Copper River Motel

Copper River Motel

4113 16 Hwy E, Terrace, Kitimat-Stikine District, British Columbia V8G 3N4 Canada
The Perez Family
Traveller (9)
2 Bedroom
Room & Suite (7)
Kitchenette
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
C$330
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 5 motels in Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
In addition to equipped motel rooms, grounds feature general store, picnic area, trailer rentals, and a prep house for hunting and fishing.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Laundry service
Washing machine
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Room features
Desk
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Hair dryer
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Korean
39Reviews1Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 12
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jbou35 wrote a review Jul 2020
Montreal, Canada22 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stay in Terrace (B.C.) for 15 days. We were visiting our daughter who move recently in that city .One night we decide to go to a restaurant downtown, and on our way back we get lost...no telephone, no GPS. We turn back at Copper river, were we saw a motel open. There we met a classy gentleman dress like a Ritz Carlton employee: white shirt, black pants, and black bow tie. He told me the way to retrieve my daughter address. I told him that if I get lost again I will be back here to rent a motel. The answer was amazing:« no Sir if you dont find the address, come back, I will close the motel and drive you there».
I am more than 80 years old, I have traveled a lot in my life, and I never met such a kind people in hotel business
I dont know how the rooms are, but I am sure they canot be bad with such a person
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BusinessTripsRus wrote a review Mar 2023
Atlin, Canada6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We travel with PropertyGuys.com and enjoy a great motel when we find one. We stayed in a large upper floor room with a beautiful river view.

Clean room & great amenities, a real coffee pot, fridge, microwave, toaster & tea kettle. Will definitely be on top of the list of go-to motels for our next trip.

There is a great riverside paved & then natural trail along the river. Our dog loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
In_the_woods7 wrote a review Jul 2007
Port Hardy, BC4 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This motel is on the Skeena River outside Terrace. We stayed in unit #28 which I believe had been recently renovated. The motel has an old fashioned-feel and charm. The room was adequately clean and everything we wanted/needed was provided, including the kitchen items. Most appealing is the setting on the river with picnic tables, barbque, tented eating areas, cheerful flowers. This motel will appeal to outdoors people, not terribly finicky, who want to be comfortable and safe, and who do not want to pay big bucks to be in a sterile room in a concrete jungle.
It seemed that all the other travellers were from Switzerland and avid fishers. It would also suit families.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gloria L, Owner at Copper River Motel
Responded Apr 11, 2015
Thank you for your positive feedback on us here at Copper River Motel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would be glad to have you back here in the near future. Gloria and James.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MartinRugbyHughes wrote a review Oct 2013
Smithers, Canada6 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Copper River motel on a day trip to terrace. The room was clean and well set out. The grounds are nicely landscaped too. The only isue I had was that when I booked over the phone the price I was quoted by a lady was 110 for a room for my wife and I with our dog. when we arrived the price had gone to 130 and when I questioned the price the language barrier between the gentleman and I wasnt worth the explanation a third time. Other than this the hotel was good.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gloria L, Owner at Copper River Motel
Responded Apr 5, 2015
Thank you for your feedback on our Motel! We are sorry to hear about your experience with us over the pricing on your room, there must have been a miscommunication. We hope that does not stop you from staying with us again and we will try our best to accommodate your every need. Gloria and James.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carla L wrote a review Aug 2013
Burns Lake, Canada13 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When Gloria, the owner offered us their "last trailer" we thought, "uh oh". But as every room in town was booked for River Boat Days we agreed. We unknowingly ended up having the cheapest, easiest camping trip ever! The new and macked out RV she led us too had full hookups, full hotel amenities (phone, wifi, coffee bar, towels, fresh linens, etc) but also had a beautiful fully stocked kitchen, a flat screen dvd with a wicked usb hub, a private picnic table and campfire pit, and a communal bbq area. All this right alongside the Skeena River. Our dreary trip for a doctor's visit became an epic camping trip and to top it all off they had everything (bags, freezer, ice) to store the 15 lb chum I caught! Gloria is a gracious host and I would highly recommend staying here and will be coming back! I didn't see the hotel rooms, but did see a lot of happy people sitting outside on their picnic tables. An experience you can't get at any hotel chain. Book early as this is going to be a busy spot when people catch on to what these 'trailers' are about. Happy RVing!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gloria L, Owner at Copper River Motel
Responded Apr 11, 2015
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Copper River Motel! Our RVs end up becoming a lot more popular than the rooms in the summer, but that is why we carry five of these Trailers all renovated to match your every need a regular room may have. Thank you for your awesome review on us and we hope to have you book with us again! Gloria and James.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter C wrote a review Apr 2014
Darwin, Australia31 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
If you fish the Copper river, this is a very convenient spot. I've stayed in the bigger rooms on the left side a few times and the TV and the room layout is very good. Usually space to put boat in one spot and truck next to it. The only painful thing is the cell coverage and the, at the time, reasonably poor wifi, although this may have been improved. The owners were Asian and difficult to communicate with, which made reservations, questions, negotiations etc somewhat difficult. Despite any of that, I wouldn't hesitate to stay in the rooms on the left again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Left side rooms are good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gloria L, Owner at Copper River Motel
Responded Apr 5, 2015
We are always glad to have people who like to fish stay with us here at Copper River Motel. You will also be happy to know that there is now great cell coverage in the area and we have updated the internet connection. We provide two wifi networks now. We are also sorry to hear about the difficulty with communication you experienced and hope that does not stop you from booking with us again. Thank you for your feedback. Gloria and James.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OnlyTravelsForWork wrote a review Oct 2015
Telkwa, Canada6 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It's what you would expect for a small motel on the outskirts of town. The service was good, but my room was tiny with an old noisy bed and dirty / damaged furnishings. It has potential, especially considering the location, but after one barely satisfactory night I will not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gloria L, Front Office Manager at Copper River Motel
Responded Oct 25, 2015
I apologize for the unpleasant stay you had with us. every review counts and I will be taking this one especially into account. Thank you for considering and mentioning our service its one aspect we pride ourselves in. We will be looking into what we can do to better the rooms so no one else is disappointed. I appreciate your feedback and hope your next time in Terrace is better in all aspects.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sjrav wrote a review Nov 2014
18 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I ended up needing a room late at night and the only place was Copper River. From the outside i was not impressed but needed a bed, the only one was the "small" room. Its TINY, but it suited my needs perfectly (all i needed was the bed) the bathroom has been updated to be very nice and the bed and mattress seem very new (and VERY comfortable). All in all a very clean, cozy and all around nice place to stay (and does not break the bank) i will be back!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gloria L, Owner at Copper River Motel
Responded Apr 5, 2015
Thank you for your awesome review on us here at Copper River Motel. I'm glad we could accommodate your needs and hope to have you back with us again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Beezee12 wrote a review Jun 2013
Nanaimo59 contributions29 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Average rating for comparison but excellent for the value you get for the price. The motel is just off the highway next to the mighty Skeena River. The motel is two separate buildings in a L shape. At the corner between the two building is a cute little BBQ and picnic area where you overlook the river. The one section is parallel with the river has the best view, as another reviewer said, a relaxing view. We were in this section with a kitchenette. It has a full size apartment size fridge and good dishes and pots & pans (on Vancouver Island most places with kitchenettes the dishes & pots are total garbage so this was a pleasant surprise). A small kitchen table with 2 chairs, a chesterfield, coffee table, fireplace and more.

The other building (west side) does not have a view except over an empty field - nice not looking upon another building. Each suite has its own picnic table outside the door. There is a center section with another large picnic area.

The opposite side (east side) of the motel is a small RV campground along the river.

Family run with one maid helper. Very friendly. The room was clean. The bed was queen that we had but it was a lower end quality bed (no memory foam) so was on the hard side but for the cost of the room one cannot complain. We would have no issues in staying here again if we can get riverside.

About 5 minutes from downtown. Great for commuting to Kitimat as it saves you from having to go through town and is also about 5-10 minutes from Lakesle Lake which is a real gem.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Try to get a room that is riverside.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gloria L, Owner at Copper River Motel
Responded Apr 11, 2015
Thank you for taking your time to write out this review on us here at Copper River Motel. Sorry to hear about your uncomfortable stay on one of the queen beds. We have replaced and included many accessories in the rooms since then, including the beds! We hope you book with us again in the near future and we can try getting you that river view. Gloria and James.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gloria T wrote a review May 2013
Masset, Canada2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A good clean, quiet , friendly place to stay. I would recommend this Motel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Terrace. The Copper River Motel is far enough out of town that the traffic is fairly light. The people who run this place have to be commended for their friendliness and cleanliness. Just a great place to stay, that's all I can say.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gloria L, Owner at Copper River Motel
Responded Apr 11, 2015
Thank you for such a positive review on us here at Copper River Motel. We love hearing about our customers experiences here and are hopefully looking forward to having you book with us again! Gloria and James.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leeanne61 asked a question Feb 2015
Calgary, Canada37 contributions28 helpful votes
Do you accept pets?
Bob Crosby wrote a tip Sep 2019
Terrace, Canada5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"we have rooms with a lovely view of the river. Very serene. Close to local amenities"
Read full review
Linda H wrote a tip May 2019
Cranbrook48 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I think any room would be great"
Read full review
mamabearpapabear wrote a tip Dec 2018
Morden, Canada18 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They have kitchen room and RV trailers rooms to plus normal rooms"
Read full review
artisan25 wrote a tip Sep 2018
Victoria, Canada10 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I booked a room with a kitchenette which had an excellent view of the Skenna river which was prefect!"
Read full review
Joachi-Pohl wrote a tip Sep 2016
Ascheberg, Germany7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"egal, alle Zimmer sind oK; whatever, all rooms are oK !!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Terrace area.
PRICE RANGE
C$149 - C$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKitimat-Stikine DistrictTerrace
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Copper River Motel - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Copper River Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Copper River Motel?
Nearby attractions include Lakelse Lake Provincial Park (3.3 km), Heritage Park Museum (2.9 km), and George Little House (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Copper River Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Copper River Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Copper River Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Copper River Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Copper River Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Don Diego's, Hot House, and Blue Fin Sushi Bar.
Are any cleaning services offered at Copper River Motel?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Copper River Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Copper River Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Korean.
All Terrace HotelsTerrace Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TerraceHotels near Copper River Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars