We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ponderosa Motor Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ponderosa Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ponderosa Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 117: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 28 December 2014

Our family use to stay here every year we came to Golden to ski. It was affordable, clean, friendly, helpful staff and gave you the basic services. This year it is expensive for what you get and not friendly or helpful staff. There was some misunderstanding at check in when I had previously called and clearly booked 2 nights. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheri M
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good Day Cheri, Sorry to hear that your stay was not up to par and that there was confusing days on how long you were booked for .We try and keep our customers happy and try and accomdate the loyal ones. As staff not be friendly or helpful I am sorry for that and are working on that. I hope...

Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 18 December 2014

This is an older motel, however the rooms have been renovated and are very comfortable. The room rates are affordable. the rooms are spacious, and very well kept. The service was very good. The rooms are basic, however have everything one requires to enjoy a good nights sleep. Well worth looking into if you are planning a trip to or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terry L
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank You Terry, Yes , we are a older motel and have been slowly renovating the rooms . I am happy to see that everything you need was provided for you and that the service was good . We take pride in the work we do and in taking care of our guests . Again I thank you Terry and...

Prince Rupert, Canada
Reviewed 22 October 2014

This is very quaint looking motel that is obviously cared for, however the beds are absolutely wretched. I understand that if you are only charging 70-80$ a night you can't afford to put new beds in all the units at once but change some and charge a bit more get some better reviews and you'll get busier, the rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boboandme
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good Day Boboandme Glad to hear that your stay with us was ok sorry to hear about the beds we are slowly trying to improve things slowly and yes working on getting new beds is in the works. We are slowly updated each section and getting them comfortable. . We try and put our love and attention into the rooms...

Reviewed 8 September 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very old , not very comfy and you don't get much for the price. Old plumbing, old carpet, not dirty but not a clean feeling. Too expensive ! No breakfast or almost nothing. FYI : pet fees is $15 per pet and night. We stayed only one night and it was enough. I would recommend to try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good Day Marie , Sorry your stay was not want you expected but your room was booked through booking .com and we do not get to set the rate or deals you get . If you would have booked through the hotel or our website the room price would have been different and again I apolized for the price. As...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We arrived after going through a long drive from Rocky Mountain House. We were greeted by a very friendly worker who checked us in, and was quite polite. The room was comfortable, and was well presented. The breakfast as mentioned in the accommodation guide for British Columbia said that there was a light continental breakfast. When we were checked in,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matwaites
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good Day Matwaites Glad to hear your stay was good , and I apoloze for the morning staff there is a lot going on and with keeping up with the breakfast rush I will address this matter with the team . With regards to the hand rail they will be dealt with asap. We are happy to hear about your...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2014

we stayed at this property in August 2014. I am a bit budget minded, and this place was fairly low price for the area. The room is very clean, everything is pretty good except breakfast. They have one table for breakfast and the place has about 65 rooms. The breakfast is advertised as continental and when you get there the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigjim5551212
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Bigjim Glad to hear that everything was to your liking except the breakfast we are working on improving the breakfast area for seating and the variety of items, we do say it is a lite breakfast upon checkin , cereal , toast muffins , coffee , tea and juice . We hope to see you on your next trip...

Port Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Recently stayed at the Ponderosa for the second time in my life. First time was 8 years ago and I'm sure no renos have been done since. REALLY needs some TLC and up dating but otherwise it is clean and reasonably quiet. The Coffee pot in the room spat out about an 1/8 of a cup of hot water and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leefboy
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good Leefboy , Sorry was stay was not want you expected we are trying to improve our workers attention to the workmanship and cleaniness of the rooms . We take care to improve our customers experience and want the best for them . Hope we will see you again to see the changes we are making and the improvements with...

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This has all the trappings of a family owned business, and they seem to do very well at it. Nothing fancy, nothing romantic, but near the Trans Canada Highway. It is an older property but well maintained for its age. Staff were helpful at the desk and check-in was quick. They have separate rooms for people with pets which we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob137
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good day Bob , Glad to hear that your stay was very comfortable , we are trying to make each guests experience very good and comfortable . We looking forward to see you on your next trip .

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed one night in this motor inn right on the trans Canada highway on our way through the province. Front desk staff was friendly, room was clean and comfortable. Price included a bit of breakfast in the front lobby of cereal, toast, muffins, coffee and juice. Perfect to start our day. Would definitely stay here again. My only complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ValleyDoll123
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Valleydoll We are trying in everyway to improve our rooms and the exterior we appreciated any insight into what changes we can make to make our quests and customers happy . I am looking forward to watching these changes happen as I am sure on your next visit you will be happy with the updates and improvements ....

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This just made the average rating. The hotel is quite dated, the room door was dirty on the inside and the bed linens are of minimal quality. Very basic continental breakfast, However the front desk attendant was pleasant so hence the average rating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WhatView2
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good Day Whatever, I am sorry about the condition of the doors we are slowly working on improvements to the conditions of the rooms and the steady of the staff . I am happy to hear that the staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful . We are trying to improve in all fields and customer service...

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
2.1 km away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
424 reviews
0.3 km away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.1 km away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
326 reviews
0.3 km away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Ponderosa Motor Inn

Address: 1206 Trans-canada Highway, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Price Range: $94 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ponderosa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Hotel Golden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ponderosa Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you have any problems with your room ask the front desk to see another one, some rooms are upgraded a little more than others”
 of 5 bubbles tokyotiger2015, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our rooms were on the North side of the back section which was quiet with not much traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles JD419, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“also has a nice resturant in the same parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles glewcrew, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a good room is you want one. Haha.”
 of 5 bubbles calgaryal, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Non pet room probably smells better!”
 of 5 bubbles arleneb975, 3 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay