Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge

Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge

1200-12th Street North, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0 Canada
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (60)
Pool & Beach (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Join Wyndham Rewards Free
C$177
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#10 of 16 hotels in Golden
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Come enjoy our pool, sauna & waterslide. All guests are welcome to take pleasure in our great complimentary breakfast. One of Golden's most popular accommodations, centrally located within walking distance from a dozen restaurants and even cold beer and wine. Only a 13 minute drive to Kicking Horse Mountain Resort. Great package deals all year round.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
Kids stay free
Electric vehicle charging station
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Waterslide
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Picnic area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, Hindi

Location

1200-12th Street North, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 57 out of 100
57
Calgary Intl Airport
364Reviews3Q+A43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 74
  • 92
  • 92
  • 51
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
nanateresa2019 wrote a review Oct 2020
Sylvan Lake, Canada9 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After a day of slushy and icy roads, we needed a clean and quiet place and found it. Just a short block behind McDonalds, so no highway or truckers' engine noises. Walkable restaurants aplenty. Initially the room freshener was a bit strong to my super sniffer but not noticeable once settled in. Excellent beds, pillow choices/quality, towels, etc. Helpful staff. Good bagged breakfast despite COVID.
Minor complaint: Good quality tv and lots of channels on the tv's guide, but no listing of which channels were SUBSCRIBED to so frustrating to find something...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Teja Bhullar, Owner at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge
Responded Oct 27, 2020
Thank you for your positive feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to host you again. Have a wonderful day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris wrote a review Feb 2021
Edmonton, Canada235 contributions143 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
One of only a couple hotels in Golden with a slide which is great for kids. We stayed in one of the two rooms at the hotel with the second bedroom... All they've done is knock down half the wall between 2 existing rooms, so if you're thinking a second bedroom would be great for little kids, that's not really the case because these rooms are essentially just 1 really big room. The heaters are also incredibly noisey. "continental" breakfast right now consists of a paper bag to take away with a mini yogurt, banana, and 2 hard boiled eggs. Other than the heater noise, the room was quiet and we didn't hear our neighbours at all. For $100ish per night for a regular room, it's about what you'd expect. Great for a cheap hotel close to kicking horse.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Teja Bhullar, Owner at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge
Responded Feb 16, 2021
Thanks for staying with us .We appreciate your feed back. Have a great day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ojman2022 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Found hair on freshly made bed. Found rashes on my belly the next day. Not going back.
Nieghbor was loud at night. Washroom sink is separated in the bathroom. Rooms looks better in the website. No guess washrooms by reception area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Teja Bhullar, Owner at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge
Responded May 28, 2022
Thanks for staying with us we appreciate your feed back
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harman S wrote a review Jun 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A few friends came to town for some golfing, hiking and leisure and we stayed here at Travelodge for a couple nights. 5 star all around for the Travelodge. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are well maintained and spotless. They normally offer complimentary breakfast as well but due to ongoing covid pandemic they have temporarily discontinued it. Nonetheless, top notch accommodations at Travelodge golden. Highly recommended and I will stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manager46704, Front Office Manager at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge
Responded Jun 8, 2020
Thanks for staying with us.We appreciate you enjoy your stay. Have a wonderful day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amernic wrote a review Jun 2020
Sparwood, Canada65 contributions53 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I’m giving one star simply because the gentleman checking me in was very kind and efficient. But that’s where it stops!

I arrived in the evening, checked in and soon headed to bed.
Around midnight I had a dog scratching at my door, several times. Shortly after that a group gathered outside my room and were loudly talking and laughing, when someone rudely banged on my window. Bring the dog back into the picture, scratching at my door.
I attempted to call the front desk with no response. Eventually the riff raft moved on and I was able to get a few more hours of sleep.
I was woken by what I could guess to be pipes knocking within the walls.

I got up to make coffee and discovered my coffee maker had a used pod still in there and it had moulded. So no coffee for me!!
On to the shower...I was greeted by ants crawling around the bathroom floor, a shower curtain that needed replacing and a drain that was clogged with who even knows what.

Now we’ve stayed at this hotel a few times before, quick over night stays between destinations. I know it’s an older hotel. But things like drains being beyond clogged and rooms not being cleaned properly, among other issues and charging the astronomical prices that they do, is pretty unacceptable.

