We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel

Save
Share
4277 Stamp Ave, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Up to $100 in Gift Cards
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$96
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-01-07
Destinia.com
US$96
US$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-01-06
Booking.comUS$96
Orbitz.comUS$96
TravelocityUS$96
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (72)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20-11-06 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20-11-06 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 9 hotels in Port Alberni
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Best Western Barclay an exceptional Port Alberni hotel on Vancouver Island, BC. Come be our guest in Port Alberni and enjoy a leisurely stay in warm, comfortable accommodations with tasteful décor. We are located 50 miles (80km) northwest of Nanaimo and is the midway point on Highway 4 to Vancouver Island’s West Coast. Situated in a valley surrounded by mountains and water, Port Alberni's beauty is breathtaking.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Up to $100 in Gift Cards
658Reviews2Q+A85Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 331
  • 241
  • 57
  • 15
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
shawn b wrote a review Jul. 18
100 Mile House, Canada4 contributions
Too expensive for Port Alberni and no microwave in the room with no restaurant open. Unfriendly staff, small room. We were there for a hockey camp and will be going to Port Alberni for the next 5 or more years, very disappointed with our stay and will be looking elsewhere next year. Parents from the camp felt we were being gouged with the pricing. You'd think with the amount of business the hockey camp brings Port Alberni the Best Western would reach out and give a discount to the Camp organizers in appreciation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Bttnbythetrvlbug wrote a review May 2021
British Columbia, Canada49 contributions17 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Hotel was nice and clean and bedding was comfortable. Staff was very helpful. Most amenities closed due to covid, but this is the hotel I would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Port Alberni. It's on a busy road but we didn't notice any bothersome traffic noise.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Mugleston, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Bttnbythetrvlbug: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us. We appreciate the kind words and we are working towards opening all of our amenities in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, John Quackenbush General Manager
Read more
Dana G wrote a review Jul. 13
Edmonton, Canada5 contributions1 helpful vote
My friends were treated badly from the owner Peter. He was rude.wanted to fight one of them. One of our friends ( which owns a restaurant arrived on his bike from tofino with a hurt neck. They all had reservations. He was a total ass to all of them.why cause they were on Harleys.(by the way they are all millionaires.) They would never treat people like that. One actually couldn't believe it and walked out. His wife driving her vehicle said she has never been treated like that in her life. Don't stay there if you want to be treated like a human being.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Mugleston, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 396danag: I am sorry that you felt you were mistreated in any way during your stay. We do take exception when guests go out of their way to berate our front desk staff and totally ignore our policies regarding wearing masks in the hotel. The policy was explained to you on arrival and you all chose to ignore it. We have guests who ride all sorts of motorcycles stay with us throughout the spring, summer and fall months and they are respectful and welcome guests in the hotel. We are one of the host hotels for our Port Alberni Toy Run which brings in motorcyclists from all over British Columbia and they have a wonderful time staying at our hotel. You and your friends behaved poorly from the beginning and were told that your actions were not acceptable. The fact that you are millionaires does not excuse rude behavior to the staff in the hotel. .This is not tolerated from anyone, millionaires or not. I was surprised that you left your injured friend to find his own way to the hotel as opposed to having someone stay with him to make sure he was safe and well. Sincerely. John Quackenbush, General Manager
Read more
Val wrote a review Jul. 13
3 contributions
Owner, operator of this hotel, Peter went over and beyond assisting and accommodating us during our stay. We are grateful for the service we received during our recent stay. We recommend this hotel in Port Alberni without hesitation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Mugleston, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Outoftheboonies2: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. We appreciate the comments and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, John Quackenbush, General Manager.
Read more
moronica wrote a review Jul. 1
comox6 contributions2 helpful votes
The ad said pool and Cafe. It had neither operating and only a bar which was closed on Sunday. We stayed at this hotel because the weather was going to be HOT (42degrees) and we went to see my son and 3 year old granddaughter. Upon check in I asked about pool and they said closed due to Covid. Note that most hotel pools are open as well as public pools. When we checked out we made a complaint. There were four staff members at front desk and they all engaged in an argument with us. ZZERO customer service and ZERO apologies. They said they were not responsible for third party websites such as trip advisor, Expedia, and hotel.com. We paid top dollar for this this place and got bargain basement everything. No housekeeping, no breakfast, no pool, I called front desk to ask about food and no answer. Twice. My granddaughter was so upset about not having a pool and it literally ruined our stay because it was too hot to do anything else we are completely familiar with Covid but these people including the General Manager made business decisions and used Covid as an excuse. Rather than taking our complaint he even interrupted and said my partner wasn’t listening. He needs lessons in how to Deescalate a complaint because we left madder than when we checked out. Will avoid Best Western at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Mugleston, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Moronica: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. At check-in the situation with the pool and the Cafe were explained to you and you seemed to understand the situation. We gave you options for swimming in the area nd mentioned the water park a couple of blocks away. I am sorry that our pool and Cafe aren't open and we are working towards that goal as we told you. Bringing all of these issues up again, all of which you were made aware of on arrival, at check-out after you had stayed for multiple days doesn't help the situation. I am sorry for your experience with us. Thank you, John Quackenbush General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$99 - US$156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western port alberni, port alberni best western
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandAlberni-Clayoquot Regional DistrictPort Alberni
NUMBER OF ROOMS
86
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel?
Nearby attractions include MacMillan Provincial Park (0.9 km), Petroglyphs at Sproat Lake (0.9 km), and Alberni Valley Museum (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pescadores Bistro, Boomerangs Cafe, and Bare Bones Fish and Chips.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting McLean Mill Historic Park (6.3 km) and Petroglyphs at Sproat Lake (0.9 km).