We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Winston Lodge & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Winston Lodge & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Winston Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 101: English reviews
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I ate there as I was staying next door. Pizza too thick for me, but otherwise was good. The breakfast (included with room) was good. This place fills up in summer as it must be one of few places to eat.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael T
Management response:

Hi, thanks for your review and we appreciate the time you gave to write it. we are more than happy to offer thick or thin or in between bases for Pizzas but pleased you enjoyed it otherwise. It is a very busy place during the summer and just as busy in the winter. we offer our A La Carte restaurant...

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Spent 5 nights here with my wife and 5 years old kid and can only recommend this place. It is different from the regular hotel, and if you travel to discover new interesting places, it is ideal. Super friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast, nice restaurant where we had a dinner every evening and always enjoyed it. In summer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vasyl P
Management response:

Hi, thank you so much for your review and kind words. we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return someday. Summer or Winter, there is plenty to do around the area, people just have to get out and about to find it. once again, many thanks for your review. Dave...

Marietta, Georgia
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Quiet and cozy but unclean. Lodge needs a full cleaning. Could write a message in the dust found on the tables in family room area. Lightbulbs out in numerous areas. Downstairs billiard room disgusting. I had read on website that the lodge required shoes off in common areas but no evidence whatsoever of this policy which led me to believe...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diane C
Management response:

Hi, Disappointing to read your review especially when it sits between others who have a completely different opinion. However, we respect your comment and are sorry that the lodge was not to your liking. Last year under previous owners, they requested patrons remove their shoes but this is certainly not the case at present. Ski boots or work boots yes,...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 11 July 2016

This place is cozy, but looks tired. Room service everyday was just making the bed, not even the garbage removed. Breakfast is included, but just cold items. Location is good. Close by Bear refuge is a must. Chair lift to the top of the mountain has a good restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jajacob
Management response:

Hello, Thank you for your review, we are dependant upon guest feed back such as yours to assist us in maintaining standards. I am sorry that the rubbish was not removed from your room during daily room service. The breakfast has always been a continental in the Summer with hot breakfast included during the Winter months. we have since added...

Reviewed 26 June 2016

Started our vacation with a free upgrade to the VIP suite upon arrival. Wonderful!! Amy at the front desk was absolutely amazing. She was so kind and incredibly helpful with everything. She went above and beyond to make our experience great. Very appreciated! The breakfast was free but a little underwhelming, however, it was enough to get something in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Johnna G
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. More pleasing is the praise you are giving a staff member, I will make she gets your praise. I'm pleased to say that breakfast has since been corrected and is much more satisfactory offering both continental and hot food. thank you for raising...

Red Deer, Canada
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for a very quiet location just outside of Golden, this is the place for you. Beautiful rooms with great views surrounding the hotel and area. Gorgeous bathrooms with all the amenities. Friendly and helpful staff from check in to check out.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnCurrie92
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for your kind words in your review. we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again. Dave Woodman.

Edmonton
Reviewed 25 April 2016

My friend and I do a few days away every spring and decided to do something different. So, I booked the Winston Lodge for 3 nights. It is a nice lodge, but no air conditioning and I had to ask for a fan. The restaurant had regular pub food. Best part of the stay - the mountain.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravellingPal
Management response:

Hi, Thanks for taking time to write your review, your feed back is important to us. Apart from no AC it appears that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately there is no AC but cooling fans are available upon request. the windows do have bug screens fitted and can be left open for that natural cool fresh air. we are glad...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 1 March 2016

My husband and I recently stayed at Winston Lodge and although the room was ok the management was one of the worst we have experienced out in B.C. Upon checking in the only question was one that asked for a credit card for incidentals. There was no 'welcome to the lodge' or for that matter anything else. The room took...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lilyq_12
Management response:

Hello, Thank you for taking time to air your views of your stay at Winston Lodge. I am sorry to hear that you had so many problems. The lodge manager did say that you were upset at the request of your credit card details and had difficulty conversing with from that point on with you.. It is customary in all...

British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We stayed next door so I can't comment on the rooms but the pub is great. We were there in the summer and it was a laid back atmosphere where you could get a drink, get some amazing french fries (skin on and dipped in mayo, yummy), but best of all, they have Jenga. Not regular Jenga but Jenga made...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank C W
Management response:

Hi, thank you for your review and your comments are helpful in ensuring we are offering what the guest requires. we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food, atmosphere resulting in multiple visits. We hope you will return. Dave Woodman.

Reviewed 18 September 2015

I actually got angry reading any of the negative reviews, since this place was like a haven, retreat for us..It is off the beaten path, quiet, and the rooms amazing. I never slept so good!!! LOVE this place. I found the staff, owners, very kind and friendly, It was by far the best place we stayed. luxurious. yet, like home...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ann S

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
9:23
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.4 km away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
0.7 km away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
131 reviews
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
7.0 km away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
426 reviews
5.8 km away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The RoomsRomantic and extremely comfortable describes this rustic wood and stone western inspired Lodge. You can choose from 10 luxurious Silver (standard) or Golden (deluxe) rooms, or treat yourself to the Platinum (VIP) Loft suite. Every room is appointed with antiques and hand-crafted solid wood furniture, sumptuous feather down beds, soothing jetted baths or walk-in showers and private decks with stunning mountain views.The SpaWinston Lodge features an exclusive in-house spa that offers massages, manicures, pedicures and facials in a lovely window clustered treatment room on the second floor mezzanine.The LodgeEnjoy the large common areas that feature an outdoor hot tub, sauna, games room, library, fireplace, no-host bar and a sitting room that's just for our guests.The Saloon"Ya'll gotta eat, so you might as well enjoy it". Come to our classic western saloon or family restaurant. We offer tasty homestyle meals and a wonderful selection of micro-brew beers, wines and spirits. Have fun playing board games or our famous Giant Jenga. Listen to live music or the pop of our real wood burning fireplace, and don't forget to get deputized before you leave.Restaurant and Conference CentreOur second story conference centre accommodates up to 100 people and provides a perfect venue for weddings, reunions, celebrations, business meetings or training. The 2 big screen tvs will educate and entertain your guests while we feed them delicious appetizers, full meals and desserts.If your group exceeds 100 we have plenty of space for an outdoor tent reception on the grass pavilion beside the lodge.ActivitiesAbundant adventure and beauty surrounds the lodge on all sides. We're located at the Kicking Horse Mountain Resort where a multitude of winter and summer activities abound. The Golden area and local parks provide even more things to see and do.Ask the front desk to help you book your activities, they truly know the area like the back of their hands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Winston Lodge & Spa

Address: 1593 Cache Close | P.O. Box 5, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Price Range: $199 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Winston Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Winston Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Winston Lodge & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Winston Lodge & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room in the second floor they are less noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Travelboy19, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a balcony with a view of the valley (although all the rooms are nice)”
 of 5 bubbles dougranson, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had Room 2. Lovely view, and a Jacuzzi tub!”
 of 5 bubbles 102ak, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles jajacob, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a sky light get very hot.”
 of 5 bubbles TravellingPal, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay