We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hume Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hume Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

621 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hume Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 614: English reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

The Hume is located in the heart of Nelson. Central to shopping,exploring,eating and spending time at the beach. The hotel is for the most part in keeping with its original self with updated features. The entry of the hotel is very original looking. The halls are spacious and covered with interesting photos from the past. We found the room to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crystal c
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 10 June 2015

This hotel is old yet nicely renovated. The elevator wasn't operational during our stay and apparently that is common. The location is perfect and the staff are friendly. One major negative is the hotel has a nightclub in the basement and the noise levels will annoy even the soundest sleeper the good news is they shut it down at 2AM

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitch B
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Mitch. We are really sorry to hear that you did not get a good sleep. One thing that is not accurate from your review is that our elevator being shut down is common thing. We have just retired our original 1929 elevator after 85 glorious years of service. It was honestly the most reliable piece of equipment that we...

Calgary
Reviewed 9 June 2015

We stayed only for one night and booked a budget Heritage Room. You can feel the old atmosphere in the entire place, so enjoy it. If you want modern luxury, be prepared to pay way more. That being said, our room had no air conditioning, only fans, which was a bit tricky at 33 degrees outside. And the elevator was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AdrianCalgary
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had to endure the last week of our two month Elevator Modernization Project. It has been rather inconvenient for our guests however the work has been completed and we are awaiting a final inspection and should have the elevator back in operation as early as next week. I realize that this does not help you...

Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

We just returned from Nelson for a family memorial. We booked the Horace D. Hume suite as well as 4 additional deluxe rooms on the 4th floor. This was one of the most luxurious hotels we have ever stayed at. The rooms were roomy, spotless and divine. The most comfortable beds and pillows Imaginable. The staff was wonderful and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KaledenBC
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks Greig, we are happy to hear that everything went smooth during your stay with us. The Horace D Hume Suite is the most deluxe one bedroom apartment style room that we have at the inn! It's awesome to hear that you found the Hume luxury and devine. I like the sounds of that. We appreciate it.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2015

We have tried a couple of other hotels in Nelson (mainly because the Hume was fully booked at the time), but we keep coming back to the Hume. The staff are just lovely, the rooms (especially the newly renovated ones) are great and its perfectly situated just off Baker Street. Of course we love their complimentary breakfasts too which get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SagMoonTravels
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 5 June 2015

I've never stayed at the Hume. I will one day. But I always stop by for a beer or 2 in the bar. What makes it so great? Face it gang. We all go through about a 3 or 4 year period in our early adult life where the louder the music is, the better we like it. But the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoqwest
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for saying so many wonderful things about us, including our Tripadvisor responses. That just may be a first. You have to be honest with people and potential guests. I've said it before, the Hume Hotel may not be for everyone and I would way rather people come to Nelson and be completely satisfied with their accommodation choice than be...

Benalla
Reviewed 2 June 2015

We stayed in the suite and it was wonderful. It is a very large apartment with a large lounge a full size kitchen with dining area and good size bedroom.I consider it to great value for money.The only issue is hot water comes from three floors down so it takes a full minute or two to arrive at the tap,not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny C
Se Australia
Reviewed 1 June 2015

The Hume was our 4th hotel in 6 during our 8 day road trip through southern BC an north western US and was by far our worst accommodation experience. Arrived early and room wasn't ready. No big deal. Our bad. Needed to park the car. There are 8 spots for a large hotel. That's ok. There's a parkade next door....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank galesa2
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I am sorry we let you down so badly. Our check in time is 4:00pm. If your room was ready or could have been ready earlier, we would have done all we can to make it happen but we were running a full house and we couldn't do it unfortunately. You booked a Heritage Room which are located above the...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 1 June 2015

This hotel is charming and centrally located within walking distance to everything in downtown Nelson. We stayed in a nicely renovated room called Ratenbury with a view towards the courthouse and lake. The staff was very friendly here. We enjoyed having pints in the pub. I highly recommend staying here if you are traveling to Nelson.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward T
San Diego, California
Reviewed 29 May 2015

We brought my 95 year old father back to his home town of Nelson and he insisted we stay at the Hume hotel...I am so glad he did. He remembered it from his teens and says he never went inside because it was way too expensive back then, so now he had his chance!! The elevator is being replaced, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I am so happy that the lack of an elevator did not taint the overall experience. We have undergone an elevator modernization project that is nearing completion. By the first week of June, it should be finally finished and complete with heritage fixtures including a hall moon floor indicator for the lobby. It sounds as though you enjoyed our various...

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.8 km away
Alpine Inn and Suites
0.2 km away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nelson
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
222 reviews
2.4 km away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#7 of 9 in Nelson
169 reviews
0.6 km away
Prestige Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2016 finishing touches were put on the last wing of guest rooms. All three floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Price Range: $145 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hume Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hume Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 3rd and 4th floors will get you away from the club. But f your going to the show anyways see if you can get a better rate.”
 of 5 bubbles ChadH707, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“4th floor rooms have less street noise and the views from the front side are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles lindasD6059JJ, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on the side street and just fine.”
 of 5 bubbles 336gailt, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ladybird suite 338”
  • Small toilet and toilet seat and a cramped space
  • Living room of the suite
  • A great view from our window of the lake
  • Bull Champs needed to keep blackout curtains closed
 of 5 bubbles dad-jicase, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from elevators and ice machine!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 2011_lapope, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay