We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Village Lodge

Save
Share
1439 Lafontaine Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H3 Canada
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (2)

About

#16 of 17 hotels in Golden
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

If you’re looking for a budget friendly hotel in Golden, look no further than Golden Village Lodge.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Golden & District Arena (0.8 km) and Spirit Square (1.4 km), guests of Golden Village Lodge can easily experience some of Golden's most well known attractions.

Rooms at Golden Village Lodge provide a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

You can also enjoy a pool and a restaurant while staying at Golden Village Lodge. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Golden Village Lodge.

If you’re looking for a cafe, consider a visit to Jita's Cafe, Bacchus Books & Cafe, or The Big Bend Cafe, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Golden Village Lodge.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular parks such as Rotary River Park, Burges & James Gadsden Provincial Park, and Tom Kelly Memorial Park.

The staff at Golden Village Lodge looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Indoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Catalan
200Reviews0Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 39
  • 31
  • 54
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nora wrote a review Aug. 2020
Calgary, Canada3418 contributions123 helpful votes
+1
Clean budget motel, quiet location, spacious room. Staff was friendly. Easy check in and out. The room has been renovated. I can see the air conditioner in the room would be noisy when it's turned on. Fridge was noisy in the middle of the night when the motor was kicked in, so if you are a light sleeper, you'd better turn off the fridge.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Pavi Khunkhun, Owner at Golden Village Lodge
Responded Jan. 26, 2021
Thank you for your feedback and review. I am happy to learn that you had a wonderful and pleasant experience at our property. We have spent a great deal of time and money expanding our cleaning protocols as well as purchasing new linen and materials in all rooms. As for the A/C unit and the fridge in the room, I am happy to say that we have replaced all out dated and problem units such as air conditioning and fridges. We pride ourselves on staying up to date and current with all new models of beds, fridges, air conditioning units, and guests amenities. I still would like to thank you for your honesty in your feedback and response. We look forward to have you back again soon.
Read more
JenwaC wrote a review Jan. 2020
Salmon Arm105 contributions43 helpful votes
So the room was nice, but the heat was off when we went in, so it took a while to warm up, which was annoying. The bathroom floor is really slick if it gets wet, be careful. There needs to be a little bit more attention to detail when cleaning, the door was dirty on the inside from a lot of hands, there was a handprint on the wall, some old toothpaste on the baseboard in the bathroom. The big stuff - bed, floor, etc was clean though. What REALLY ticked us off though was the check in and out. We got there early for our reservation (around 12:30) and there was a sign on the door to call this number, well half an hour later of calling, someone FINALLY answered. They agreed to meet us to check-in in half an hour. We did get the earlier check in that we were calling about, but why wasn't someone at the front desk? This was a Friday afternoon when the highway was closed for a good chunk of the day, and I imagine they lost a lot of business when people drove up and saw the sign. Why bother calling when you can go to another place that is staffed? In the morning we were packing up to leave and the lovely diesel trucks that pulled in backwards started warming up and since the heater draws from outside, the room filled up with diesel stink quickly. Not really the hotel's fault, but they should (like all hotels with outside doors) tell people NOT to back in. Which leads me to another problem. There is absolutely NO signage in the room about anything other than the tv channels and a little sign telling you not to smoke. Nothing on how to get heat, the times of check out etc, and knowing that the light switch was hidden behind the lampshade would have been nice too. So we get all packed up, turn off lights etc and go to the front to check out. AGAIN it is locked and no one was there. This is 7:30 a.m. so not the middle of the night. The sign wasn't up, but I had saved the number in my phone so we called. Someone actually answered this time, but wouldn't come and check us out and give us a receipt. She agreed to e-mail it to us, and HOPEFULLY that happens because we were on a medical trip and can claim the expense. No matter how nice the room was, we won't be back, the service was non-existent. The front desk needs to be staffed all the time, or at least someone needs to ANSWER THE PHONE immediately, not half an hour later.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: just go to another hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Pavi Khunkhun, Owner at Golden Village Lodge
Responded Jan. 26, 2021
Thank you for your feedback and review. I am very happy to learn that your room was clean and tidy. We strive to make sure all our guests rooms are properly cleaned and checked by all staff. Durring the winter we do keep the heat on in all the bathrooms. The AC/Heat units in the front room can heat the room up fairly fast and once the fan adjustment is set the room warms up in a fair amount of time. Our rooms all have granite floor tiles that have also been sealed with anti-slip sealer. There is also a bathmat in all the rooms for guests to use when the step out of the shower. In regards to your comments about attention to detail, I must stress our rooms are cleaned by a team of two housekeeping staff and then checked by our supervisors prior to the room being available. As you mentioned the "big stuff" was clean and we still apply the same attention to the "little stuff" as well. In regard to your check in and check out, I would like to add some feedback. Durring winter season the traffic is typically very slow. We only have limited staff available durring the shoulder seasons. For this reason we rarely allow early check in to occur. As stated online and on our reservation confirmation page, all check in is after 3pm. If a guest prefers to have a early check in we usually ask guests at the time of their booking. A last minute early guest check in during the winter sometimes is hard for us to manage when available staff are carrying out multiple responsibilities. For this reason we have the number to call on the door. Our front desk attendant is usually trying to complete all their laundry prior to opening the front door to check in guests. I am sorry you had to wait half an hour, however durring off season we have certain protocols in place due to limited staff and this is the reason why someone was not at the