I mentioned my troubles at the desk and was told i would receive a voucher for a 1 night stay. What I got instead was 15% off my next stay. In my eyes this doesn’t make up for the Troubles I had with this recent stay. 15% off or not, I sadly don’t think I will give anymore of my business to this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manager46704, Front Office Manager at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge
Responded Jun 21, 2020
Thank you for taking the time share your experience with us. We apologize that your visit was unsatisfactory and that you felt you could not approach our staff during your time here, to allow us to try and help improve your stay. We do try our best to accommodate all guest issues in real time, but we are not able to assist if we are unaware you are experiencing any problems. We have 24-hr front desk here and as per our knowledge did not receive any such calls as mentioned. We would have been able to make efforts to resolve the problem or moved you to another room, if we had actually received any concerns from your end. As for all the other issues mentioned, we did not find any of them to be accurate during our inspection next day. Regardless, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
beelti634793 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nothing to complain, found a hard working and friendly from checking in, breakfast, room service to checking out. Near area provides entertainment and enough restaurants to choose from.
Extra credit point are the sanitizing stations at the entry of all public spaces.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Teja Bhullar, Owner at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge
Responded Dec 12, 2022
We appreciate your time for giving your feedback. thank you for stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mcorre825431 wrote a review Aug 2021
West Kelowna, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is fine if you are looking for a small basic room with cooking facilities in a motel - but it is worth only half or a third of what the motel was charging. We were expecting a hotel so we’re immediately concerned about security. The room itself was dark and depressing so we spent minimal time in it. In the morning we were awoken by two dogs that barked incessantly until we left. We called the front desk but they didn’t manage to do anything. There was no closet or space to leave luggage (I guess they used what should have been the closet for the cooking area) and the sheets and blankets were thin. The blankets were made of an unrecognizable material that looked flammable. We were happy to leave the place as soon as we could.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tejey Bhulllar, Owner at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge
Responded Oct 9, 2021
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TMartinsen wrote a review Apr 2022
Barrhead, Canada1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Compared to the previous night stayed at a different hotel with similar amenities and price point I would return to this Travelodge again without a thought. I appreciated the ease of staying with our dog as well as seeing other dog owners in neighbouring rooms. The amenities in and around the rooms are better when compared. Microwaves, working heating and AC, storage space, pool. We appreciate that it is right close to food amenities; both fast food and sit down restaurants. Very conveniently located.

I do hope they return to a sit down version of their included breakfast instead of the to-go bagged breakfast that were offered during our stay. The staff was very friendly but not always as professional as I would prefer.

Overall a good stay and somewhere we would stay again with our whole family and pooch! 🐶
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tejey Bhulllar, Owner at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge
Responded Apr 12, 2022
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your wonderful feedback. We would like to host you again for your next Trip to Golden. Have a wonderful day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Happiness365878 wrote a review Dec 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was alright. Clean enough for our trip for snowboarding at Kicking Horse. But we did lay on a blanket we brought with us for stretching in the carpeted room. (Read: we weren’t too sure of the ultimate cleanliness.) But it is a motel, so we came prepared.

Frustration 1) the pool/hot tub is closed for renovations. No notice.

Frustration 2) Our microwave NOR fridge worked. Unfortunately, we did not notice until day 3 and our food was spoiled. We assumed it was working. We were paying for it. The front desk absolutely refused to refund us a penny for our spoiled food claiming the appliances worked. It was not simply user error on our part, neither would turn on. (Yes, the appliances were plugged in.) There were random cords everywhere. Maybe it was a fuse.

The stay was convenient and we slept soundly. Just very disappointed in the service by the staff to make our stay right. We simply wanted or $20-30 of spoiled groceries refunded. We didn’t fuss about the pool/hot tub.

Moral: 1) call ahead to be sure the pool/hot tub is open. 2) check all appliances before unpacking to be sure they work.

Oh, and multiple smoke detectors were going off during the day/night. In the breakfast room too. So, if you love the sound of chirping to enhance the aesthetic of your stay, this place it for you.

Planning on returning to Golden soon, just not to the Travel Lodge. Cheers.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tejey Bhulllar, General Manager at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge
Responded Jan 23, 2023
Thanks for staying with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bandg202 wrote a review Dec 2020
Vernon, Canada117 contributions40 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Not sure how others rated this higher than 2. No masks on staff at checkin. Room heat wasn’t working; staff were indifferent and gave us a fan - not a space heater. Finally got a heater and it didn’t work. Finally got a larger space heater that worked.
Room has no clothes rack or hangers.
Room next door took up 5 parking spaces with truck and trailer for convenience; were not asked to move.
Had planned to stay 2 nights but will leave after one! Sayonara Travelodge!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Teja bhullar, Owner at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge
Responded Dec 19, 2020
We are sorry to hear that you have some issues during your stay. Safety of customer and our staff is very important to us. We never ever have any complain about heating system in our hotel in any room, because we have P-tac heating system plus base board heating in every room and winter blanket. we didn't understand what was the problem but still we solved it. we have a huge parking and we aren't so busy. Thanks for staying with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tato_buddy asked a question Oct 2017
alta-sask1 contribution
Are you pet friendly and if so how much xtra
Answer from LesleyGolden
Golden BC1 contribution4 helpful votes
HI! Yes we are pet friendly and cost is $15.00 per night plus tax.
Answer from Manager46704
Golden, Canada
Our Executive Suite is currently available for Sept 19th and has 1 King and 1 Queen bed, a step in shower, and is located on the ground floor. Call us directly and we can book this room for you for $169.00. Prices may vary.
screamnbuzzard wrote a tip Mar 2024
New Westminster, Canada75 contributions33 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be prepared to pay more than the quoted price."
Read full review
Barb P wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"DO NOT STAY HERE!!"
Read full review
Samdibo wrote a tip Jul 2023
Cornwall, Canada235 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool is open until midnight, which is uncommon but nice for older kids/adults"
Read full review
sunny260467 wrote a tip Oct 2022
Vienna, Austria705 contributions93 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a renovated room"
Read full review
Adam C wrote a tip Dec 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to a different hotel."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Golden area.
PRICE RANGE
C$118 - C$203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sportsman hotel golden
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sportsman Lodge
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKootenay RockiesGolden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Golden Skybridge (1.2 km), Kicking Horse River (0.6 km), and Gorman Lake (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bear & Bone Burger Co., Bluebird Cafe, and Q's Asian style Fusion Rrstaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, and Filipino.
Does Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Golden HotelsGolden Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GoldenHotels near Travelodge By Wyndham Golden Sportsman Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars