We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Hotel Golden

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Golden
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Golden
See the most recent reviews
Showing 158: English reviews
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Coffee maker in our bathroom, bugs crawling around the room, drawer handle falling off of the desk, floor dirty, and very poor lighting to get around back to our room. For $200 I expected something much better, ESPECIALLY when it is associated with Wyndham.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sharon L
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We will correct all the issues you have mentioned.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 21 August 2016

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank S455LKlisaa
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

As the title says, this hotel is OK if you're just doing a quick overnight while passing through Golden. While they say the hotel was just recently remodelled, it seemed to be a very basic remodel, and I'd hate to think what it was like beforehand. The beds are mattress with no box spring on top of a wooden waterbed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RockyMtnMan14
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback on TA. If you feel the remodel is basic, well that's your opinion. I guess spending $700,000.00 on a remodel to some guests is basic. In regards to the bathroom claims, housekeeper did clean the bathroom area after no hairs or dirt were found. All patio and decking have duradeck product and are cleaned daily be...

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 19 August 2016

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica T
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Drayton Valley, Canada
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

This is the second and last time my husband and I will stay at a Howard Johnson Hotel. They are expensive for being out dated and dirty. Very disappointed. Our bed was on a wooden box, cheap toiletries. Rooms are loud.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pauladressler
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback.

Stettler, AB
Reviewed 15 August 2016

This place was crazy bad!. First off it was the highest price I've paid for a hotel in a very long time and it was sooo Gross. The staff wasn't even friendly. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned. DON'T STAY HERE!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Troyandcindy A
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Ours was a last minute trip to Kelowna for a wedding. In my rush, I booked the room for the wrong day. I phoned the hotel directly, the receptionist was very pleasant, friendly, and helpful. When we arrived later that day we had already been booked in and our room was ready. The room was very clean. The location was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephengibson2016
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on TA. My staff and I work very hard to meet the needs of all our guest, be it a long term stay or over night. Our recent property renovations have proved that hard work does pay off and when guests such as yourself take the time to recognize that work it goes a long...

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Dirty, dirty, dirty. To their credit good mattresses and bedding but otherwise just plain awful. Avoid if you can, especially at this price point. Carpets in outer hallways are disgustingly dirty and stained, a real turn-off. Floors inside rooms are not carpeted and need a good mopping.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sheryl t
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We will address all the issues you have mentioned.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

After an accident on the highway at the Enchanted Forest, we were stuck on the highway for hours and fell behind schedule to get back to Calgary before nightfall. I was travelling with my disabled mother and 3 children, so I called my husband in Saskatchewan and asked him to make some calls and find us a hotel room for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Pavi K, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thank you for your complaints on TA about our property.To begin your husband was told that we only had a few rooms left and they only had 2 queen beds. We did have other rooms that were bigger however they were reserved by other guests. Our front desk staff tried all night long to calls these other guests to see...

Enderby
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We had people in the room above us. They arrived late and left early. Their footsteps we so loud on our ceiling that I felt like I was living inside a bass drum. Not a good sleep! Other than that, it's an ok place for the price. Just make sure you get an upstairs room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosalynn M
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had a bad night. In the future please call the front desk and we can make a courtesy call to the guest and ask them to be quiet. I want to thank you for your kind words on our property. Please email me directly at info@howardjohnsongolden.com

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 km away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
424 reviews
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
2.0 km away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
326 reviews
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.7 km away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Golden

Address: 1439 Lafontaine Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H3, Canada (Formerly Golden Village Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Price Range: $65 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Golden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Village Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Golden staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are rooms in the back of the hotel office which are not facing the highway and are quieter and have a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles stephengibson2016, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a balcony so you don't have to sit on stairs to get fresh air”
 of 5 bubbles GarynHeather, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“best views reasonable price”
 of 5 bubbles officialkuljitgrewal, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“best views, clean room, friendly staff, very accomodating”
 of 5 bubbles jillp699, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Great Views”
 of 5 bubbles sharir10, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay