We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 138: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 February 2017

I had a sprained knee, walking up and down the stairs with baggage was freaking annoying because the elevator was not working, the stairs are creaky and the handles are old and loose. The hair dryer in our room just snapped off the wall... The TV is old, like probably from 2002. The "gym" and "game room" is so sketchy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oskie B
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We are so sorry you had a bad experience at our Heel, It does need renovation and we try to keep it clean and give good customer service until the time that it is renovated. the price is very low for or a room and we are centrally located. The games room is safe by the way and you need...

Port Alberni, Canada
Reviewed 7 December 2016

It was old, rubdown, smelly. No heat in the room so had to have a space heater brought up which blew a breaker. Towels and face clothes were stained with rust and maybe makeup. Cleaning service showed up at 6 pm and when I said no thank you her response was "oh good, less work to do." The carpets were...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank terral298
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you had a bad experience at our Hotel. We will try to upgrade all the things you mentioned as soon as possible. Hopefully you will give us another try. We apologize for any inconvenience. In future you could come to front desk while you are here and they would be happy to address any and...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I2905BCnancyl
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 818kait
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Comox, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Shower head was too low even for a short 5'6" person, I had to duck. Walls were and tiles were falling apart and overall condition was run down. Painted tiles in bathroom were peeling and starting to mould. Beds and pillows were worn out and way too soft I do not recommend this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank time783
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We are sorry you had difficulty with the shower, yes some are low, you can certainly ask to changed to another room if you choose. Thank you so much for your feed back. We will be working on renovation for our Hotel. Thank you

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

On the first room the toilet never stopped running. We moved into another room same thing. We did not move again was not worth while. The fan in 2 rooms did not work in the bathroom and also the safe in 2 rooms did not work also. The bed sheet had to be changed because of a big stain on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We are sorry for the difficulty you had at our Hotel. Wed o appreciate the feedback and will certainly try to address all of these problems. Thank you for coming and we hope you try us again once we are renovated. Thanks again.

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2016

This hotel is tired and dingy. WiFi is very poor in the rooms, the elevator was out of order when we were there. We only booked it because we were overnighting on a long drive. I would definitely consider a different property even if more costly the next time I needed to overnight in Port Alberni.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tootsall
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We do need renovations in our Hotel but we try very hard to keep the Hotel clean and had good customer service. We appreciate you feedback as this will help us to address maintenance problems for future. Thanks for taking the time to speak to us about you stay.

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Not "as advertised". ..3 floors, an elevator with a dusty "out of order sign", safes locked non openable, dirty, old worn out blankets & towels, is this really a HoJo?

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francis M
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We aresorry that your stay with us was not enjoyable. Thank so much for sending us your feedback as ths will help us to fix things for the future. We appreciate your business.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We traveled to the island with absolutely no plan, and no places booked to stay. Luckily there was a room available in this HoJo, and it is motel-style which we much prefer. There were some noisy people above us but that is expected at hotels. Loved the fact there was a good size mini fridge and microwave, and the outdoor...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T6413GO
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Good Day: Unfortunately I believe you have the wrong hotel. We are not motel style and we do not have a pool or a continental breakfast. Maybe it was the Howard Johnson in Nanaimo or possibly in Victoria. Anyway when you are in Port Alberni please come and see us. Thank you Lynn

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alberni hotels
2.6 km away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
291 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
1.0 km away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
2.8 km away
Redford Motel & R.V. Campground
1.2 km away
Hummingbird Guesthouse
Hummingbird Guesthouse
#7 of 13 in Port Alberni
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni

Address: 4850 Beaver Creek Rd, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7C8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Price Range: $81 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Port Alberni
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel has a small cafe downstairs.there is a lounge on the same parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles bitsme, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Any room is ok.”
 of 5 bubbles berniestravels, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Use the AC and keep the windows closed especially if your room is at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles G3991TDjohnw, 13 Sep 2014 | Read review
“I don't think there is a "good" room.”
 of 5 bubbles echo2010, 30 May 2014 | Read review
“Speaking to them prior to booking really helped me a lot in getting optimum value. Staff were super-helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles Anonymus_Reviewer, 17 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5