We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
chilliwack
Reviewed 10 November 2014

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 9lyndaw
PortAlberniHoJo, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Tofino
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 830janr
PortAlberniHoJo, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Powell River
Reviewed 15 October 2014

This place was aweful so dirty blood on the carpet hair on the toilet spiders on the walls leak in the ceiling and terrible breakfast and then no opening window think that's a fire hazard?!!!! So nasty to be kind. The bar was good that's it what a dump

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank yucky190
PortAlberniHoJo, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Well you certainly have a bad opinion of our Hotel. We are sorry that you did not like it here. We did give you a full refund and we had hoped that what happened to you was a isolated case. We are renovating our rooms and although we are an older Hotel we are very clean ( our head housekeeper...

Winnipeg, Manitoba
Reviewed 26 September 2014

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley A
PortAlberniHoJo, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Port Alberni
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita W
PortAlberniHoJo, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2014

The hotel is somewhat dated and could use an update. Staff were very good as was the continental breakfast. The laneway behind the hotel appears to be a main commute for walking locals and a spot where they tend to take out their frustrations by beating eachother including smashing women in the face. Wasn't a great experience but that wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
PortAlberniHoJo, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We are sorry about what happened in our back alley and I certainly hope the staff was notified to call the police. It usually quiet back there but sometimes things can happen. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and that the staff treated you well. They are the best. Please come again!

Holland Landing
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S G
PortAlberniHoJo, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Surrey
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
Victoria
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
Quesnel
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed V

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alberni hotels
2.6 km away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
291 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
1.0 km away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
2.8 km away
Redford Motel & R.V. Campground
1.2 km away
Hummingbird Guesthouse
Hummingbird Guesthouse
#7 of 13 in Port Alberni
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni

Address: 4850 Beaver Creek Rd, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7C8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Price Range: $82 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Port Alberni
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel has a small cafe downstairs.there is a lounge on the same parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles bitsme, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Any room is ok.”
 of 5 bubbles berniestravels, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Use the AC and keep the windows closed especially if your room is at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles G3991TDjohnw, 13 Sep 2014 | Read review
“I don't think there is a "good" room.”
 of 5 bubbles echo2010, 30 May 2014 | Read review
“Speaking to them prior to booking really helped me a lot in getting optimum value. Staff were super-helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles Anonymus_Reviewer, 17 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5