Arena and new Culture and Heritage Centre will add to the pleasure of those visiting the area along with the Sports Museum and Fossil Centre, nearby in Sydney Mines. ... more   less 

Additional Information about At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 123 Pierce St, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 1P4, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North Sydney
Price Range: $96 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbourfront Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Harbourfront Hotel North Sydney
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn North Sydney, Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you don't get the "man overboard" room!”
trickangle, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Both our rooms were fine”
JohnV802, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
“If you don't want to carry suitcases upstairs, ask for a main floor room.”
CorinneOrillia, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Looked in a couple of other rooms and do not believe one could go wrong with any room. .”
59alans, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Rooms look over the harbour”
tobybour1, 28 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5