front desk. Typically in Golden this is the practice for most properties during the shoulder season, the second reason was because the highway was closed it gave our staff the chance to get caught up on additional work and laundry. We were not aware you were one of the few that happened to get past the highway closure. All of our guest that checked in that day did call ahead due to the closure and all walk in guests did also call ahead to arrange a check in time due to the highway incident. Upon check in we instruct all our guests to not back into the parking stalls. We also ask guest to be respectful of others that are checked into our property. In regard to guest signage we have signage in the rooms for the television guide, non-smoking room type, and wifi instructions. We do not have signage for the heater as it is self explanatory. The red line means heat and the cold line refers to cold air. The other buttons have AIR CONDITIONING and HEAT listed on them. However I can understand how this may be confusining for some guests and I appreciate your recommendation to have proper signage placed next to the heaters on how to operate. The time to check out is listed on your guest folio and is also listed at the front desk on a large sign. We also tell our guests upon check in that the check out time is at 11am and if they require extra time please let the desk know. We also tell our guests at check in time to leave the key in the room in the morning and to close the door behind if they are going to check out prior to 8am. As mentioned before due to shoulder season, our property hours are adjusted for staff to be available. However we inform all our guest at check in about our hours so they are fully aware. After reviewing our video footage our front desk attendant did inform you about all these items. However had they not inform you about such policies I would fully agree with all your comments. We do have a staff agent that is on call throughout the night for emergencies. Guests are given a copy of their credit card transaction receipt as well as a folio at check in. However for third party bookings we do not provide a receipt as typically these bookings are made and charged by these sites. I do apologize for the experience that you had. I have been in this industry a long time and I like to see everyone of my guests to leave happy and with a positive experience. I urge you to contact ownership and give us a second chance to earn your trust and your business. We value every single guest be it positive or negative because each guests provides us the opportunity for a new learning experience different from the last. This opportunity in my mind is priceless and valuable and helps to lead to future postive guests experiences. Again thank you for your feedback and I hope we get to see you again soon.
Read more
empiricalone wrote a review Jan. 2020
Calgary, Canada57 contributions44 helpful votes
This hotel was perfect for our short stay in the mountains. Clean and recently renovated rooms. Beds were very comfortable and lot of room to lay out skiing clothes to dry. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pavi Khunkhun, Owner at Golden Village Lodge
Responded Jan. 26, 2021
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and review. We are always happy when our guests have a pleasant experience at our property. We have been working very hard to make sure all our rooms are current and updated with new amenities as well as new linen and beds. Prior to your stay we had just completed a room remodel and renovation that included all new beds and linen. We hope that you share your experience with your friends and family and look forward to have you stay with us again in the future.
Read more
Tracey S wrote a review Aug. 2019
Elie, Canada10 contributions4 helpful votes
Very clean room. Great host at checking in. I asked if they needed my card to put a hold on room, he said no. Very quiet. Didn’t try their restaurant. The ice machine was broken so had to go to front office. I would recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Pavi Khunkhun, Owner at Golden Village Lodge
Responded Jan. 26, 2021
Thank you for your feedback and review. I am happy that you had a wonderful stay. I must highly recommend the Indian Kitchen Golden for dinner or lunch. The food is amazing and I am sure you will be back again and again. We strive to make sure that every single guests has a positive experience and we always welcome guests back. We hope that you will pass on your experience to others and we look forward to your visit again in the future.
Read more
Jaime S wrote a review Aug. 2019
Yorkton, Canada31 contributions1 helpful vote
Manager left a sign “back in 5 minutes” on the desk. After a *much* longer wait than 5 minutes, he was able to check us in quickly. The rooms were clean, but the main entrance had multiple burned out lights & did not appear to be well kept. Will not be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Pavi Khunkhun, Owner at Golden Village Lodge
Responded Jan. 26, 2021
Thank you for your feedback and review. Durring the summer times we tend to get a little busy and front desk staff does get overwhelmed at times. We do apologize that you had to wait a little longer than five minutes. Its not our intent to have our guests wait durring certain times of distress. I am happy you found the room clean and safe. We pride ourselves on the quality we keep our linen and our rooms. Our staff is focused on providing top quality accommodation to guest that are travelling in the area. I apologize for the lights that were burned out durring your stay. We have housekeeping check all lights prior to clearing each room and sometimes the light bulbs happen to burn out just as a guest entered. We still are happy to replace a bulb and make sure you're happy with your stay. I ask you give us a second chance to earn your trust and if your still not satisfied our owner will offer compensation in some form. We look forward to your return in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$58 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden village hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Howard Johnson Hotel Golden
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKootenay RockiesGolden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Golden Village Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Golden Village Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Kinbasket Lake (1.1 km), Art Gallery of Golden (1.2 km), and Kicking Horse Movies (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Golden Village Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free parking.
Is parking available at Golden Village Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Golden Village Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Island Restaurant, The Wolf's Den, and The Turning Point Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Golden Village Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Golden Village Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Catalan.
Is Golden Village Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.