We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
9724 Third St, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3A2 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Vio.com
US$132
View deal
Booking.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (49)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (16)

About

#2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sidney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The award winning Beacon Inn offers 5-Star luxury in the heart of Sidney. Centrally located in a quaint seaside community, close to Victoria, Butchart Gardens, BC ferries (to Vancouver & Gulf Islands) and WA State ferries (to San Juan Islands & Anacortes), as well as the Victoria airport. Our adult-oriented Inn offers many complimentary extras, including continental-style breakfast; afternoon Sherry; coffee/tea/snacks; off-street parking; local phone calling and WiFi. Nine beautifully appointed guestrooms with feather beds, spa-inspired ensuite bathrooms, gas F/P's and A/C. An easy stroll to many unique local shops, a great selection of eateries, coffee houses, and the spectacular Sidney waterfront just 2 blocks away. Area activities include, golf, wine tasting and tours, whale watching, cycling, kayaking and boating to name just a few. Located just 2 blocks south of the main street.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Bowling offsite
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French
180Reviews1Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 140
  • 27
  • 8
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Talia H wrote a review Aug. 2022
Olympia, Washington44 contributions4 helpful votes
So fun to come back to Sidney,BC. The Beacon Inn is as lovely as ever. Perfect location, which allows you to walk to dinner and shop. Our only disappointment is the breakfast. It’s no fun having it outside our door. Can’t wait till it’s back in the cozy dining area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise Peat, General Manager at Beacon Inn at Sidney
Responded Sep. 6, 2022
Thank you for your feedback and for once again staying with us, we always enjoy seeing familiar faces! I'd like to take a moment to address your comments regarding breakfast. Over the past 2 years of the pandemic, our industry has been one of the hardest hit and continues to face ongoing supply chain issues as well as critical staffing shortages, sadly resulting in many business closures in our area. However, I'm delighted to say we have faced these many challenges head on, pivoting and adapting on an ongoing basis, while striving to maintain the level of service guests have always enjoyed. With that said, we have made a few necessary changes to the way we do things in order to be able to continue to offer “complimentary” breakfasts. We have pivoted away from the more formal, sit down breakfasts in our dining room and instead offer a complimentary "continental-style" breakfast to the guestroom door, that guests can enjoy in the comfort and privacy of their own room and we have found this has worked very well for us, but more importantly has been well received by our guests! Thank you again and take care, we will look forward to seeing you again on a future visit to Sidney! Warmest regards, Denise and the Beacon Inn Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
directine wrote a review Jul. 2022
Vancouver, Canada17 contributions3 helpful votes
Great location, very clean, and super nice staff. Can't ask for more! Oh wait, a decanter of sherry in each room? Bonus! I didn't even know I liked sherry until staying here and trying some each evening. We walked everywhere, but there is easy parking for when we return with a car - because we will be returning! As other reviews have stated, breakfast is less than continental, so we went out each morning. It was a small yogurt, juice, bowl of fruit, babybel cheeses, and mini quiche or scone depending on day. Nice gesture though! There was also milk and cereal in the hallway if we wanted. We felt very comfortable coming and going as the door has a code and you don't need to interact with anyone. Their website photos don't do it justice by the way! Even the other rooms we peaked into when doors were left open looked great, better than photos.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Stairs only, no elevator
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise Peat, General Manager at Beacon Inn at Sidney
Responded Sep. 6, 2022
We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciate the feedback! We continually review and tweak how we do things such as the amenities we provide, as well as our complimentary "continental-style" breakfasts and take all feedback into consideration. Thank you for staying with us, we will look forward to seeing you again soon! Warm regards, Denise and the Beacon Inn Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
oldiverrob wrote a review Apr. 2022
Calgary, Canada19 contributions11 helpful votes
The inn is a wonderful old home, and the room was tastefully decorated with all the amenities. The bed was very comfortable. However, when walking around the room I couldn’t get the song “Sign, Sign, Everywhere a Sign” out of my mind. There was no lack of instructions/directions pasted everywhere. My big beef is it’s a bed & breakfast. You could go into any restaurant in Sidney and get a meal. So why is the Beacon Inn providing a cold prepackaged container with most breakfast items right from Costco. I’ve stayed in high end B&B’s world wide, and for almost $200 per night you always get a hot sit down breakfast. Totally disappointing. Next I ask before reserving.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask if they’re serving a typical breakfast or providing a container in the fridge before reserving.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise Peat, General Manager at Beacon Inn at Sidney
Responded Apr. 19, 2022
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay for the benefit of other travellers. I would like to take this opportunity to address your comments below. First, I would like to clarify that we are not a “B&B”, we are a small inn (similar to a boutique hotel), that offers a complimentary, continental-style breakfast. Second, when the pandemic first hit it created serious challenges for many businesses, however the tourism and hospitality sector has been the hardest hit with many of those same challenges still ongoing, perhaps you are simply not aware of them. The ongoing and serious labour shortage, particularly in our geographic area, with an aging and wealthy demographic, has now been exacerbated since the pandemic. Unable to find cooks and servers many area restaurants have been forced to close. For this reason and others, we made the decision to pivot from offering a complimentary “full” breakfast in our dining room, to a more informal “continental-style” breakfast delivered to each guestroom. We have found our “continental-style” breakfasts have been very well received by our guests - they no longer feel constrained by limited, set, seating times in the dining room, they can now choose to eat whenever they choose, be that at 6am before an early flight, or at 10:30am after sleeping late. We also find many of our guests are still taking precautions and feel more comfortable enjoying breakfast in their room, rather than in a dining room amongst other travellers. Additionally our quiches and muffins served with breakfast are all made in-house. As we have not yet perfected the art of making our own cheese and yogurt, they will remain among the items we purchase from the grocery store. Lastly, a word about room signage: We have always tried to keep signs to a minimum, only implementing signage for issues that have arisen frequently from guests, such as how to use the in-room coffee maker. During the pandemic, for health and safety reasons local government regulations made additional signage mandatory. As restrictions around the pandemic have recently eased, many of those same signs have been removed. Thank you again for your comments. Kind regards, Denise Peat, Innkeeper
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PaulSEA1 wrote a review Dec. 2021
Seattle, Washington150 contributions175 helpful votes
Our stay here was really nice. The hotel has many many nice touches with classy furniture, super friendly staff, and many nice touches like jetted tubs, bath salts, free snacks, tea, coffee around the clock. It felt like a home away from home. Important notes: The third floor room internet doesn’t really work - too far from the router. Internet was great on the second floor. Checkin is really not before 4pm. Nobody was there before 4pm and there is a door code for access when the hotel is unstaffed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise Peat, General Manager at Beacon Inn at Sidney
Responded Jan. 12, 2022
Thank you for the kind and detailed feedback on your stay and for acknowledging our wonderful staff! Just one point of clarification - we are indeed open and staffed from 10am to 8pm daily, however, our "check-in time" is 4 to 8pm. Once guests are checked in, they are each provided with a secure code for the front door to come and go freely, but that does not mean the inn is not staffed. After 8pm when our Front Desk is closed for the day, our live-in Caretaker is available for any issues or emergencies, so there is always someone available if needed. We will look forward to welcoming back again to your home away from home! Warm regards, Denise and the Beacon Inn Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shali W wrote a review Oct. 2021
Nanaimo, Canada1 contribution
I wish there were more than 5 stars to rate Beacon Inn at Sidney! From the arrival through the door to closing the door on departure from this out of this world beautiful, just~what~we~wanted, felt like we were in some little quaint village B&B! So happy with our stay. Sidney has been a very special place for my husband and I for many years. Our first stay for my birthday this year at Beacon Inn Sidney, gave us yet another reason why we love Sidney By The Sea. We will be back Beacon Inn at Sidney. Shali and David Whalen
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Loved the San Juan Room. Stunning!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise Peat, General Manager at Beacon Inn at Sidney
Responded Nov. 1, 2021
Thank you Shali and David for choosing the Beacon Inn for this special occasion and for providing such wonderful feedback on your stay! I was so happy to read your Birthday getaway to Sidney was a great success and that you were once again able to enjoy a visit to our beautiful seaside town! We'll look forward to seeing you again! Warm regards, Denise and the Beacon Inn Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
77Eliz167 wrote a review Sep. 2021
Winnipeg, Canada12 contributions2 helpful votes
The Beacon Inn is just delightful. The beautiful furnishings, extremely cozy room (San Juan Room), the large soaker tub, comfortable bed, covid-style breakfast in your room (if you prefer) was very thoughtful and delicious. Very quiet and peaceful, close walks to waterfront and shops. We were so sorry we only had one night it was so wonderful. Sandy (please forgive me if wrong name), who checked us in is so friendly and welcoming. Don't hesitate...stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: San Juan room on 2nd floor....beautiful.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise Peat, General Manager at Beacon Inn at Sidney
Responded Oct. 1, 2021
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide such kind and detailed feedback on your recent stay. I am always delighted to hear that the efforts of our small and dedicated team are hitting all the right marks! We will look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Sidney. Warm regards, Denise and the Beacon Inn Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris K wrote a review Aug. 2021
1 contribution
If you're after a stay in a large hotel with little character, then this isn't the place for you. We stayed for two nights at the Beacon Inn and were absolutely delighted with the comfort and level of detail they put in to making it a nice stay. We were a late check-in after front desk closed, yet instructions for access were clear and easy to follow. Our room had a great Victorian character and was spotless, while many other little touches like tasty snacks and a modest continental breakfast made for a nice start to our days touring around Sidney and Victoria. We will be over again soon and hope to be able to stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise Peat, General Manager at Beacon Inn at Sidney
Responded Sep. 21, 2021
Thank you so much for the lovely feedback on your August stay! We appreciate your business and will look forward to seeing you again soon! Warm regards, Denise and the Beacon Inn Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emanuela R wrote a review Jul. 2021
Vancouver, BC68 contributions83 helpful votes
We booked this Air B n B to celebrate my husband's birthday weekend. We wanted something unique close to the downtown but in a quiet setting. We got it and more. We booked the Saltspring room and it was beautiful, from the 4 poster bed to the large bathroom the cute kitchenette and the lovely seating area it had it all. Once we were checked in by the lovely Ms. Benoit, who's smile always lite up the room we went to our room. There waiting for us were freshly baked cookies and sherry. What a great combination. The breakfast was just perfect and always delivered the night before and put in the fridge so we could eat it when we wanted. Having the kitchen area was totally a bonus as we felt right at home. You cannot beat the location for this place as it is central to everything. Don't look any further this is the place to stay if you are in Sidney. We look forward to returning again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The Saltspring suite is amazing.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise Peat, General Manager at Beacon Inn at Sidney
Responded Aug. 2, 2021
Thank you kindly for the positive and detailed review of your recent stay! I'm also pleased to hear the positive feedback regarding our small and dedicated team. We'll look forward to seeing you again! Warm regards, Denise and the Beacon Inn Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bernard wrote a review Jun. 2021
Ottawa, Canada20 contributions10 helpful votes
Charming little gem with friendly and knowledgeable staff. Our room was clean, spacious and the location is the perfect mix of quiet and close to the beaches and restaurant. Close to walking boardwalk and biking paths. The breakfast had several options and was lovely. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise Peat, General Manager at Beacon Inn at Sidney
Responded Jul. 5, 2021
Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review and for the recommendation to other travellers! I'm also happy to hear you enjoyed our lovely seaside town and all it has to offer. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future visit to the area! Warmest regards, Denise and the Beacon Inn Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cindy DD wrote a review Jun. 2021
Vancouver Island, Canada107 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
Absolutely stellar inn! We stayed in the Salt Spring suite. Service which was spectacular. Every single thing is thought of and there for you, including plenty of outlets, a wireless phone charger, a bottle of sherry and crystal glasses in the room, bath salts for the wonderful deep tub, fabulous breakfast, super comfy feather-topped mattress on a four poster bed, gorgeous draperies and furniture, and so much more. We plan to stay here again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The Salt Spring Suite has a small but ideal kitchenette
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise Peat, General Manager at Beacon Inn at Sidney
Responded Jun. 15, 2021
Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review of your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our small, dedicated team hit all the right marks! We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sidney! Warmest regards, Denise and the Beacon Inn Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$148 - US$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandVictoria Capital Regional DistrictSidney
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Beacon Inn at Sidney - UPDATED 2022 Prices, Reviews & Photos (British Columbia) - B&B - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Beacon Inn at Sidney
Which popular attractions are close to Beacon Inn at Sidney?
Nearby attractions include Sidney Pier (0.3 km), Shaw Centre for the Salish Sea (0.4 km), and Beacon Park (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Beacon Inn at Sidney?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Beacon Inn at Sidney?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Beacon Inn at Sidney?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Beacon Inn at Sidney?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beacon Inn at Sidney?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sabhai Thai Restaurant Ltd, Sidney Bakery, and The Pier Bistro.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Beacon Inn at Sidney?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.